Aider Polyglot is a coding benchmark built by Paul Gauthier, the developer of Aider, an open-source command-line programming assistant, and announced on 21 December 2024. It consists of 225 programming exercises drawn from the learning site Exercism in six languages (C++, Go, Java, JavaScript, Python and Rust) and reports the percentage that a large language model, operating through Aider, solves within two attempts (Source: aider.chat). It replaced Aider's earlier code-editing benchmark of 133 Python exercises, which Gauthier described as "saturating." From December 2024 through 2025 the benchmark was reported in release materials from OpenAI, Google, DeepSeek and Moonshot AI. The highest score on the official leaderboard is 88.0%, recorded for GPT-5 at high reasoning effort in August 2025; the leaderboard page states it was last updated on 20 November 2025, and its most recent run is dated 3 October 2025 (Source: aider.chat).
What it measures
Aider's documentation says its benchmarks evaluate a model's ability "to follow instructions and edit code successfully without human intervention" (Source: aider.chat). The benchmark harness, meaning the software that sends prompts to the model, applies its answers to files and runs the tests, is Aider itself. Its README describes the result as an end-to-end evaluation that covers not only the model's coding ability but also its capacity to edit existing code and to format those edits so that Aider can save them to the local source files (Source: github.com). A score therefore combines two things: whether the model can write a correct program, and whether it can express its changes in the text format Aider expects. The leaderboard notes state that completing a task requires both solving the programming assignment and editing the code to implement the solution (Source: aider.chat).
Design
Exercise selection
Exercism is a not-for-profit organisation registered in the United Kingdom that offers free programming practice exercises with mentoring (Source: exercism.org). Its exercise sets for each language are public repositories on GitHub, and the benchmark's own repository credits the C++, Go, Java, JavaScript, Python and Rust tracks as the source of every exercise (Source: github.com).
Gauthier's announcement explains how the 225 were chosen. Exercism provides 697 exercises across the six languages. Seven of what the post calls "today's top coding models" (listed as Sonnet, Haiku, o1 Mini, DeepSeek, GPT-4o, Qwen 32B Coder Instruct and GPT-4o Mini) each attempted all 697. Of these, 258 were solved by all seven models and 66 by none. The benchmark keeps the 225 exercises that three or fewer of the seven models solved, which the post says "achieves a balance between hard and moderate problems." The resulting set holds 26 C++, 39 Go, 47 Java, 49 JavaScript, 34 Python and 30 Rust exercises (Source: aider.chat).
Task format
As Gauthier's 2023 description of the Python track sets out, an Exercism exercise supplies written instructions, a stub source file naming the functions or classes to implement, and a separate file of unit tests, which are small automated checks that run the code and confirm it behaves as specified (Source: aider.chat). One exercise in the set, "book-store," asks for code that prices a basket of books from a five-book series under tiered discounts for buying different titles together, "giving as big a discount as possible" (Source: github.com).
According to Epoch AI's description of the procedure, the model receives the instructions and the stub files with a standard addendum telling it not to rename existing functions or classes and to use only standard libraries. Aider applies the model's edits and runs the language's test runner (for example pytest for Python or cargo test for Rust). If any test fails, the model is sent the test errors with the text "The tests are correct, don't try and change them" and asked to fix the code; this second attempt is the last (Source: epoch.ai). Gauthier's 2023 description of the predecessor benchmark, which used the same two-attempt structure, says the second chance matters because exercise instructions can be imprecise about what the tests require and "most human coders would likely fail some tests on their first try" (Source: aider.chat).
Edit formats
An edit format is the textual convention a model is told to use when returning code changes. Aider documents several. In the "whole" format the model returns a complete updated copy of each changed file; the documentation calls it the simplest format but slow and costly because the whole file is returned even for a small change. In the "diff" format the model returns only search-and-replace blocks marking the lines to find and their replacements. "diff-fenced" is a variant used mainly with Gemini models, and "udiff" is a simplified unified-diff format used mainly with the GPT-4 Turbo models (Source: aider.chat). In architect mode, introduced in September 2024, one model describes a solution in plain text and a second "editor" model converts that description into file edits (Source: aider.chat). Each leaderboard row records the edit format used, and Aider defaults to "whole" for less common models because it is the easiest to follow (Source: aider.chat).
