MMLU-Pro is a multiple-choice benchmark of 12,032 questions in 14 subject areas, each with up to ten answer options. It was released in June 2024 by TIGER-Lab, a research group at the University of Waterloo, and published at NeurIPS 2024 in the Datasets and Benchmarks track MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024). Its authors built it because scores on MMLU had begun "to plateau, making it increasingly difficult to discern differences in model capabilities." GPT-4o, the strongest model at release, scored 72.6%; by 2026 the leading models on the maintainers' leaderboard were at 87–91% (Source: MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024); huggingface.co).
What it measures
The authors describe MMLU-Pro as extending "the mostly knowledge-driven MMLU benchmark by integrating more challenging, reasoning-focused questions." Their evidence that it tests reasoning more than recall is the effect of chain-of-thought prompting, in which a model writes out intermediate steps before answering: GPT-4o gained 19.1 points from chain-of-thought on MMLU-Pro and 1.5 points on MMLU MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024). Hugging Face adopted it for the second version of its Open LLM Leaderboard in 2024 as the replacement for MMLU, which it called "the reference multichoice knowledge dataset" (Source: huggingface.co).
Design
Dataset construction
The dataset has four sources. Just over half of the questions (6,810) come from MMLU; the rest (5,222) come from a website of worked STEM problems (stemez.com), from TheoremQA, a set of human-annotated questions that require applying a theorem, and from SciBench, a set of science questions from college examinations (Source: MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024); huggingface.co). Construction ran in four steps MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024):
- Filtering MMLU. The 57 MMLU subjects were merged into 14 categories. Eight small open models (versions of Llama 2, Mistral, Gemma and Yi) answered every MMLU question, and the 5,886 questions that more than four of them got right were discarded as too easy.
- Adding new questions. The STEM-website and TheoremQA items were problem statements with worked solutions rather than multiple-choice questions. GPT-4-Turbo extracted a short answer from each solution and wrote three wrong options, and the authors manually removed items where the extracted answer was incomplete or wrong.
- Option augmentation. GPT-4-Turbo wrote six more wrong options for every question, taking the total from four to ten. The authors report that GPT-4-Turbo gained no advantage on the benchmark from having written them.
- Expert review. Human experts checked each answer and removed questions unsuited to multiple choice or dependent on images or tables. Gemini-1.5-Pro then re-examined all options to flag wrong options that were in fact correct, and experts reviewed the flagged cases. The review found 350 incorrect answers and 385 bad questions among the MMLU-derived items and 483 and 862 among the STEM-website items, and removed 1,953 and 293 mistakenly "wrong" options respectively. After removals, 83% of questions have ten options and the average is 9.47.
The 14 categories are biology, business, chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, health, history, law, mathematics, philosophy, physics, psychology and other (Source: huggingface.co).
Task format and an example
An item is a question followed by options lettered A to J. Many of the added questions require calculation. One physics-style item in the mathematics category asks for the work done by a muscle fibre that contracts by 3.5 cm while obeying Hooke's law with a force constant of 750 N/m, with ten numerical options between 0.25 J and 1.00 J (Source: kaitchup.substack.com).
Scoring
The score is the percentage of questions answered correctly, micro-averaged over the whole set. The authors' standard setting is 5-shot chain-of-thought: five worked examples per category in the prompt, with the answer extracted from the model's text by a regular expression that looks for "answer is (X)". If no answer can be extracted, a random option is recorded. With up to ten options, random guessing yields roughly 10%. Developers also report zero-shot results, and the maintainers note that "normally we use 5-shot, some models like Gemini use 0-shot" (Source: MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024); huggingface.co).
Human baseline, splits and contamination
The paper reports no human baseline. The full test set with answers is public on Hugging Face under an MIT licence, and there is no held-out portion; the MMLU-derived half inherits whatever exposure MMLU already had (Source: huggingface.co).
Versions and variants
The dataset has been corrected in place rather than versioned. The maintainers' changelog records a consolidated note on problems in the Health category in October 2025 and a fix in January 2026 for a formatting flaw described under Limitations (Source: huggingface.co). Derivatives by other groups include MMLU-Pro+ (Taghanaki and colleagues, September 2024), which adds questions with more than one correct answer to test whether models take shortcuts (Source: arxiv.org), and MMLU-ProX (March 2025), which translates 11,829 of the questions into 29 languages (Source: arxiv.org). OpenAI's CoT-Control suite draws some of its tasks from MMLU-Pro (Reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that's good (OpenAI, March 2026)).
