AI Policy Wiki
Dashboard
⚲

MLE-bench

medium confidence · updated 2026-09-22

Tests whether an AI agent can do machine-learning engineering by entering 75 past Kaggle competitions offline and earning a medal against the human leaderboard. Built by OpenAI's Preparedness team (October 2024) and used in OpenAI system cards for the AI Self-Improvement category and in Meta's preparedness reporting; a public leaderboard of agent systems was closed to new submissions in April 2026.

MLE-bench is a benchmark of machine-learning engineering built by OpenAI's Preparedness team and released in October 2024. It packages 75 past Kaggle competitions as offline tasks: an agent receives the competition description and data, works for up to 24 hours, and submits predictions that are graded locally and ranked against the humans who originally competed. The headline score is the share of competitions in which the agent would have won at least a bronze medal. The paper, by Jun Shern Chan, Neil Chowdhury, Oliver Jaffe and colleagues, reported 16.9% for the best setup of the time, o1-preview in the AIDE scaffold MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024). By early 2026 agent systems on the public leaderboard exceeded 60% (Source: github.com).

What it measures

The authors selected competitions "to reflect a core set of day-to-day skills that ML engineers use in frontier labs": preparing datasets, training models, running experiments and debugging poor results. OpenAI built the benchmark "to better understand the risk of AI R&D acceleration via automated ML engineers," and the paper's ethics statement says that "a model capable of solving a large fraction of MLE-bench likely possesses the capability to execute many open-ended ML tasks" MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024). The paper states the limit of that claim as well: Kaggle competitions come with clear problem statements, clean data and a fixed metric, whereas in real AI R&D "figuring out the dataset and metrics is part of the problem."

Design

Dataset construction

Starting from the 5,673 completed competitions in the Meta Kaggle dataset, the authors excluded community competitions, manually screened the remaining 586 for relevance to modern ML engineering, and dropped those whose grading or train/test split could not be reproduced. The 75 that remained span problem types such as image classification, text classification and image-to-image tasks, and were, in OpenAI's description, "worth $1.9m in prize value" (OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)). Each was labelled by complexity, meaning how long an experienced ML engineer would need to produce a sensible solution excluding model training time: 22 low (under 2 hours), 38 medium (2–10 hours) and 15 high (over 10 hours). Seven further competitions form a development split. Where Kaggle never released the test set, the authors built a new split from the public training data, usually holding out 10%, and checked that sample submissions scored similarly on old and new sets MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024).

OpenAI's system cards give one task as an example: "Molecular Translation – predict chemical identifiers from rotated images of molecules" (OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)).

Scoring

The agent's only required output is a CSV file of predictions. Grading code re-implemented from each competition's stated metric scores the file, and the score is placed on a snapshot of the competition's private leaderboard, the one Kaggle uses for final rankings, as if the agent had entered at the time. Medals follow Kaggle's thresholds, which vary with the number of teams: bronze is the top 40% in competitions with under 250 teams, the top 100 for 250–999 teams, and the top 10% for 1,000 or more. The headline metric is the percentage of attempts earning any medal, averaged over at least three seeds (independent runs). The authors describe it as "a challenging metric, with a ceiling comparable to the achievements of the very best human Kagglers after years of cumulative effort," noting that only nine people have ever medalled in 75 different Kaggle competitions.

Rules and cheating controls

Predictions must come from a model the agent trains or runs, not from the agent's own knowledge, and the agent may not look up solutions online. A GPT-4o-based tool inspects logs for hand-written submissions, calls to outside LLM APIs and access to unauthorized resources, and the plagiarism detector Dolos compares submitted code with the 50 most popular notebooks for the competition, disqualifying matches above 60% similarity. Agents may check that a submission is validly formatted as often as they like, but the validation tool returns no score.

Standard setup and cost

The reference configuration is 24 hours per competition on a machine with 36 vCPUs, 440 GB of RAM and one 24 GB Nvidia A10 GPU. One pass over the benchmark therefore takes 1,800 GPU-hours, and o1-preview with AIDE consumed 127.5 million input tokens and 15 million output tokens per seed. The authors call the benchmark "particularly resource-intensive" and recommend the low-complexity split for users who cannot afford the full set MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024).

Contamination analysis

Because the competitions, discussion posts and winning notebooks are public, the authors tested for inflated scores in two ways. They measured GPT-4o's familiarity with each competition, defined as the mean probability its base model assigns to the tokens of the competition page and top discussion posts, and found no correlation with performance. They also rewrote all 75 descriptions to hide each competition's origin; GPT-4o with AIDE scored 8.4% on the obfuscated versions against 8.5% on the originals. They conclude that contamination effects "are minimal on our results" but "make no guarantees about future models," and record that in early experiments GPT-4's base model could reproduce rows of the Titanic competition's dataset.