Scoring and reported statistics
The headline figure, shown as "Percent correct," is the share of the 225 exercises for which all unit tests pass after the second attempt; the results files call it pass_rate_2 and also record pass_rate_1, the share passing on the first attempt (Source: github.com). A second column, "Correct edit format," gives the share of exercises in which the model complied with the edit format it was told to use; when a model makes an edit mistake, Aider gives it feedback and asks for a corrected edit (Source: aider.chat). Each run's record also lists the Aider version and code commit, the number of malformed responses, syntax and indentation errors, exhausted context windows, test timeouts, seconds per exercise and total cost in dollars (Source: aider.chat).
Cost and execution environment
The cost column is the amount paid to the model provider to run all 225 exercises at the time of the run, offered on what the notes call a "best efforts basis" (Source: aider.chat). Reported costs range from $0.32 for GPT-4o mini to $186.50 for o1 at high reasoning effort (Source: aider.chat). In May 2025 Gauthier withdrew a $6.32 figure for Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview 03-25 after finding that a software dependency had omitted reasoning tokens from its counts; he wrote that the true cost "was higher, possibly significantly so" (Source: aider.chat). The harness is meant to be run inside a Docker container because it executes model-written code without human review (Source: github.com).
Human baseline and data splits
No human baseline has been reported. There is no private or held-out split: all 225 exercises are published in the benchmark's GitHub repository, and the underlying Exercism tracks are public (Source: github.com).
Versions and variants
The benchmark is the third in a series by Gauthier. The first, published on 2 July 2023, used all 133 practice exercises from Exercism's Python track with the same two-attempt procedure, and was built to compare edit formats across GPT-3.5 and GPT-4 (Source: aider.chat). A refactoring benchmark followed, asking a model to refactor 89 large methods out of large Python classes; its leaderboard page says it "was developed to provoke and measure GPT-4 Turbo's 'lazy coding' habit" (Source: aider.chat).
Gauthier gave saturation of the first benchmark as the reason for building Polyglot. The announcement states that it "was saturating as the top scores approached and then surpassed 80%": Claude 3.5 Sonnet's 84.2% corresponded to 112 of 133 exercises, "leaving only 21 unsolved exercises," and new records came from "solving just 1-2 more problems than the previous record." He added that models as old as GPT-3.5 Turbo could solve half of the 133 problems. The stated goal was to recalibrate the scale so that the top coding models of the time would spread across scores "between about 5% and 50%" (Source: aider.chat). The old leaderboard page now carries a notice that it "has been replaced by the new, much more challenging polyglot leaderboard" (Source: aider.chat).
The exercise set itself has not been revised: the benchmark repository shows five commits, the last dated 22 December 2024 (Source: github.com). Variation arises instead from how the benchmark is run. OpenAI has published separate "whole" and "diff" scores (Source: openai.com). The authors of the Darwin Gödel Machine, a self-modifying coding agent from Sakana AI and the University of British Columbia, replaced the Aider harness with their own agent and scored only the first attempt, without test feedback, on the grounds that this "more closely reflects realistic coding applications." Using o3-mini as the underlying model, they searched on a 50-exercise subset and reported that the agent raised its own score on the full benchmark from 14.2% to 30.7%, which they describe as surpassing Aider (The Darwin Gödel Machine (Sakana AI, May 2025); Source: arxiv.org). LiveRepoReflection, a benchmark from researchers at Beihang University and collaborators, states that it draws "inspiration from the Aider benchmarks and Exercism problems" and contains 1,888 problems (Source: aclanthology.org).
Development and maintainers
The benchmark, the harness and the leaderboard are maintained within the Aider project, which is published under the Apache 2.0 licence; the leaderboard pages carry Gauthier's byline (Source: github.com; Source: aider.chat). No paper accompanies the benchmark; the December 2024 blog post and the harness README are its documentation.
Leaderboard submissions
Anyone can run the harness, which writes a YAML record of the run. Aider's contribution page says results are submitted "by opening a PR with edits to the benchmark results data files," a pull request being a proposed change to the project's GitHub repository (Source: aider.chat). The README says the recorded model, edit format and commit hash "should be enough to reliably reproduce any benchmark run"; neither it nor the contribution page describes a step in which submitted results are re-run (Source: github.com). In a May 2025 post collecting Qwen3 results, Gauthier noted that "some results were submitted by aider users and have not been verified" (Source: aider.chat).