Development and maintainers
The paper lists 17 authors led by Yubo Wang, Xueguang Ma and Wenhu Chen of the University of Waterloo MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024). TIGER-Lab hosts the dataset, evaluation scripts and a leaderboard. Each leaderboard entry is marked either "TIGER-Lab", meaning the maintainers ran the model, or "Self-Reported", meaning the figure was taken from the developer; most frontier-model entries are self-reported and give only an overall score. The maintainers state that submissions "must provide substantial evidence demonstrating that their system is a genuine language model." The most recent batch of additions was in March 2026 (Source: huggingface.co; huggingface.co).
Independent measurement has narrowed. Artificial Analysis ran MMLU-Pro itself as part of its Intelligence Index, with Gemini 3 Pro Preview highest at 89.8%, but removed it from the index in version 4.0 and lists it as "retired from our active reporting" (Source: artificialanalysis.ai; artificialanalysis.ai).
Results
At release in June 2024 GPT-4o led at 72.6%, followed by Gemini 1.5 Pro at 69.0% and Claude 3 Opus at 68.5%; the best open-weight model, Llama-3-70B-Instruct, scored 56.2%. The authors noted that the three leading closed models, about 2 points apart on MMLU, were about 9 points apart on MMLU-Pro MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024). Reasoning models closed much of the remaining room: OpenAI's o1 is listed at 89.3% and DeepSeek-R1 was reported at 84.0% in January 2025 (Source: huggingface.co; DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning). On the leaderboard as of September 2026, Gemini 3.1 Pro leads at 91.16% in the maintainers' own run, and most other frontier entries lie between 85% and 90% (Source: huggingface.co).
Overall accuracy
Accuracy on the full set for instruction-tuned and reasoning models. Rows sourced to the TIGER-Lab leaderboard carry the leaderboard's own label ("self-reported" or "run by TIGER-Lab") and are dated by the model's release, since the leaderboard does not date entries.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemma 4 31B | 85.2% | instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Gemma 4 26B A4B | 82.6% | instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026) |
| Gemma 4 12B Unified | 77.2% | instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026) |
| Gemma 4 E4B | 69.4% | instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Gemma 4 E2B | 60.0% | instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Gemma 3 27B IT | 67.6% | Gemma 3 27B instruction-tuned, no thinking; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 4 model card (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-07-30 | Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026) |
| Gemma 4 26B-A4B | 82.6% | instruction-tuned, thinking mode; developer-reported (card §4.2, Table 5) | 2026-07-24 | Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Gemma 4 12B | 77.2% | instruction-tuned, thinking mode; developer-reported (card §4.2, Table 5) | 2026-07-24 | Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Gemma 3 27B | 67.6% | Gemma 3 27B instruction-tuned, non-thinking; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 4 technical report (card §4.2, Table 5) | 2026-07-24 | Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra 550B-A55B | 86.8% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| MiniMax-2.7 230B-A10B | 81.9% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 744B-A40B | 85.9% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| Kimi-K2.6 1T-A32B | 88.1% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| Qwen-3.5 397B-17B | 88.3% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro 1.6T-A49B | 87.5% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash 284B-A13B | 86.4% | post-trained model; unit not printed (percent scale unless noted); Nemo Evaluator SDK, same settings for all models, inference parameters from each model card; reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §3.7, Table 10) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 Thinking | 87.1% | EM; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 Thinking | 86.0% | EM; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (Non-Think) | 83.0% | EM; Non-think mode (8K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (High) | 86.4% | EM; High reasoning effort (128K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Max | 86.2% | EM; Max reasoning effort (384K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (Non-Think) | 82.9% | EM; Non-think mode (8K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (High) | 87.1% | EM; High reasoning effort (128K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Max | 87.5% | EM; Max reasoning effort (384K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7 and Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro | 87.5% | Max thinking mode, exact match; developer-reported | 2026-04 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 91.0% | High thinking; reported by DeepSeek in its V4 comparison table | 2026-04 | (Source: huggingface.co); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 87.5% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard; DeepSeek's comparison table gives the same figure for xHigh reasoning | 2026-03-05 | (Source: huggingface.co); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 91.16% | run by TIGER-Lab | 2026-02-19 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| GLM-5 | 86.0% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2026-02-11 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 89.1% | thinking; self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2026-02-05 | (Source: huggingface.co); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GPT-5.2 | 87.4% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-12-11 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 87.3% | thinking; self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-11-24 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 90.1% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-11-18 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Gemini 3 Pro Preview | 89.8% | high reasoning; measured by Artificial Analysis before it retired the evaluation | 2025-11 | (Source: artificialanalysis.ai) |