Versions and variants

  • Lite. The 22 low-complexity competitions (158 GB of data against 3.3 TB for the full set), which the repository designates as the cheaper comparison split (Source: github.com).
  • OpenAI's 30-competition subset. From the GPT-5 system card onward OpenAI reports on "30 of the most interesting and diverse competitions chosen from the subset of tasks that are <50GB and <10h" (GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)). Meta's Muse Spark report uses the same 30 (Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)).
  • MLE-Bench Revised. Introduced in the GPT-5.6 preview system card: 72 problems, "retaining the highest-signal tasks from the original MLE-Bench" while "replacing saturated or low-signal tasks with new ML engineering problems released in 2025 and 2026," such as the Arc Institute's 2025 Virtual Cell Challenge. Agents get up to three leaderboard submissions that reveal test-set reward, and solutions are scored by percentile rank against a reference distribution produced with a test-time-compute harness. OpenAI describes the revised version as "closer to saturation, but also more signal-bearing, than the original" (GPT-5.6 Preview System Card (OpenAI, June 2026); GPT-6 Astra System Card (OpenAI, September 2026)). Its percentile-rank score is a different scale from the original any-medal rate.

Related work by other groups includes Meta's AIRA-dojo study of search strategies on the Lite split, which reported raising the medal rate there from 39.6% to 47.7% (Source: arxiv.org).

Development and maintainers

The paper's twelve authors were at OpenAI, among them Tejal Patwardhan, Lilian Weng and Aleksander Mądry; it was accepted as an oral presentation at ICLR 2025 (Source: openreview.net). OpenAI open-sourced the code and hosts the leaderboard in the repository's README. Entries are submitted by pull request with grading reports; source code for the agent is optional, and most 2026 entries did not provide it. Results are self-reported by the submitting team.

In February 2026 two submissions were moved to a separate table of results "not directly comparable to the main leaderboard" after reviewers on the pull requests established that the agents received a signal derived from the private test set during their runs; one submitter said its agents learned, on requesting early termination, "whether they've reached the bronze medal threshold," and a commenter responded that using the same test set for that signal and for final evaluation "is, by definition, test set leakage" (Source: github.com). On April 24, 2026 the maintainers stopped accepting leaderboard submissions "while we develop an improved process for ensuring submissions are fair and comparable" (Source: github.com).

Results

The paper's baselines, all with 24 hours per competition, were 16.9% (±1.1) for o1-preview with AIDE, 8.7% for GPT-4o with AIDE, 7.6% for Claude 3.5 Sonnet and 3.0% for Llama 3.1 405B. Scaffold choice mattered as much as model choice: GPT-4o scored 8.7% in AIDE, a tree-search scaffold built for Kaggle, against 4.4% in OpenHands and 0.8% in MLAB. Allowing more attempts roughly doubled scores, with o1-preview reaching 34.1% at pass@8 (a medal in any of eight tries), while a second GPU or removal of the GPU made no significant difference and extending the time limit to 100 hours raised GPT-4o from 8.7% to 11.8% MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024). The leaderboard restates the paper's rows under a later unified aggregation method, which is why o1-preview appears there as 17.12%.

Through 2025 the top leaderboard entry moved from 22.40% (Microsoft's R&D-Agent with o1-preview, May) to 31.60% (Meta's AIRA-dojo with o3, May), 43.56% (Baidu's Famou-Agent with Gemini 2.5 Pro, October) and 59.56% (Famou-Agent 2.0, December). The highest entry accepted before submissions closed was 64.44%, by Famou-Agent 2.0 with Gemini 3 Pro Preview in February 2026 (Source: github.com). The leaderboard's entries are agent systems built for the benchmark, several of them using more than one model. In OpenAI's and Meta's own safety evaluations, which use simpler scaffolds on the 30-competition subset, scores have been much lower: 9% for ChatGPT agent in August 2025 and between 15.8% and 52.0% for four frontier models measured by Meta in May 2026.