The commit history of the Polyglot results file shows most changes made by Gauthier. The GPT-5 entries of 23 and 25 August 2025 were authored by the GitHub user lreeves, the gpt-oss-120b entry by Oct4Pie, and the DeepSeek-V3.2-Exp entries of October 2025, the latest in the history, by gcp (Source: github.com). Asked in January 2025 for a leaderboard of architect and editor model pairings, Gauthier replied that there were far too many combinations and that benchmarking them all would take "too much time, tokens and money" (Source: github.com).
Use by model developers and third-party trackers
OpenAI reported the benchmark for o3 and o4-mini in April 2025, for the GPT-4.1 family the same month and for GPT-5 in August 2025. Its GPT-4.1 post says the company "specifically trained GPT-4.1 to follow diff formats more reliably" and describes the evaluation as measuring both coding capability across programming languages and the ability to produce changes in whole and diff formats (Source: openai.com; Source: openai.com; Source: openai.com). Google wrote in June 2025 that Gemini 2.5 Pro was "leading on difficult coding benchmarks like Aider Polyglot," and the Gemini 2.5 technical report lists the benchmark among its coding evaluations, taking competitors' figures from the Aider leaderboard (Source: blog.google; Source: arxiv.org). DeepSeek's V3, R1 and R1-0528 releases and Moonshot AI's Kimi K2 release list "Aider-Polyglot" accuracy in their benchmark tables (Source: github.com; Source: github.com; Source: huggingface.co; Source: github.com).
Epoch AI's Benchmarking Hub carries the benchmark, labels it "Creator administered," and states that its data "does not come from Epoch AI internal runs" but is copied from the Aider leaderboard; when accessed in September 2026 it listed 77 models and a highest score of 88% (Source: epoch.ai). LLM Stats, a third-party tracker, listed 22 models on the same date, all marked self-reported and unverified (Source: llm-stats.com).
Results
At release on 21 December 2024 the top score was 61.7% for OpenAI's o1 at high reasoning effort, followed by Claude 3.5 Sonnet at 45.3%; GPT-4o scored 15.1% and GPT-4o mini 3.6%. Gauthier wrote that o1's result "still leaves 86 problems of headroom" and wondered how long the new benchmark would take "to saturate" (Source: aider.chat). In January 2025 DeepSeek R1 as architect paired with Claude 3.5 Sonnet as editor reached 64.0%, which Gauthier reported as achieved at "14X less cost" than the o1 result (Source: aider.chat). Leaderboard entries then rose through Claude 3.7 Sonnet at 64.9% in February 2025, Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview 03-25 at 72.9% in April, and Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview 06-05 at 83.1% and o3-pro at 84.9% in June. The GPT-5 entry of August 2025 records 198 of 225 exercises solved, or 88.0%, and no later entry exceeds it (Source: aider.chat). The Gemini 2.5 report observed that Gemini Pro's score had "gone up 5x on Aider Polyglot" within a year, from 16.9% for Gemini 1.5 Pro to 82.2% for Gemini 2.5 Pro, and stated in the same passage that benchmarks are "saturating quickly" (Source: arxiv.org).