| GLM-4.5-Air | 81.4% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; developer-reported (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| o3 | 85.3% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Claude Opus 4 | 87.3% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 86.2% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| DeepSeek-R1-0528 | 84.9% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Qwen3-235B (2507) | 84.5% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Grok 4 | 86.6% | LLM used for automated answer validation; evaluated with Z.ai's open-sourced glm-simple-evals; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.2 (Table 4)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| GPT-5 | 87.1% | high reasoning; self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-08-07 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| GLM-4.5 | 84.6% | thinking mode; developer-reported | 2025-07-28 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Kimi-K2-Instruct | 81.1% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; developer-reported (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-0324 | 81.2% | exact match; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (marked *, taken from the model's own technical report or blog) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B (non-thinking) | 77.3% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 83.7% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Opus 4 | 86.6% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| GPT-4.1 | 81.8% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash Preview (2025-05-20) | 79.4% | exact match; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Grok 4 | 87.0% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-07-09 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Kimi K2 Instruct | 81.1% | exact match; developer-reported | 2025-07 | (Source: arxiv.org) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 86.0% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-06 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Seed1.5-Thinking | 87.0% | single response; thinking model; developer-reported (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 | 85.6% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| OpenAI o3-mini | 82.4% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| Grok 3 Beta | 84.6% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 86.3% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| o3 (high) | 85.0% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-04-16 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Llama 4 Maverick | 80.5% | 0-shot, instruction-tuned model; developer-reported | 2025-04-05 | (Source: github.com) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro (exp-03-25) | 84.52% | run by TIGER-Lab | 2025-03-25 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Gemini 1.5 Flash | 67.3% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro | 75.8% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | 77.6% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Pro | 79.1% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 2B IT | 15.6% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 9B IT | 46.8% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 27B IT | 56.9% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 1B IT | 14.7% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 4B IT | 43.6% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 12B IT | 60.6% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 27B IT | 67.5% | 0-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| GPT-4.5 | 86.1% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2025-02-27 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 84.0% | exact match; the benchmark's few-shot prompt modified to zero-shot; sampling at temperature 0.6, top-p 0.95; developer-reported | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 75.9% | exact match; developer-reported in the DeepSeek-R1 paper | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| o1-mini | 80.3% | exact match; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (1022) | 78.0% | exact match; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| GPT-4o (0513) | 72.6% | exact match; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| Claude-3.5-Sonnet-1022 | 78.0% | EM; prompt modified to zero-shot; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| GPT-4o-0513 | 72.6% | EM; prompt modified to zero-shot; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| OpenAI o1-mini | 80.3% | EM; prompt modified to zero-shot; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| Llama 3.1 70B Instruct | 66.4% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 6) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Llama 3.1 405B Instruct | 73.3% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 6) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2-72B-Instruct | 64.4% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 6) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-72B-Instruct | 71.1% | instruction-tuned model; developer-reported (card §5.2.1, Table 6) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-Plus | 72.5% | instruction-tuned model; developer-reported (card §5.2.1, Table 6) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2-57B-A14B-Instruct | 52.8% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Gemma 2 27B IT | 55.5% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| GPT-4o mini | 63.1% | instruction-tuned model; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team; shots not stated for instruct models) (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-Turbo | 64.5% | instruction-tuned model; developer-reported (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-14B-Instruct | 63.7% | instruction-tuned model; developer-reported (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-32B-Instruct | 69.0% | instruction-tuned model; developer-reported (card §5.2.1, Table 7) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| DeepSeek-V2-0506 | 58.5% | EM; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V2.5-0905 | 66.2% | EM; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5 72B Instruct | 71.6% | EM; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| LLaMA-3.1 405B Instruct | 73.3% | EM; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| o1 | 89.3% | self-reported, per TIGER-Lab leaderboard | 2024-12 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Grok-2 | 75.5% | 0-shot chain-of-thought; developer-reported | 2024-08-13 | (Source: x.ai) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet | 76.1% | reported by xAI in its Grok-2 comparison table | 2024-08-13 | (Source: x.ai) |