All 75 competitions

Any-medal rate on the full benchmark, from the public leaderboard: mean of at least three seeds, 24 hours per competition on the reference hardware unless noted. The Model column names the language model; the agent system that ran it is in the Setting cell. All entries are self-reported by the submitting team, with grading reports published in the repository.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Claude Opus 4.663.11%AIBuildAI agent; ±0.44 SEM; agent source code not published2026-03-06(Source: github.com)
Gemini 3 Pro Preview64.44%Famou-Agent 2.0 (Baidu); ±1.18 SEM; agent source code not published2026-02-23(Source: github.com)
Gemini 3 Pro Preview62.67%MARS+ (Google Cloud AI Research); ±0.77 SEM; agent source code not published2026-02-17(Source: github.com)
Gemini 3 Pro Preview61.33%MLEvolve agent; 12-hour runs; ±1.33 SEM; open-source agent2026-02-14(Source: github.com)
Gemini 2.5 Pro59.56%Famou-Agent 2.0 (Baidu); ±0.89 SEM2025-12-27(Source: github.com)
DeepSeek-V3.2-Speciale56.44%ML-Master 2.0 agent; ±2.47 SEM2025-12-16(Source: github.com)
GPT-5-Codex48.44%Thesis agent; ±3.64 SEM2025-11-10(Source: github.com)
Gemini 2.5 Pro43.56%Famou-Agent (Baidu); ±0.89 SEM2025-10-10(Source: github.com)
GPT-539.56%Operand ensemble; GPT-5 at low verbosity and effort "with some light assistance" from Gemini 2.5 Pro, Grok 4 and Claude Opus 4.1; ±0.44 SEM, incomplete seeds padded with failing scores2025-10-06(Source: github.com)
GPT-535.11%R&D-Agent (Microsoft); 12-hour runs; ±0.44 SEM; open-source agent2025-09-26(Source: github.com)
DeepSeek-R136.44%InternAgent; 12-hour runs; ±1.18 SEM2025-09-12(Source: github.com)
DeepSeek-R129.33%ML-Master agent; 12-hour runs; ±0.77 SEM; open-source agent2025-06-17(Source: github.com)
o331.60%AIRA-dojo (Meta); ±0.82 SEM; open-source agent2025-05-15(Source: github.com)
o1-preview22.40%R&D-Agent (Microsoft); ±0.50 SEM; open-source agent2025-05-14(Source: github.com)
GPT-4o8%bronze pass@1: share of 75 Kaggle competitions in which the agent earns at least a bronze medal, 24-hour budget; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1-preview16%bronze pass@1: share of 75 Kaggle competitions in which the agent earns at least a bronze medal, 24-hour budget; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1 (pre-mitigation)15%bronze pass@1: share of 75 Kaggle competitions in which the agent earns at least a bronze medal, 24-hour budget; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1 (post-mitigation)14%bronze pass@1: share of 75 Kaggle competitions in which the agent earns at least a bronze medal, 24-hour budget; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
GPT-4o18%bronze pass@10: at least a bronze medal in any of 10 attempts; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); the o1-preview value of 37% is also stated in the text; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1-preview37%bronze pass@10: at least a bronze medal in any of 10 attempts; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); the o1-preview value of 37% is also stated in the text; developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1 (pre-mitigation)27%bronze pass@10: at least a bronze medal in any of 10 attempts; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); the o1-preview value of 37% is also stated in the text; developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1 (post-mitigation)24%bronze pass@10: at least a bronze medal in any of 10 attempts; value read from the data label in the card's chart (rendered from the published PDF; not in the card's text); the o1-preview value of 37% is also stated in the text; developer-reported (card §5.8.4)2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)
o1-preview17.12%AIDE scaffold; ±0.61 SEM; 16 seeds; run by OpenAI for the paper (reported there as 16.9 ± 1.1)2024-10-08(Source: github.com)
GPT-4o (2024-08-06)8.63%AIDE scaffold; ±0.54 SEM; 36 seeds; run by OpenAI for the paper2024-10-08(Source: github.com)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet (June 2024)7.56%AIDE scaffold; ±1.60 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper2024-10-08(Source: github.com)
GPT-4o (2024-08-06)4.89%OpenHands scaffold; ±0.44 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper2024-10-08(Source: github.com)
Llama 3.1 405B Instruct3.33%AIDE scaffold; ±0.38 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper2024-10-08(Source: github.com)
GPT-4o (2024-08-06)1.60%MLAB scaffold; ±0.27 SEM; run by OpenAI for the paper2024-10-08(Source: github.com)