Polyglot
All 225 exercises, two attempts. Rows marked "Aider leaderboard" come from run records published by the Aider project, whether run by Gauthier or contributed by users; dollar figures are the reported cost of the full run. Rows marked "developer-reported" come from the model developer's own materials.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepSeek-V3.2-Exp (Reasoner) | 74.2% | diff format; $1.30; Aider leaderboard, entry contributed by GitHub user gcp | 2025-10-03 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-5 (high) | 88.0% | diff format; high reasoning effort; $29.08; Aider leaderboard, entry contributed by GitHub user lreeves | 2025-08-23 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-5 (high) | 88.0% | diff format; high reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2025-08-07 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-4o (ChatGPT version of August 2025) | 25.8% | chart labelled pass@2; edit format not stated; developer-reported | 2025-08-07 | (Source: openai.com) |
| gpt-oss-120b (high) | 41.8% | diff format; $0.74; Aider leaderboard, entry contributed by GitHub user Oct4Pie | 2025-08-06 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 24.0% | reasoning level low; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 34.2% | reasoning level medium; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 44.4% | reasoning level high; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-20b | 16.6% | reasoning level low; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-20b | 26.6% | reasoning level medium; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-20b | 34.2% | reasoning level high; pass@1; default system prompt; edit format not stated; developer-reported (card §2.6.4 (Table 3)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| Kimi-K2-Instruct | 60.0% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; developer-reported (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-0324 | 55.1% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B (non-thinking) | 61.8% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 56.4% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Opus 4 | 70.7% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash Preview (2025-05-20) | 44.0% | accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Kimi K2 | 59.1% | diff format; $1.24; Aider leaderboard | 2025-07-17 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Grok 4 (high) | 79.6% | diff format; high reasoning effort; $59.62; Aider leaderboard | 2025-07-11 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Kimi K2 Instruct | 60.0% | edit format not stated; developer-reported | 2025-07-11 | (Source: github.com) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 82.2% | diff or diff-fenced format (report does not say which); average of 3 trials; developer-reported | 2025-07-07 | (Source: arxiv.org); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 1.5 Flash | 2.8% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-flash-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro | 16.9% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-pro-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash-Lite | 10.5% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-lite-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | 21.3% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash | 56.7% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.5-flash, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 0528 | 71.6% | 'diff' or 'diff-fenced' edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; numbers from the Aider leaderboard; reported by Google in the Gemini 2.5 technical report; from the Aider leaderboard (card §3.3 (Table 4)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| o3-pro (high) | 84.9% | diff format; high reasoning effort; $146.32; Aider leaderboard | 2025-06-28 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro (GA) | 82.2% | diff-fenced edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-06-05, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| OpenAI o3 (high) | 79.6% | diff edit format; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| OpenAI o4-mini (high) | 72.0% | diff edit format; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 61.3% | diff edit format; 32k extended thinking; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Claude Opus 4 (32K thinking) | 72.0% | diff edit format; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Grok 3 Beta (Extended Thinking) | 53.3% | diff edit format; without extended reasoning; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 05-28 | 71.6% | edit format not shown; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; from the Aider leaderboard (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview (05-06) | 76.5% | whole edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-05-06, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Experimental (03-25) | 74.0% | whole edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-exp-03-25, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview (05-06) | 72.7% | diff edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-05-06, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Experimental (03-25) | 68.6% | diff edit format; pass rate average of 3 trials; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-exp-03-25, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| o3 (high) | 81.3% | diff format; high reasoning effort; $21.23; Aider leaderboard | 2025-06-25 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Mistral Medium 3 | 28.9% | accuracy in percent (unit not printed in the table); temperature 0.7, top-p 0.95, max 32k tokens; developer-reported (card §5.2, Table 2) | 2025-06-12 | Magistral (Mistral AI, June 2025) |
| Magistral Medium | 47.1% | accuracy in percent (unit not printed in the table); temperature 0.7, top-p 0.95, max 32k tokens; developer-reported (card §5.2, Table 2) | 2025-06-12 | Magistral (Mistral AI, June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview 06-05 | 83.1% | diff-fenced format; 32k thinking tokens; $49.88; Aider leaderboard | 2025-06-06 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| DeepSeek R1 (0528) | 71.4% | diff format; $4.80; Aider leaderboard | 2025-06-06 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Claude Opus 4 | 72.0% | diff format; 32k thinking tokens; $65.75; Aider leaderboard | 2025-05-25 | (Source: aider.chat); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Qwen3 235B A22B | 59.6% | diff format; thinking disabled; Alibaba API; cost not reported; Aider leaderboard | 2025-05-09 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Seed1.5-Thinking | 54.2% | single response; thinking model; developer-reported (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| OpenAI o3-mini | 68.6% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 74.0% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| o4-mini (high) | 72.0% | diff format; $19.64; Aider leaderboard | 2025-04-16 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| o3 (high) | 79.6% | diff format; developer-reported (81.3% in whole format) | 2025-04-16 | (Source: openai.com) |