| Llama 3.1 405B | 73.3% | 5-shot chain-of-thought; developer-reported | 2024-07-23 | (Source: arxiv.org) |
| GPT-4o | 72.6% | 5-shot chain-of-thought; baseline from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro | 69.0% | 0-shot chain-of-thought; baseline from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
| Claude 3 Opus | 68.5% | 5-shot chain-of-thought; baseline from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4 Turbo | 63.7% | 5-shot chain-of-thought; baseline from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4o | 53.5% | 5-shot direct answering without chain-of-thought; from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
| Llama-3-70B-Instruct | 56.2% | 5-shot chain-of-thought; baseline from the original paper | 2024-06-03 | MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024) |
Base models (5-shot)
Accuracy of pretrained models before instruction tuning, which developers report to compare pretraining quality.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Base | 68.3% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Base | 73.5% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-Base | 74.1% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; developer-reported (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026) |
| Nemotron-3-Ultra-550B-A55B-Base | 79.07% | base model, 5-shot, CoT EM; LM Evaluation Harness via Nemo Evaluator SDK; unit not printed (percent scale); developer-reported (card §2, Table 2) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V3.2-Exp-Base | 63.26% | base model, 5-shot, CoT EM; LM Evaluation Harness via Nemo Evaluator SDK; unit not printed (percent scale); reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §2, Table 2) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| Mistral-Large-3-675B-Base-2512 | 67.42% | base model, 5-shot, CoT EM; LM Evaluation Harness via Nemo Evaluator SDK; unit not printed (percent scale); reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §2, Table 2) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| Kimi-K2-Base | 69.15% | base model, 5-shot, CoT EM; LM Evaluation Harness via Nemo Evaluator SDK; unit not printed (percent scale); reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §2, Table 2) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| GLM-4.5-Base | 65.78% | base model, 5-shot, CoT EM; LM Evaluation Harness via Nemo Evaluator SDK; unit not printed (percent scale); reported by NVIDIA in the Nemotron 3 Ultra technical report (run by NVIDIA) (card §2, Table 2) | 2026-06-09 | Nemotron 3 Ultra Technical Report (NVIDIA, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V3.2-Base | 65.5% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3 Table 1) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (base) | 73.5% | 5-shot, exact match; developer-reported | 2026-04 | (Source: huggingface.co) |
| Kimi-K2-Base | 69.17% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; developer-reported (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-Base | 60.59% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Llama 4 Maverick Base | 63.47% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5-72B-Base | 62.80% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-32B (base) | 65.54% | developer-reported; shot count not stated in the summary consulted | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5-72B Base | 58.07% | base model, 5-shot, CoT; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3 technical report (run by the Qwen team under the same evaluation pipeline) (card §3.3, Table 3) | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5-Plus Base | 63.52% | base model, 5-shot, CoT; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3 technical report (run by the Qwen team under the same evaluation pipeline) (card §3.3, Table 3) | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| Llama 4 Maverick Base | 63.91% | base model, 5-shot, CoT; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3 technical report (run by the Qwen team under the same evaluation pipeline) (card §3.3, Table 3) | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3 Base | 59.84% | base model, 5-shot, CoT; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3 technical report (run by the Qwen team under the same evaluation pipeline) (card §3.3, Table 3) | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B-Base | 68.18% | base model, 5-shot, CoT; developer-reported (card §3.3, Table 3) | 2025-05-14 | Qwen3 Technical Report |
| Llama 4 Maverick (pretrained) | 62.9% | 5-shot, macro average exact match; developer-reported | 2025-04-05 | (Source: github.com) |
| Gemma 2 2B PT | 22.2% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 9B PT | 43.7% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 27B PT | 49.4% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 4B PT | 29.2% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 12B PT | 45.3% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 27B PT | 52.2% | MMLU-Pro, 5-shot, chain-of-thought, accuracy; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 10) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Llama 3 70B (base) | 52.8% | base model, 5-shot; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team) (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Mixtral 8x22B (base) | 51.6% | base model, 5-shot; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team) (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Llama 3 405B (base) | 61.6% | base model, 5-shot; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team) (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2-72B (base) | 55.7% | base model, 5-shot; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen2.5 technical report (evaluated by the Qwen team) (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-72B (base) | 58.1% | base model, 5-shot; developer-reported (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| Qwen2.5-Plus (base) | 64.0% | base model, 5-shot; developer-reported (card §5.1, Table 2) | 2025-01-03 | Qwen2.5 Technical Report (Qwen Team, December 2024) |