30-competition subset

Any-medal (bronze or better) rate on the 30 competitions OpenAI selected for its system cards. Meta's rows used a ReAct scaffold with shell and ML-specific tools on one H100 GPU for up to 24 hours per task.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Claude Opus 4.652.0%±1.2 SE over 10 seeds; measured by Meta, which flags possible data leakage from recalled winning solutions2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
Gemini 3.1 Pro40.7%±1.2 SE over 10 seeds; measured by Meta, which flags possible data leakage from recalled winning solutions2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
GPT-5.423.33%OpenAI's system-card figure as restated by Meta; the GPT-5.4 card itself describes the 30-competition subset and gives its result only in a chart (Figure 16), so the number is available from Meta's restatement alone; scaffold not stated2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
GPT-5.418.6%±1.6 SE over 7 seeds; measured by Meta, which attributes the gap from OpenAI's figure to scaffold differences2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
Muse Spark15.8%±2.5 SE over 4 seeds; developer-reported; given as 15.83% in the report's text2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
ChatGPT agent9%highest of the models in the GPT-5 system card; pass@1 or pass@n not stated in the text; developer-reported2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
OpenAI o3 (no browsing)6%bronze pass@1, 30 competitions under 50GB and 10h, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity (the ChatGPT agent value of 9% is also stated in the text); comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.3, Figure 26)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
ChatGPT agent (no browsing)9%bronze pass@1, 30 competitions under 50GB and 10h, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity (the ChatGPT agent value of 9% is also stated in the text); comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.3, Figure 26)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
gpt-5-thinking (no browsing, launch candidate)8%bronze pass@1, 30 competitions under 50GB and 10h, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity (the ChatGPT agent value of 9% is also stated in the text); developer-reported (card §6.1.3.3, Figure 26)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
gpt-5-thinking-mini (no browsing, launch candidate)3%bronze pass@1, 30 competitions under 50GB and 10h, no browsing; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity (the ChatGPT agent value of 9% is also stated in the text); developer-reported (card §6.1.3.3, Figure 26)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)

Earlier OpenAI system cards

Bronze-or-better rate as reported in OpenAI system cards before the 30-competition subset was described. The o1 card states that the dataset is the 75 competitions; the GPT-4.5 card likewise states "Our dataset consists of 75 hand-curated Kaggle competitions" and gives the outcome variable as "bronze pass@1 or pass@n" without saying which its figure is (OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)).

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
GPT-4.5 (post-mitigation)11%AIDE agent; o1, o3-mini and deep research reported at the same 11% (deep research in an internal scaffold); developer-reported2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
o111%75 hand-curated Kaggle competitions; share of competitions with at least a bronze medal (outcome variable given as "bronze pass@1 or pass@n"); 24 hours per attempt; AIDE agent; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-4.5 System Card (card §4.6.4)2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
o3-mini11%75 hand-curated Kaggle competitions; share of competitions with at least a bronze medal (outcome variable given as "bronze pass@1 or pass@n"); 24 hours per attempt; AIDE agent; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-4.5 System Card (card §4.6.4)2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
OpenAI deep research11%75 hand-curated Kaggle competitions; share of competitions with at least a bronze medal (outcome variable given as "bronze pass@1 or pass@n"); 24 hours per attempt; internal tool scaffold for iterative file editing and debugging; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-4.5 System Card (card §4.6.4)2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
o1-preview (post-mitigation)37%pass@10 (a bronze medal in any of 10 attempts); 75 competitions; developer-reported2024-12-05OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)

MLE-Bench — Any medal rate, 30-task subset

Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Muse Spark15.8%±2.5; 4 seeds (infra issues); OpenAI's 30 most interesting/diverse competitions (<50GB, <10h); ReAct scaffold, H100 80GB, 224GB RAM, up to 24h per task (model averaged 3.95h); developer-reported (card §Table 11 (§2.3.1.1))2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
GPT-5.418.6%±1.6; 7 seeds; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report; Meta notes OpenAI's own system card reports 23.33% for GPT-5.4 and attributes the gap to scaffold differences (card §Table 11 (§2.3.1.1))2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
Claude Opus 4.652.0%±1.2; 10 seeds; Meta flags possible data leakage from recalled winning solutions; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 11 (§2.3.1.1))2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)
Gemini 3.1 Pro40.7%±1.2; 10 seeds; Meta flags possible data leakage; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 11 (§2.3.1.1))2026-05-26Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)

Interpreting scores

A score is the share of competitions medalled, not a percentile among Kagglers. The paper notes that o1-preview averaged 7 gold medals on the benchmark while Kaggle's Grandmaster title requires 5, and then lists why the comparison is loose: not all of the chosen competitions award medals on Kaggle, the datasets and grading are slightly modified, and "agents have the advantage of using more recent technology than the participants in many cases." Human competitors, for their part, had weeks or months rather than 24 hours MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024).