| o4-mini (high) | 58.2% | diff format; developer-reported (68.9% in whole format) | 2025-04-16 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-4.1 | 52.4% | diff format; $9.86; Aider leaderboard | 2025-04-14 | (Source: aider.chat); Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| GPT-4.1 | 52.9% | diff format; developer-reported (51.6% in whole format) | 2025-04-14 | (Source: openai.com) |
| o3-mini (high) | 60.4% | diff format; $18.16; Aider leaderboard | 2025-01-31 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| DeepSeek R1 + Claude 3.5 Sonnet | 64.0% | architect mode (R1 as architect, Sonnet as editor); $13.29; Aider leaderboard | 2025-01-23 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Claude-3.5-Sonnet-1022 | 45.3% | Acc.; 'diff' format; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| GPT-4o-0513 | 16.0% | Acc.; 'diff' format; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 49.6% | Acc.; 'diff' format; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (DeepSeek's own earlier model) (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report; Magistral (Mistral AI, June 2025) |
| OpenAI o1-mini | 32.9% | Acc.; 'diff' format; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| OpenAI o1-1217 | 61.7% | Acc.; 'diff' format; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper, taken from OpenAI's official reports (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek R1 | 56.9% | diff format; $5.42; Aider leaderboard | 2025-01-20 | (Source: aider.chat); Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 53.3% | diff format; developer-reported; the same figure appears in DeepSeek's GitHub repository (github.com) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; Magistral (Mistral AI, June 2025) |
| o1-mini | 32.9% | diff format, per the paper; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| GPT-4o (0513) | 16.0% | diff format, per the paper; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek-V2.5-0905 | 18.2% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5 72B Instruct | 7.6% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| LLaMA-3.1 405B Instruct | 5.8% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek V3 | 49.6% | edit format not stated; developer-reported | 2024-12-26 | (Source: github.com) |
| DeepSeek V3 | 48.4% | diff format; $0.34; Aider leaderboard (listed as "DeepSeek Chat V3 (prev)") | 2024-12-25 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| o1 (high) | 61.7% | diff format; high reasoning effort; announcement post | 2024-12-21 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (20241022) | 45.3% | diff format; announcement post | 2024-12-21 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-4o (2024-11-20) | 15.1% | diff format; announcement post | 2024-12-21 | (Source: aider.chat) |
Code editing (133 Python exercises)
The predecessor benchmark, retired in December 2024. Scores are from the archived leaderboard page; run dates are from the project's results file (Source: raw.githubusercontent.com).
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepSeek-V2-0506 | 60.3% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V2.5-0905 | 71.6% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5 72B Instruct | 65.4% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| LLaMA-3.1 405B Instruct | 63.9% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Claude-3.5-Sonnet-1022 | 84.2% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek through the API (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| GPT-4o-0513 | 72.9% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek through the API (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 79.7% | Acc.; 'diff' format; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; developer-reported (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek V3 | 79.7% | listed as "Aider-Edit"; edit format not stated; developer-reported | 2024-12-26 | (Source: github.com) |
| o1 | 84.2% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2024-12-18 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (20241022) | 84.2% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2024-10-22 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| o1-preview + o1-mini | 85.0% | architect mode, editor using whole format; reported by Aider | 2024-09-26 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| o1-preview | 79.7% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2024-09-21 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-4o (2024-05-13) | 72.9% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2024-05-13 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| Claude 3 Opus | 68.4% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2024-05-01 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-4 (0613) | 67.7% | diff format; Aider leaderboard | 2023-12-16 | (Source: aider.chat) |
| GPT-3.5 Turbo (0301) | 57.9% | whole format; Aider leaderboard | 2023-11-06 | (Source: aider.chat) |
Interpreting scores
Each exercise is worth about 0.44 percentage points, so small gaps between models correspond to a handful of exercises; Gauthier made the same point about the predecessor, where records changed hands by one or two problems (Source: aider.chat). Because the 225 exercises were chosen for being hard for seven models available in December 2024, the scale was calibrated to that generation, with the stated intention that top models would fall between about 5% and 50% (Source: aider.chat).
A failure can reflect either wrong code or edits that Aider could not apply. OpenAI's April 2025 figures show the size of the format effect: o4-mini at high reasoning effort scored 68.9% when returning whole files and 58.2% when returning diffs, and GPT-4o (2024-11-20) scored 30.7% and 18.2% respectively (Source: openai.com; Source: openai.com). The second attempt accounts for a large part of most scores: the GPT-5 (high) leaderboard run passed 52.0% of exercises on the first attempt and 88.0% after the second, and the o4-mini (high) run 19.6% and 72.0% (Source: aider.chat). OpenAI labels its chart "pass@2," and the Darwin Gödel Machine authors chose to report first-attempt results only (Source: openai.com; Source: arxiv.org).
