PaperBench is a benchmark from OpenAI that asks an AI agent to replicate a published machine-learning paper without access to the authors' code. The agent is given the paper, builds a codebase, runs the experiments and must reproduce the paper's empirical results; its submission is graded against a detailed rubric written with one of the paper's authors. The benchmark covers 20 Spotlight and Oral papers from the 2024 International Conference on Machine Learning (ICML) and was released on April 2, 2025 with a paper by Giulio Starace, Oliver Jaffe, Dane Sherburn and colleagues (Source: PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025); Source: openai.com). The best agent in the paper scored 21.0%, and ML PhDs given 48 hours reached 41.4% on a three-paper subset.
What it measures
The authors present replication as a proxy for the ability to do machine-learning research: "a model capable of high performance on PaperBench would have a non-trivial capacity to tackle real-world, open-ended ML research tasks." They distinguish the task from earlier work. CORE-Bench asks agents to reproduce results from an existing repository, whereas PaperBench requires building everything from scratch; Kaggle-based benchmarks such as MLE-bench contain "dated and relatively simple ML challenges"; and RE-Bench gives agents a scoring function, which PaperBench's authors say "cannot viably capture the full scope of tasks" in connecting many parts of a research project PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025).
Design
Papers and rubrics
The 20 papers were chosen from all ICML 2024 Spotlight and Oral papers and screened for suitability. They span topics including deep reinforcement learning, robustness, probabilistic methods and large language models; examples are "A Mechanistic Understanding of Alignment Algorithms: A Case Study on DPO and Toxicity" and "Challenges in Training PINNs: A Loss Landscape Perspective." Two NeurIPS 2024 workshop papers form a development set, and OpenAI keeps a further held-out set for internal use.
Each paper has a rubric, a tree that breaks "the core contributions of the paper have been reproduced" into progressively finer requirements until each leaf is something an expert could check in under 15 minutes. One leaf, for example, reads "gpt2-xl has been finetuned on the dataset, using the hyperparameters in Section B.1." Across the 20 papers there are 8,316 leaves, from 94 nodes for the smallest rubric to 2,551 for the largest. Every node carries a weight reflecting its importance relative to its siblings. Each rubric "was written in collaboration with one of the original authors of each paper, and took multiple weeks per paper," and the authors call rubric writing the most time-intensive part of the project. An addendum per paper records the original authors' clarifications and what is out of scope PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025).
Leaves are of three types. Code Development leaves ask whether the source code appears to implement something correctly. Execution leaves ask whether a particular step ran when the submission was executed. Result Match leaves ask whether the executed submission shows a specific result from the paper, for instance that removing one term from a forecasting method "reduces the average F1-score for all model, dataset and fine-tuning setups."
Task, reproduction and rules
The agent sees the paper and addendum but not the rubric. Its submission is a repository with a reproduce.sh script at the root. After the attempt ends, the submission is copied to a fresh virtual machine with an A10 GPU and the script is run, so that results are regenerated rather than hard-coded during the attempt; grading is done on this executed copy. Agents may browse the internet but may not use sites on a per-paper blacklist, which includes the authors' own repository and any online replications. OpenAI checked logs for blacklisted URLs and disqualified 10 of the 646 runs behind its results. Runtime and compute are otherwise unrestricted, and the authors ask that setups be reported.
Scoring and the LLM judge
Each leaf is graded pass or fail, a parent's score is the weighted average of its children, and the root value is the paper's Replication Score; 100% would mean every requirement was met. The benchmark score is the mean over papers.
Because expert grading "took on the order of tens of hours per paper," grading is automated. The authors' SimpleJudge prompts a model with the paper, the rubric, one leaf's requirement and the ten most relevant files of the submission, and asks whether the requirement is satisfied. To test judges they built JudgeEval, a set of partial replications of five papers graded leaf by leaf by humans. With o3-mini at high reasoning effort as the backend, SimpleJudge reached an F1 score of 0.83 against the human labels at about $66 per paper; o1 reached 0.84 at about $830, GPT-4o 0.73, and a random baseline 0.49. The o3-mini judge is the one used for the paper's results PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025).