Scores are highly sensitive to setup. The same model, GPT-4o, ranged from 0.8% to 8.7% across three scaffolds in the paper. Meta measured GPT-5.4 at 18.6% where OpenAI had reported 23.33% and wrote that "we believe this can be attributed to scaffold differences." Meta also observed that Muse Spark "struggles to use the full 24 hours, finalizing submissions early (averaging only 3.95 hours per task)" (Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)). Leaderboard entries from agent builders and system-card entries from model developers therefore answer different questions: the first show what an engineered system can reach, the second what a model does in a plain harness. The number of attempts matters as much, since pass@6 and pass@8 scores in the paper were about double pass@1.

Limitations and criticism

The authors identify four limitations: possible contamination from public Kaggle material, which their GPT-4o experiments did not detect but which they do not rule out for later models; narrow coverage of AI R&D, since the tasks are well specified; imperfect comparability with the human leaderboards because of rebuilt splits and re-implemented grading, along with the possibility that "algorithmic progress may result in older competitions being easier"; and cost MLE-bench: Evaluating Machine Learning Agents on Machine Learning Engineering (Chan et al., 2024).

Later users have reported signs of the first. Meta's May 2026 report states that, "from manual trace inspection, Claude Opus 4.6 and Gemini 3.1 Pro seem to recall winning solutions in some of their competition trajectories, suggesting potential data leakage," and adds more generally that "current benchmarks may soon reach saturation" (Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)). OpenAI's replacement of "saturated or low-signal tasks" in MLE-Bench Revised is the maintainers' own statement on the original task set (GPT-5.6 Preview System Card (OpenAI, June 2026)). On the leaderboard, the February 2026 review of one submission raised test-set feedback, a physically implausible zero-error score on a GPS-positioning competition, and the use of external data to map test labels in the dog-breed-identification competition. One of the paper's authors, commenting in a personal capacity after leaving OpenAI, wrote that "we have accepted that the current benchmark is imperfect and partially exploitable in its current form," that a planned batch of fixes and a fresh leaderboard had not been released, and that earlier submissions "may themselves have been also leveraging the same exploits" (Source: github.com). The maintainers paused submissions two months later.

Kirgis and co-authors place MLE-Bench among verifier-scored evaluations that are "objective, repeatable, and cheap to scale" but confined "to tasks where success can be measured as a single number" (Can AI agents conduct open-ended AI research? Early evidence from two case studies (Kirgis et al., July 2026); Verification Asymmetry). The AIDE developers had claimed their scaffold beat more than half of human competitors on Kaggle data-science tasks; the MLE-bench authors found contemporary models exceeded the median only about 10% of the time on their selection and took that as evidence that their competitions are harder.

Use in policy and safety frameworks

OpenAI has reported MLE-bench in its system cards since the o1 card of December 2024, under the Model Autonomy category of the first Preparedness Framework and then under AI Self-Improvement in version 2 (OpenAI Preparedness Framework V.2). The o1 card states: "We use MLE-bench to benchmark our progress towards model self-improvement, in addition to general agentic capabilities" (OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024)). The GPT-4.5 card reported 11% (OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)); the GPT-5 card placed it beside OpenAI PRs, SWE-Lancer, PaperBench and OPQA (GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025); Update to GPT-5 System Card: GPT-5.2 (OpenAI, December 2025)); the GPT-5.4 Thinking card ran 30 competitions chosen from those under 50 GB and 10 hours, counted at least a bronze medal as success, stated that GPT-5.4 Thinking "performs significantly better than comparison models," gave the scores only in a chart, and reported no GPT-5.3-Codex score because of infrastructure issues (GPT-5.4 Thinking System Card); and the GPT-5.5 card used a four-evaluation suite of Monorepo-Bench, MLE-Bench, an internal research-debugging evaluation and OPQA to conclude that the model had not crossed the High threshold, reporting that GPT-5.5 outperformed GPT-5.4 Thinking on MLE-Bench (GPT-5.5 System Card (OpenAI, April 2026)). The GPT-5.6 preview and Astra cards substitute MLE-Bench Revised.

Meta has published a numeric threshold tied to the benchmark. Its Muse Spark Safety and Preparedness Report treats an any-medal rate of 60% on the 30-competition subset as the level "indicative of necessary engineering capability to automate other key aspects of AI R&D workflows," and found Muse Spark, at 15.83%, below it (Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026)). Claude Opus 4.6, at 52.0% in Meta's own harness, came closest among the comparison models.

METR adopted the AIDE scaffold from MLE-bench for its RE-Bench experiments and followed MLE-bench in limiting agents by wall-clock time rather than tokens RE-Bench: Evaluating frontier AI R&D capabilities of language model agents against human experts (Wijk et al., 2024).

Relationships

See also