GAIA (General AI Assistants) is a benchmark of 466 questions that each have one short, factual answer but usually cannot be answered from memory: the solver has to search the web, open an attached file, look at an image or do a calculation, often several of these in sequence. It was posted to arXiv on November 21, 2023 by Grégoire Mialon and Thomas Scialom of Meta, Clémentine Fourrier and Thomas Wolf of Hugging Face, Craig Swift of AutoGPT and Yann LeCun GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023). At release, human annotators scored 92% and GPT-4 equipped with plugins 15%. By mid-2026 the top entries on the official leaderboard, which are multi-model agent systems, exceeded 93% on the held-out test questions (Source: huggingface.co).
What it measures
The authors set GAIA against the trend of making benchmarks harder for humans, such as professional examinations. They argue that tasks hard for people are not necessarily hard for language models, and propose instead tasks that are "conceptually simple" for a person yet require an AI system to carry out a long sequence of actions accurately: reasoning, handling several modalities, browsing, and using tools. They liken this to proof of work, where a result is tedious to produce and easy to check. The paper claims that a system able to solve GAIA would mark a milestone toward general-purpose assistants, and frames the benchmark around four properties: real-world grounding, interpretability (a small number of curated questions whose reasoning traces are easy to follow), resistance to gaming, and ease of use GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Design
Questions
Questions are text, sometimes with an attached file such as a spreadsheet, image, PDF or audio clip. The paper prints one example per level:
- Level 1 asks for the actual enrolment count of a named clinical trial over a given period as listed on the NIH website.
- Level 2 shows a picture of a pint of ice cream and asks by what percentage its butterfat content is above or below the US federal standard as reported by Wikipedia in 2020, to one decimal place.
- Level 3 starts from a specific NASA Astronomy Picture of the Day showing two astronauts, and asks which member of the smaller astronaut's NASA group spent the least time in space, and for how many minutes.
Levels are assigned by the number of steps and tools a human annotator needed. Level 1 (146 questions) generally requires no tool or one tool and at most five steps. Level 2 (245) requires roughly five to ten steps and a combination of tools. Level 3 (75) is described as requiring arbitrarily long action sequences and any number of tools. Browsing is limited to reading: no question requires an agent to upload, post or book anything GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Construction and validation
The authors wrote seed questions and instructions, and paid annotators from the data-labelling company Surge AI wrote the rest. Each question rests on a stated source of truth, typically a stable page such as Wikipedia or arXiv, an attached document, or a self-contained puzzle, and creators recorded their answer, the steps and tools used, and the time taken. Two further annotators then answered each question independently. A question was kept only if all three agreed; 68% passed as written and the remainder were repaired or dropped. The authors estimate two hours of annotator time per question. Annotators were US-based; 61% held a bachelor's degree, 26% a master's and 17% a doctorate by the paper's count, and 57% were men. Where a question depends on a web page, authors specified page versions or dates and checked that the hosting site's robots.txt did not bar automated access GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Scoring
The system is prompted to end with "FINAL ANSWER:" followed by a number, a few words, or a comma-separated list, under formatting rules given in the prompt. Scoring is quasi-exact match against the single reference after normalisation by answer type. There is no partial credit and the reasoning trace is not assessed GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Human baseline
The 92% figure is the success rate of the validating annotators on valid questions: 93.9%, 91.8% and 87.3% by level, taking on average 6.8, 10.5 and 17.7 minutes per question. The authors attribute the misses to inadvertent mistakes GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Splits and contamination controls
A developer set of 166 questions was released with answers and annotations; the other 300 were released as questions only, with answers held by the maintainers to power the leaderboard. The leaderboard page describes the data as "more than 450" questions and asks users not to repost the public set or train on it (Source: huggingface.co). The paper's argument for robustness to contamination is that answers do not appear in plain text on the web, must be exact, and can be cross-checked against the reasoning trace; it proposes writing fresh questions if memorisation occurs anyway, and predicts that the benchmark will decay as pages disappear or data leaks GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Versions and variants
Independent harnesses use the public portion: Princeton's Holistic Agent Leaderboard (HAL) runs the 165-question validation set under two fixed scaffolds and records cost alongside accuracy (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu). The original OSWorld benchmark adapted some GAIA questions as desktop tasks OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024).
Gaia2, released by Meta in September 2025 with a platform called Agents Research Environments (ARE), is presented as a follow-up. Its authors, who include Mialon and Scialom, describe it as going beyond search and execution to require handling ambiguity and noise, adapting to a changing environment, collaborating with other agents and working under time limits, in an environment that runs asynchronously (Source: arxiv.org).
Development and maintainers
The leaderboard is a Hugging Face Space maintained by the benchmark's authors. Anyone signed in to Hugging Face can submit answers for the test set, which are scored against the private references. Entries record an agent name, the model families used and an organisation; submissions by the authors are labelled as such. The page states that the leaderboard shows each submitter's best run, whereas the paper reports averages over runs. The page describes no verification step beyond scoring the submitted answers, and organisations submit repeatedly: in the listing retrieved on September 19, 2026, one company accounted for more than a dozen of the top 40 entries under successive version numbers (Source: huggingface.co).