Human baseline
OpenAI recruited eight participants who held or were pursuing a machine-learning PhD, from universities including Berkeley, Cambridge, Carnegie Mellon and Cornell, screened by CV and a technical test. They attempted four papers, three people per paper, working part-time over up to four weeks with an A10 GPU and free use of AI assistants, subject to the same blacklist. Only the best of the three after the first week continued. On the three papers with full-length attempts, the best-of-three human score after 48 hours of tracked work was 41.4%, against 26.6% for o1 on the same papers. The o1 agent led during the first hours and then plateaued, while human scores rose slowly at first and passed the agent after about 24 hours, a pattern the authors note matches RE-Bench.
Cost
The authors estimate $400 in API credits for one 12-hour o1 attempt on one paper, or $8,000 for a full pass, plus $66 per paper for grading.
Versions and variants
- PaperBench Code-Dev drops the reproduction step and grades only Code Development leaves, removing the need for GPUs and cutting grading cost to about $10 per paper. o1 scored 43.4% on it. The authors describe it as "a more accessible, but less robust" measure whose scores are only "weakly correlated" with the full benchmark (Pearson r of 0.48 for o1).
- OpenAI's 10-paper subset. From the GPT-5 system card onward OpenAI reports "a 10-paper subset of the original PaperBench splits, where each paper requires <10GB of external data files," at pass@1 (a single attempt per paper) with high reasoning effort and no browsing (GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)).
- An experimental pruned-rubric judge released with the paper is reported to cut grading cost about tenfold.
Replica, introduced in August 2026 by the London laboratory Inherent, is a separate replication task space rather than a PaperBench variant. It has 310 tasks (242 training, 68 test) drawn from 100 machine-learning and AI-for-science papers; each task asks the agent to reproduce one results figure that has been redacted from the paper, under a 60-minute single-GPU budget. Rubrics are generated automatically by Claude Opus 4.7 rather than written with authors, and a Codex GPT-5.5 judge scores five dimensions including scientific integrity. Inherent reports that two draws of its rubric judge agree with each other at a Kendall's τ of 0.66 but with human raters at only 0.19, and that its 27-billion-parameter Faraday agent outperformed Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-5.5 on 60% of held-out tasks. Neither the task space nor the model weights had been released as of mid-August 2026 (Training AI Scientists to Replicate Research).
Development and maintainers
The thirteen authors were at OpenAI, several of them also authors of MLE-bench; Tejal Patwardhan is the last author. The paper was presented at ICML 2025 (Source: icml.cc). Code, rubrics and the judge are open source in OpenAI's preparedness repository (Source: openai.com). There is no public leaderboard; published results come from the paper, OpenAI's system cards and developers' own announcements.
Results
In the paper's main setup, a basic tool-use loop (BasicAgent) with a 12-hour limit and three runs per paper, Claude 3.5 Sonnet scored 21.0%, o1 13.2%, and DeepSeek-R1, GPT-4o, Gemini 2.0 Flash and o3-mini all under 10%. The authors observed that every model except Claude 3.5 Sonnet often stopped early, and that "all agents failed to strategize about how best to replicate the paper given the limited time available." A variant scaffold that cannot end early and prompts piecemeal work (IterativeAgent) lifted o1 to 24.4%, and to 26.0% with 36 hours, while lowering Claude 3.5 Sonnet to 16.1% PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025).
OpenAI's April 2025 system card for o3 and o4-mini reported 24% for o4-mini, "just one percentage point higher than OpenAI o1", and 18% for o3; the o1 figure of 23% follows from that sentence, while the card's chart labels read 25% for o4-mini and 24% for o1 (OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)). Later cards moved to the 10-paper subset and give results in charts: the GPT-5 card states that gpt-5-thinking was the highest-scoring model (GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)), and the GPT-5.2 update that gpt-5.2-thinking scored one percentage point below gpt-5.1-codex-max, the highest scorer (Update to GPT-5 System Card: GPT-5.2 (OpenAI, December 2025)). In August 2026 Alibaba's published benchmark table gave Qwen3.8-Max 93 on PaperBench, the highest in its comparison with Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Fable 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol; The Decoder noted that the figures came from internal runs and that independent verification was pending (Source: the-decoder.com).