| DeepSeek-V2 Base | 51.4% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, run in DeepSeek's internal framework (card §4.4 Table 3) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5 72B Base | 58.3% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, run in DeepSeek's internal framework (card §4.4 Table 3) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| LLaMA-3.1 405B Base | 52.8% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, run in DeepSeek's internal framework (card §4.4 Table 3) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-Base | 64.4% | base model; 5-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all models; developer-reported (card §4.4 Table 3) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3 (base) | 64.4% | 5-shot, exact match; developer-reported | 2024-12 | (Source: arxiv.org) |
MMLU Pro — 0-shot CoT
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 78.0% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (original, June 2024) | 75.1% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3 Opus | 67.9% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3 Sonnet | 54.9% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro (September 2024 release) | 75.8% | 0-shot CoT; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3.5 model-card addendum, quoted from Google, September 2024 Gemini release [13] (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Llama 3.1 405B | 73.3% | 0-shot CoT; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3.5 model-card addendum, quoted from Meta [20] (card §2.5, Table 7) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Haiku | 65.0% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 8) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3 Haiku | 49.0% | 0-shot CoT; developer-reported (card §2.5, Table 8) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Gemini 1.5 Flash (September 2024 release) | 67.3% | 0-shot CoT; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3.5 model-card addendum, quoted from Google, September 2024 Gemini release [13] (card §2.5, Table 8) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
MMLU-Pro — 5-shot, CoT
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Llama 3 8B | 48.3 | developer-reported (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Mistral 7B | 36.9 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Llama 3 70B | 66.4 | developer-reported (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Mixtral 8×22B | 56.3 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| GPT-3.5 Turbo | 49.2 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Llama 3 405B | 73.3 | developer-reported (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Nemotron 4 340B | 62.7 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| GPT-4 (0125) | 64.8 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| GPT-4o | 74.0 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet | 77.0 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 2 (§1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
MMLU-Pro — Pre-trained
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Llama 3.1 70B | 53.8 | 5-shot, macro_avg/em, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Pre-trained models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 3.1 405B | 61.6 | 5-shot, macro_avg/em, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Pre-trained models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 4 Scout | 58.2 | 5-shot, macro_avg/em, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Pre-trained models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 4 Maverick | 62.9 | 5-shot, macro_avg/em, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Pre-trained models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 3 8B | 37.1 | developer-reported (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Mistral 7B | 32.5 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Gemma 7B | 35.1 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Llama 3 70B | 53.8 | developer-reported (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Mixtral 8×22B | 51.5 | reported by Meta in the Llama 3 paper (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
| Llama 3 405B | 61.6 | developer-reported (card §Table 13 (§5.1.1)) | 2024-07-31 | The Llama 3 Herd of Models (Meta, July 2024) |
MMLU Pro — Instruction tuned
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Llama 3.3 70B | 68.9 | 0-shot, macro_avg/acc, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 3.1 405B | 73.4 | 0-shot, macro_avg/acc, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 4 Scout | 74.3 | 0-shot, macro_avg/acc, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
| Llama 4 Maverick | 80.5 | 0-shot, macro_avg/acc, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models) | 2025-04-05 | Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025) |
Interpreting scores
Chance performance is about 10%, against 25% on MMLU, so a given score reflects less guessing (Source: huggingface.co). The authors found scores less sensitive to prompt wording than MMLU's: across 24 prompt styles the spread was generally around 2%, with a maximum of 3.74%, against 4–5% and a maximum of 10.98% on MMLU MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024). Scores are highly sensitive, however, to whether the model reasons before answering: GPT-4o scored 72.6% with chain-of-thought and 53.5% answering directly, and DeepSeek reports 87.5% for V4-Pro at its maximum thinking setting against 82.9% with thinking off (Source: MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024); huggingface.co). Base-model scores in the 60s and 70s and reasoning-model scores near 90 are therefore measurements under different conditions and are kept in separate tracks above.