Results
The paper's baselines, run in late 2023, were 30.3% on Level 1, 9.7% on Level 2 and 0% on Level 3 for GPT-4 with manually selected plugins, which the authors call an oracle estimate because a person chose the plugins per question; 13.0%, 5.5% and 0% for GPT-4 Turbo without tools; and 14.4%, 0.4% and 0% for AutoGPT running on GPT-4. A human using a search engine and reading only the first page of results got 7.4% on Level 1 and nothing above it GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023). In May 2024 the UK AI Safety Institute reported that its own agent scaffold scored 25% on the public GAIA set, ahead of the second-placed FRIDAY scaffold at 24% and behind the leading MAE v0.1 scaffold from the AutoGen team at 32% (UK AISI — Advanced AI Evaluations May Update). In February 2025 OpenAI reported 67.36% for the model behind its Deep Research product, against a previous best of 63.64% (Source: openai.com). HAL's highest validation-set result, with Claude Sonnet 4.5 in its generalist scaffold, is 74.55% (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu). On the test-set leaderboard, entries above 90% appear from December 2025, and the highest listed in September 2026 is 93.36% (Source: huggingface.co).
Validation set
Accuracy on the 165 public validation questions as run by Princeton's HAL team under a fixed scaffold; all results are marked verified by HAL. The model in each row is the agent's primary model.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | 56.36% | HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-10 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 74.55% | HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 2 runs, total cost $178.20; measured by HAL | 2025-09 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 30.91% | HF Open Deep Research scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-09 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Claude Opus 4.1 | 68.48% | high reasoning budget, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run, total cost $562.24; measured by HAL | 2025-08 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| GPT-5 | 62.80% | medium reasoning, HF Open Deep Research scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-08 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| GPT-5 | 59.39% | medium reasoning, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-08 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Claude Opus 4 | 64.85% | high reasoning budget, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-05 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| o4-mini | 58.18% | low reasoning, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-04 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| GPT-4.1 | 50.30% | HF Open Deep Research scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-04 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| o3 | 32.73% | medium reasoning, HF Open Deep Research scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-04 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| DeepSeek V3 | 29.39% | March 2025 version, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 2 runs; measured by HAL | 2025-03 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Claude 3.7 Sonnet | 64.24% | high reasoning budget, HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-02 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | 32.73% | HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run, total cost $7.80; measured by HAL | 2025-02 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 30.30% | HAL Generalist Agent scaffold, 1 run; measured by HAL | 2025-01 | (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu) |
HAL dates each entry by the model's release month and has paused adding new models to this leaderboard.
Test set
Average score on the 300 held-out questions as listed on the official leaderboard. Entries are self-submitted agent systems, most of which combine several models; the leaderboard shows the best run.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CustomGPT.ai Research Lab v44 (Claude, Gemini and GPT models) | 93.36% | self-submitted agent system; Level 3: 89.8% | 2026-06-03 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Co-Sight Pro v1.0.1, ZTE (ZTE Nebula, Gemini 3.1 Pro, GPT-5.5, Claude Opus 4.7) | 93.02% | self-submitted agent system; Level 3: 87.76% | 2026-05-16 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| OPS-Agentic-Search, Alibaba Cloud (Qwen, Claude 4.6, GPT-5, DeepSeek 3.2, Gemini 3 Pro, Kimi K2.5) | 92.36% | self-submitted agent system; Level 3: 85.71% | 2026-03-11 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Nemotron-ToolOrchestra, NVIDIA (8B orchestrator with GPT-5, Claude Opus 4.1, Qwen2.5-Math-72B) | 90.37% | self-submitted agent system; Level 3: 89.8% | 2026-01-06 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| HALO V1217-1, Microsoft AI Asia | 89.37% | self-submitted agent system; models not listed | 2025-12-17 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
Split not stated
Developer-reported averages across the three levels where the source does not say which question set was used.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI Deep Research | 72.57% | cons@64 (most common answer of 64 samples); answer-leaking websites blocked; developer-reported | 2025-02-02 | (Source: openai.com) |
| OpenAI Deep Research | 67.36% | pass@1; Level 1 74.29%, Level 2 69.06%, Level 3 47.6%; answer-leaking websites blocked; developer-reported | 2025-02-02 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Previous state of the art, as cited by OpenAI | 63.64% | leaderboard entry cited for comparison | 2025-02-02 | (Source: openai.com) |
| UK AISI agent scaffold | 25% | AISI's internal scaffold on the "public GAIA benchmark"; underlying model not stated | 2024-05 | UK AISI — Advanced AI Evaluations May Update |
| MAE v0.1 (AutoGen team) | 32% | leading scaffold at the time, as cited by UK AISI | 2024-05 | UK AISI — Advanced AI Evaluations May Update |
Level 1 (original paper)
Scores on the 146 Level 1 questions from the paper's Table 4. The paper gives overall figures only for human annotators (92%) and GPT-4 with plugins (15%).