Full benchmark (20 papers)
Average Replication Score over all 20 papers, graded by the o3-mini SimpleJudge unless noted.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| o4-mini (launch candidate) | 24% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; scaffold not stated and no subset mentioned; developer-reported | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o1 | 23% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; not printed as a number — derived from the card's statement that o4-mini's 24% is "one percentage point higher than OpenAI o1"; the card's chart labels read o1 24%, o4-mini 25%; developer-reported | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o3 (launch candidate) | 18% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; scaffold not stated and no subset mentioned; developer-reported | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o4-mini (no browsing, launch candidate) | 24% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; no subset mentioned; developer-reported (card §4.4.5 (text)) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o3 (no browsing, launch candidate) | 18% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; no subset mentioned; developer-reported (card §4.4.5 (text)) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| GPT-4o | 4% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card on the OpenAI Deployment Safety Hub (not in the card's text); comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o3 and o4-mini system card (card §4.4.5, Figure 23) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o3-mini | 8% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card on the OpenAI Deployment Safety Hub (not in the card's text); comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o3 and o4-mini system card (card §4.4.5, Figure 23) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o1 (high) | 26.0% | IterativeAgent, 36-hour limit; ±0.3 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| o1 (high) | 24.4% | IterativeAgent, 12-hour limit; ±0.7 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (October 2024) | 21.0% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.8 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (October 2024) | 16.1% | IterativeAgent, 12-hour limit; ±0.1 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| o1 (high) | 13.2% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.3 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| o3-mini (high) | 8.5% | IterativeAgent, 12-hour limit; ±0.8 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 6.0% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.3 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| GPT-4o (2024-08-06) | 4.1% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.1 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | 3.2% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.2 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| o3-mini (high) | 2.6% | BasicAgent, 12-hour limit, 3 runs per paper; ±0.2 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
Human comparison (3-paper subset)
Replication Score on the three papers for which full-length human attempts were collected.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Human ML PhDs (best of 3 per paper) | 41.4% | after 48 hours of tracked work; A10 GPU; AI assistants allowed | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
| o1 (high) | 26.6% | IterativeAgent on the same three papers; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
Code-Dev
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 80.3% | BasicAgent, Code-Dev mode, judged by Claude Opus 4.6, average of 3 runs; run by the Qwen team; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B model card (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 88.8% | BasicAgent, Code-Dev mode, judged by Claude Opus 4.6, average of 3 runs; run by the Qwen team; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B model card (card note: "Fable5 results may involve fallbacks") (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol (max) | 90.5% | BasicAgent, Code-Dev mode, judged by Claude Opus 4.6, average of 3 runs; run by the Qwen team; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B model card (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.7-Max | 64.8% | BasicAgent, Code-Dev mode, judged by Claude Opus 4.6, average of 3 runs; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B model card (its own previous model) (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.8-Max | 93.0% | BasicAgent, Code-Dev mode, judged by Claude Opus 4.6, average of 3 runs (max 12 hours per run); developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Kimi-K2-Instruct | 27.8% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; developer-reported (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-0324 | 12.2% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B (non-thinking) | 13.2% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 43.3% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| GPT-4.1 | 29.9% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash Preview (2025-05-20) | 5.7% | Code-Dev, accuracy; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| o1 (high) | 43.4% | IterativeAgent; Code Development leaves only, no reproduction step; ±0.8 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper | 2025-04-02 | PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025) |
Variant not stated
Developer-reported figures for which the source does not say whether the full benchmark, the 10-paper subset or Code-Dev was run.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3.8-Max | 93% | given as "93" in Alibaba's benchmark table as described by The Decoder; variant, scaffold, judge and time limit not stated; developer-reported, not independently verified | 2026-08 | (Source: the-decoder.com) |
PaperBench — 10-paper subset (no browsing)
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAI o3 (no browsing) | 21% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing, 10-paper subset requiring <10GB of external data; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.5, Figure 28) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| ChatGPT agent (no browsing) | 22% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing, 10-paper subset requiring <10GB of external data; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.5, Figure 28) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking (no browsing, launch candidate) | 24% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing, 10-paper subset requiring <10GB of external data; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; developer-reported (card §6.1.3.5, Figure 28) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking-mini (no browsing, launch candidate) | 23% | pass@1, high reasoning effort, no browsing, 10-paper subset requiring <10GB of external data; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; developer-reported (card §6.1.3.5, Figure 28) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
Interpreting scores
A Replication Score is a weighted fraction of rubric requirements met, so partial credit accrues for writing plausible code even when no result is reproduced. The paper's per-type breakdown for the human baseline shows the shape of this: best-of-three humans satisfied 72.4% of Code Development requirements but 20.4% of Execution and 8.9% of Result Match requirements. A score in the twenties therefore does not mean that a fifth of a paper's findings were reproduced. The same applies more strongly to Code-Dev scores, which the authors call a "preliminary noisy indication."