Performance differs by subject. In the paper's results, GPT-4o scored 79.2% on psychology and 76.1% on mathematics but 55.0% on engineering and 51.0% on law, and the authors' analysis of GPT-4o's errors attributed 39% to reasoning errors, 35% to missing domain knowledge and 12% to calculation errors MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024).
Because most leaderboard entries for frontier models are self-reported overall scores, differences of a point or two between them reflect each developer's prompt, sampling and reasoning settings as well as the model (Source: huggingface.co). Third-party leaderboards have also treated developer figures with caution: independent reproductions of Meta's reported Llama 4 numbers on MMLU-Pro and other benchmarks came in below the company's figures (Llama 4 (Meta)).
Limitations and criticism
The authors name two limitations: the multiple-choice format "may not capture the depth of comprehension and creative response generation as effectively as open-ended answers," and the benchmark is text-only MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024).
Machine-written options and residual errors
Six of every ten options were written by GPT-4-Turbo and screened by Gemini-1.5-Pro before human review, and the review statistics above show how many faulty items the pipeline produced before filtering. Errors have continued to surface after release, including the Health-category issues the maintainers documented in October 2025 (Source: MMLU-Pro: A More Robust and Challenging Multi-Task Language Understanding Benchmark (Wang et al., 2024); huggingface.co).
Answer leakage through formatting
In January 2026 users found that in some chemistry, physics and other STEM items the correct option began with a space character that the wrong options lacked. The newsletter The Kaitchup, following a post by Eric W. Tramel, reproduced the flaw and argued that "if it's visible to humans, it's visible to LLMs during evaluation, too." The maintainers fixed the dataset on January 18, 2026, acknowledging that the inconsistency "could have been exploited as a shortcut" (Source: kaitchup.substack.com; huggingface.co). Scores computed before and after the fix are not strictly comparable.
Narrowing headroom
The MMLU-Pro+ authors wrote within three months of release that existing benchmarks "increasingly struggle to differentiate between top-performing models" (Source: arxiv.org). With leading models at 87–91% on the maintainers' leaderboard, Artificial Analysis dropped the benchmark from its composite index in version 4.0 (Source: huggingface.co; artificialanalysis.ai). Several 2026 frontier launch tables, including OpenAI's for GPT-5.5 and GPT-5.6, do not report it (Source: openai.com; openai.com).
Contamination
The test set is public, and half of it descends from MMLU, whose test items the study by Deng and colleagues found commercial models could partly reproduce (see MMLU).
Use in policy and safety frameworks
MMLU-Pro is a general capability measure and does not figure in frontier safety thresholds. Its policy-relevant use is as a common yardstick in comparisons of open-weight and Chinese models with US frontier models: Chinese developers including DeepSeek, Z.ai and Moonshot AI report it routinely, and forecasts about whether Chinese or open-weight models will overtake US closed models have been written with MMLU-Pro as one of the resolving benchmarks (US-China AI Competition: Different Races, Different Metrics; Reflection AI). Thomson Reuters used an average of GPQA Diamond, Humanity's Last Exam and MMLU-Pro as the "Reasoning" row when benchmarking its legal-domain model against general models (Thomson Reuters Built Its Own AI Model That Now Ranks Among the World's Best). OpenAI's chain-of-thought controllability evaluation, reported in its GPT-6 Astra system card, draws tasks from it (Reasoning models struggle to control their chains of thought, and that's good (OpenAI, March 2026)).
Relationships
- depends-on: MMLU — source of about half the questions and the benchmark it was built to succeed.
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- related: GPQA, Humanity's Last Exam — harder closed-ended knowledge benchmarks reported alongside it.
- related: Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index — composite index that included MMLU-Pro until version 4.0.
- related: Hugging Face — hosts the dataset and leaderboard and used the benchmark in its Open LLM Leaderboard.