Scores also move with reasoning settings and with how a model is served. GPT-5 scored 81.3%, 86.7% and 88.0% at low, medium and high reasoning effort, at run costs of $10.37, $17.69 and $29.08 (Source: aider.chat), and OpenAI reported 26.7% for GPT-5 without thinking (Source: openai.com). Aider's Qwen3 post lists results for the open-weight Qwen3 235B model from 49.8% to 65.3% depending on the API provider, quantization, thinking setting and edit format, with Gauthier noting that providers of open models "can use very different inference settings" (Source: aider.chat).
Developer-reported and leaderboard figures for the same model can differ. The leaderboard lists o4-mini (high) at 72.0% in diff format against OpenAI's 58.2% (Source: openai.com), DeepSeek R1 at 56.9% against DeepSeek's 53.3%, which the R1 paper states was measured in diff format (Source: github.com; DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning), and Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview 06-05 at 83.1% against the 82.2% three-trial average in Google's report (Source: arxiv.org), while DeepSeek R1 (0528) stands at 71.4% against DeepSeek's 71.6% (Source: huggingface.co). Repeat runs on the leaderboard have also differed from earlier ones: Claude 3.5 Sonnet appears at 45.3% in the announcement and at 51.6% in a leaderboard run dated 17 January 2025, and GPT-4o (2024-11-20) at 15.1% and then 18.2%. The announcement describes its table as "a snapshot of results at the time of publication" (Source: aider.chat; Source: aider.chat).
Limitations and criticism
Contamination, meaning that test items or their solutions may have appeared in a model's training data, is the most frequent criticism, since Exercism exercises and many solutions are public. Gauthier acknowledged this of the original benchmark in 2023: "Of course, all of this code was probably part of its original training data!" (Source: aider.chat). Zhang and co-authors write that the benchmark is limited by its reliance on a repository of programming exercises that "have been included in the pre-training data" (Source: aclanthology.org). Zhu Liang of 16x Eval noted that some of the exercises "were created between 2021 and 2023 and publicly available on GitHub," before the training cut-off dates of models such as GPT-5 (Source: eval.16x.engineer). The OpenHands team rated the contamination risk as medium, arguing that "the six-language spread makes rote memorization less useful than on single-language sets" (Source: openhands.dev). The Darwin Gödel Machine authors took a more favourable view, choosing the benchmark in part because it is "more niche and less likely to be included in FMs' post-training data" than SWE-bench (Source: arxiv.org).
On scope, the OpenHands guide characterises the tasks as single-file exercises "with one described function to complete" and recommends the benchmark as an inexpensive "check on editing precision and regressions" (Source: openhands.dev). Zhang and co-authors contrast its 225 items with the 1,888 in their repository-style benchmark (Source: aclanthology.org). The benchmark is also tied to one tool: the Darwin Gödel Machine paper notes that it "is primarily used by its developer to evaluate Aider" (Source: arxiv.org), and Steel.dev's tracker describes scores as obtained "inside Aider's real edit loop" (Source: leaderboard.steel.dev).
On verification, Epoch AI classes the benchmark as creator administered, LLM Stats marks every entry it holds as unverified, and Gauthier has said some user-submitted results were not verified (Source: epoch.ai; Source: llm-stats.com; Source: aider.chat).
On currency, when accessed on 19 September 2026 the leaderboard page read "last updated November 20, 2025" and its newest run was dated 3 October 2025; no model released after that date appears (Source: aider.chat). Steel.dev's tracker, last updated in June 2026, cautions that "frontier models released after Aider's last run may be missing until it re-runs them" (Source: leaderboard.steel.dev). The Aider code repository itself showed a latest commit of 22 May 2026 (Source: github.com).
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation — a coding benchmark maintained by a tool developer.
- related: Agentic harnesses and capability elicitation — scores depend on the Aider harness, edit format and reasoning settings.
- related: The Darwin Gödel Machine (Sakana AI, May 2025) — uses a first-attempt variant of the benchmark to measure a self-modifying coding agent; see also Recursive Self-Improvement (RSI).
- related: SWE-bench, HumanEval, LiveCodeBench, Terminal-Bench — other coding evaluations reported alongside it in developer launch materials.
- related: GPT-5 Family (OpenAI), OpenAI o-series (o1 → o4-mini), Gemini 2.5 Pro, DeepSeek-R1, DeepSeek-V3, Kimi K2 — models whose developers reported scores.
- related: Epoch AI — republishes the leaderboard in its Benchmarking Hub.