Scores depend on the scaffold and time limit: o1 ranged from 13.2% to 26.0% across the paper's configurations, and the scaffold that helped o1 hurt Claude 3.5 Sonnet, which the authors read as a sign of "models' sensitivities to prompting." The authors state that they "do not believe that present results represent the upper limit of these models' capabilities." Scores also depend on the judge. The o3-mini judge agrees with human graders at an F1 of 0.83, is "not as accurate as an expert human," and is non-deterministic; the authors expect judges to improve over time, which would change scores for the same submissions. A figure reported without its variant (full, Code-Dev or 10-paper subset), scaffold and judge, as with the Qwen3.8-Max result, cannot be placed against the others.
Limitations and criticism
The authors list five limitations: the dataset has only 20 papers; the original authors' code for almost all of them is online, so models "may have internalized solutions," a risk they judged low for the models of early 2025 "given the recency of the papers" but expected to grow; rubrics are so labor-intensive that others would struggle to extend the benchmark; the LLM judge is imperfect and has not been stress-tested against adversarial submissions; and the evaluation is costly PaperBench: Evaluating AI's Ability to Replicate AI Research (Starace et al., 2025).
Work on Replica bears on the judge question. Its authors found low agreement between their rubric judge and human raters (Kendall's τ of 0.19) and wrote that "there are several tasks on which our rubric judge disagrees with humans," while also finding two human raters agreed with each other at only 0.30 (Training AI Scientists to Replicate Research). Kirgis and co-authors, in a survey table accompanying their proposal for shadow evaluations, classify PaperBench separately from verifier-scored suites such as RE-Bench and MLE-Bench, under "LLM-graded open-ended research tasks," describing it as using "author-developed hierarchical rubrics scored by an LLM judge, with a separate human baseline" (Can AI agents conduct open-ended AI research? Early evidence from two case studies (Kirgis et al., July 2026)).
Use in policy and safety frameworks
OpenAI reports PaperBench in its system cards as evidence for the AI Self-Improvement category of the Preparedness Framework (OpenAI Preparedness Framework V.2). It first appeared in the o3 and o4-mini card of April 2025, the first released under version 2 of the framework, which explained that only non-browsing models were plotted "because the tasks are based on published papers, and information about the published papers is accessible online" (OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)). It was one of three self-improvement evaluations in the gpt-oss model card's adversarial fine-tuning assessment, alongside SWE-bench Verified and OpenAI PRs (gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025)), and appeared in the GPT-5 card and the GPT-5.2 update (GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025); Update to GPT-5 System Card: GPT-5.2 (OpenAI, December 2025)). The GPT-5.5 card's self-improvement suite consisted of Monorepo-Bench, MLE-Bench, an internal research-debugging evaluation and OPQA, without PaperBench (GPT-5.5 System Card (OpenAI, April 2026)).
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- supports: Recursive Self-Improvement (RSI) — a measure of whether models can carry out ML research tasks end to end
- depends-on: OpenAI Preparedness Framework V.2 — the framework whose AI Self-Improvement category it informs
- related: MLE-bench, RE-Bench — AI R&D evaluations from which the authors distinguish it
- related: Training AI Scientists to Replicate Research, Faraday — the Replica task space and the agent trained on it
- related: Can AI agents conduct open-ended AI research? Early evidence from two case studies (Kirgis et al., July 2026), Shadow Evaluations — alternatives to fixed-score research evaluations
- related: OpenAI
See also
- METR Time Horizons
- SWE-Lancer — another OpenAI Preparedness benchmark from the same period
- Anthropic R&D Automation Index