Thrive Holdings is a US investment vehicle created by the venture firm Thrive Capital that buys controlling stakes in accounting and other professional-services firms in order to transform their operations with AI. Joshua Kushner is CEO and founder of both Thrive Capital and Thrive Holdings (Source: openai.com). OpenAI holds a stake in the vehicle and provides talent to it (Source: theinformation.com). In August 2026 it announced more than $2 billion in new capital at a $12 billion valuation (Source: thriveholdings.com).
Snapshot
Valuation and capital
| Date | Figure | Notes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-12 | $12B valuation; over $2B raised | From existing institutional partners plus new outside investors D1 Capital Partners, Altimeter Capital and SoftBank Group; total raised since inception over $3B | (Source: thriveholdings.com) |
| 2026-07-06 | ~$2B financing reported in progress | First outside capital; SoftBank, Altimeter, D1 Capital Partners | (Source: theinformation.com) |
Scale
| Date | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2026-08-12 | More than 70 businesses owned and operated | (Source: thriveholdings.com) |
Business model
Rather than selling AI software to services firms, Thrive Holdings acquires controlling stakes in the firms themselves and applies AI to their operations — a roll-up strategy that treats professional services as the deployment surface for AI transformation. The approach is a data point in the adoption pattern documented at Professional Services AI Adoption, where AI-native operators buy or displace incumbent services businesses rather than licensing tools to them. The company states that its engineers work with practitioners inside the businesses it owns to build and deploy AI products around their workflows (Source: thriveholdings.com). Kushner said in December 2025 that "historically, technology transformed industries from the outside in," and that he expected this shift to "happen from the inside out," adding that the acquired businesses bring "industry expertise and real-world data that can help improve models on specific tasks" (Source: openai.com).
Platforms
Thrive Holdings' initial focus was accounting and IT services, which OpenAI described as "high-volume, rules-driven, workflow-heavy processes" (Source: openai.com). TechCrunch named accounting firm Crete and IT firm Shield among its companies in December 2025 (Source: techcrunch.com). By August 2026 TechCrunch described two platforms: Current, an accounting arm with more than 50 firms and more than 2,000 professionals, and Shield, an IT arm with around 20 companies. Thrive reported that Current's tax agents processed more than 7,000 tax returns at 98% accuracy and cut preparation time at participating firms by over 30%; these are company figures (Source: techcrunch.com). Part of the August 2026 raise funds a third platform for "the technical and regulatory work required to get essential infrastructure approved, built, certified, and kept in long-term operation" (Source: thriveholdings.com), which a spokesperson said covers data centers, manufacturing, healthcare, power, water and transportation (Source: techcrunch.com).
Relationship with OpenAI
On December 1, 2025 OpenAI announced that it was taking an ownership stake in Thrive Holdings and would embed research, product and engineering teams inside its companies, starting with accounting and IT services (Source: openai.com). Financial terms were not disclosed. TechCrunch characterised the arrangement as one of OpenAI's "circular" deals, since Thrive Capital, the parent, is a major OpenAI investor and holds stakes on both sides (Source: techcrunch.com). See Circular Financing in AI.
Funding
The Information reported on July 6, 2026 that Thrive Holdings, founded roughly a year earlier, was raising about $2 billion from SoftBank, Altimeter, and D1 Capital Partners — its first outside capital (Source: theinformation.com). The company announced the round on August 12, 2026: over $2 billion at a $12 billion valuation, bringing total capital raised since inception to more than $3 billion (Source: thriveholdings.com). The New York Times was first to report the closing (Source: techcrunch.com).
Relationships
- related: OpenAI — equity holder and talent provider.
- related: SoftBank Group — investor in the ~$2B financing.
- instance-of: Professional Services AI Adoption — roll-up-and-transform adoption route.
- instance-of: Circular Financing in AI — OpenAI stake in a vehicle of one of its investors.
- related: AI Labor Disruption — AI-driven restructuring of services work.
Sources
The July 2026 raise was first reported by The Information; the August 2026 closing, valuation and platform figures come from Thrive Holdings' own announcement and TechCrunch's coverage of it. Operating metrics (returns processed, accuracy, time savings) are company-reported and not independently verified. Ownership percentages and the terms of OpenAI's stake are not disclosed.