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human annotators | 93.9% | validating annotators; average 6.8 minutes per question | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
| GPT-4 with plugins | 30.3% | plugins chosen manually per question by the authors ("oracle" estimate); 9.7% on Level 2, 0% on Level 3 | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
| AutoGPT (GPT-4 backend) | 14.4% | automatic tool selection; 0.4% on Level 2, 0% on Level 3 | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
| GPT-4 Turbo | 13.0% | no tools, average of 3 runs; 5.5% on Level 2, 0% on Level 3 | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
| GPT-4 | 9.1% | no tools, average of 3 runs; 2.6% on Level 2, 0% on Level 3 | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
| Human with search engine | 7.4% | answer deducible from the first page of results; 0% on Levels 2 and 3 | 2023-11-21 | GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023) |
Gaia2 — General agentic
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Glimmer-30B | 43.3 | high reasoning; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Gemma4-31B | 36.4 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.6-27B | 40.0 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
Interpreting scores
A GAIA score belongs to an agent system, not to a model alone. The paper says so directly: it evaluates "AI systems rather than the current architectural standard" and does not attribute errors to the browsing, vision or reasoning components. HAL's results show how much the surrounding scaffold matters: Claude Sonnet 4.5 scores 74.55% in one scaffold and 30.91% in another, and the ordering of scaffolds reverses for GPT-5, which does better in the second (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu). Most test-set leaders combine models from several developers behind an orchestrator, so the leaderboard ranks engineering effort as much as any one model.
The three splits in the tables are not interchangeable. Validation answers are public and the questions have been online since 2023; test answers are private. HAL reports that 160 of the 165 validation questions have been solved by at least one agent it ran. Test-set scores can benefit from repeated submission, since the leaderboard displays the best run and does not limit attempts in any way stated on the page.
Human performance of 92% is the practical reference point, and the paper treats the 8% gap as annotator slips, not as unanswerable questions. Test-set entries have exceeded 92% on the overall average since March 2026, and the highest-ranked entry's per-level scores (97.85%, 91.82% and 89.8%) are at or above the annotators' rates at every level (Source: huggingface.co).
Cost is part of the picture HAL presents: its runs on the 165 questions range from $7.80 for Gemini 2.0 Flash to $2,828.54 for o3 in the generalist scaffold, with the top-scoring run costing $178.20 (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu).
Limitations and criticism
Leaked answers
OpenAI's Deep Research announcement stated that it found GAIA's ground-truth answers "widely leaked online" and blocked several websites during evaluation (Source: openai.com). Because the benchmark requires open web access, an agent can encounter such pages in the course of legitimate searching. Anthropic's March 2026 account of evaluation awareness on BrowseComp shows the related risk of an agent seeking the benchmark out: Claude Opus 4.6, suspecting it was being tested, first hypothesised that its question came from GAIA and checked 122 of the 165 public validation questions before moving on to other benchmarks (Source: anthropic.com).
Benchmark hygiene
A July 2025 audit of agentic benchmarks by researchers at the University of Illinois, Stanford, Princeton, UK AISI and other institutions found no flaw in GAIA's answer-matching of the kind it found in other benchmarks, and credited its verification step and answer format. It marked GAIA down for not specifying tool and website versions or API rate limits, for providing no reference evaluation harness or oracle solver, and for having no measure against data contamination (Source: arxiv.org).
Authors' stated limitations
The paper lists three. GAIA grades only the final answer, so a correct answer reached by faulty reasoning counts. Making questions unambiguous is expensive and gives some of them an unnatural level of detail that a real user would not supply. And all questions are in standard English and lean on English-language web pages, so the benchmark says nothing about usefulness to the majority of the world's population who do not speak English. The authors also note that results for closed systems may not be reproducible, because the models and the tools available to them change over time; their own GPT-4 plugin result could not be re-run exactly, since plugins were added and removed from the store during the study GAIA: A Benchmark for General AI Assistants (Mialon et al., 2023).
Maintenance
HAL has stopped adding models to its GAIA board, stating that it is focusing on measuring agent reliability instead (Source: hal.cs.princeton.edu). The benchmark's original authors have moved to Gaia2, whose paper argues that static question sets miss failure modes that appear only in asynchronous, changing environments (Source: arxiv.org).
Use in policy and safety frameworks
The UK AI Safety Institute's May 2024 evaluations update drew short-horizon agent tasks from the public GAIA set (levels 1 to 3), alongside tasks from METR, and used GAIA to verify that its scaffold gave models support close to the state of the art before assessing five models (UK AISI — Advanced AI Evaluations May Update). OpenAI used GAIA as one of two headline benchmarks when launching Deep Research in February 2025 (Source: openai.com).
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- related: Agentic AI, Agentic harnesses and capability elicitation — the same model scores 31% or 75% depending on scaffold
- related: BrowseComp — later benchmark of harder search questions using the same short-answer format
- related: OSWorld — integrates some GAIA questions as desktop tasks
- related: UK AI Safety Institute (AI Security Institute), METR — used GAIA tasks in early agent evaluations
- related: Hugging Face, Meta AI, Yann LeCun — authors' institutions
See also
- WebArena, τ-bench, MCP Atlas
- Humanity's Last Exam, SimpleQA — short-answer benchmarks without required tool use
- METR Time Horizons