MCP Atlas (also written MCP-Atlas) is a tool-use benchmark from Scale AI. Each task is a single natural-language request that can only be answered by calling several tools, such as a search engine, a database, a file system or a financial-data service, through the Model Context Protocol (MCP), the interface standard by which language models discover and invoke external tools. Scale announced the benchmark and a leaderboard on September 19, 2025, published the evaluation harness on GitHub in December 2025, released a 500-task public subset, and posted the paper to arXiv in January 2026 (Source: scale.com; Source: github.com; Source: MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026)). The best model at launch passed 44.5% of tasks; as of September 2026 the leaderboard's top entry passes 88.1% (Source: labs.scale.com).
What it measures
Scale describes the target as tool-use competency in realistic multi-step workflows: discovering the right tools in a menu that contains plausible wrong ones, calling them with correctly typed parameters, recovering from errors, coordinating across servers, and combining the outputs into an accurate answer. The paper positions the benchmark against earlier tool-use evaluations that it says relied on small tool sets, mock servers, simple workflows or holistic judging of response quality. It frames the gap being measured as one between models that reason and converse well and models that can use tools reliably from end to end (Source: MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026); Source: labs.scale.com).
Design
Tasks and environment
The benchmark has 1,000 human-written tasks over 36 MCP servers exposing 220 tools. The servers are real implementations, not mocks, and run in Docker containers with sandboxed file systems and an allow-list for network access. Scale groups them into five buckets: basic (web search, fetch, maps, weather, calculator), analytics (MongoDB, Airtable), productivity (file system, Notion, Slack, Google Workspace, arXiv, PubMed), financial (Twelve Data, Alchemy) and coding (git, GitHub, code execution, command line). Stateful services are seeded with fixed datasets so that answers do not change over time. Tasks are restricted to read-only operations so that live services are not altered MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
Every task has four parts. The prompt is a single conversational request written to be unanswerable from the model's own knowledge, to have one correct outcome, and to avoid naming any tool or server. The tool set exposes 10 to 25 tools, of which 3 to 7 are needed and 5 to 10 are distractors, usually drawn from the same servers as the needed ones, for example a geocoding tool offered alongside a distance-matrix tool. A reference trajectory records the minimal sequence of calls that solves the task and is used for diagnostics only. The claims list breaks the correct answer into independently checkable facts. Tasks typically need 3 to 6 tool calls; the large majority need tools from two or more servers; and about a third involve conditional logic, where a later call depends on what an earlier one returned MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
The example Scale publishes asks the model to find the abstract of a 2024 paper by a named author on the effectiveness of advertising controls, and then to report the start date and locality of the user's own advertising campaign with the highest engagement rate among those begun between 2015 and 2023. Answering requires an arXiv search tool and a query against a Notion database among the exposed tools. The five reference claims include the paper's title and abstract and the fact that three campaigns tie for the highest rate. In Scale's illustration GLM 4.5 retrieved the paper but failed to find the campaign data, earning 2 of 5 claims and failing; GPT-5 found all three tied campaigns and passed (Source: labs.scale.com).
Tasks were written by human authors who were steered toward under-represented servers as the collection grew. They passed through review by domain experts for correctness and solvability, a second review for prompts that leak tool names, automated checks by language models that the claims list is complete and consistent with the reference trajectory, and manual spot checks MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
Scoring
Only the final answer is scored. A judge model, Gemini 2.5 Pro at temperature 0, is shown the prompt, the model's answer and one claim at a time, and rates the claim as fulfilled (1), partially fulfilled (0.5) or not fulfilled (0). The average over a task's claims is its coverage. A task passes if coverage is at least 75%, and the headline pass rate is the share of tasks passed. Scale reports that varying the threshold between 65% and 85% left model rankings unchanged. In a validation study on 100 tasks, the judge agreed with the majority vote of three human annotators 78% of the time, which the authors describe as substantial alignment MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
Scale calls this a claims-based rubric and distinguishes it from asking a model to rate overall quality: the judge verifies facts that have known correct values, so verbosity and style should not matter. Because the execution path is not scored, a model may take a different route from the reference trajectory. Failed tasks are separately classified by the judge into tool usage, task understanding, response quality or logical errors; that classifier is not part of the public harness MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
Splits and contamination controls
Five hundred tasks are public on Hugging Face, along with the containerised harness on GitHub. The other 500 are held out "to preserve leaderboard integrity and reduce overfitting". Scale's leaderboard reports the pass rate on all 1,000 and, for some models, on the public 500 (Source: labs.scale.com). The paper reports no human baseline.
Versions and variants
The launch post in September 2025 described the environment as 40+ servers and 300+ tools; the paper and current leaderboard give 36 servers and 220 tools (Source: scale.com; Source: MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026)).
In April 2026 Scale changed the evaluation and re-scored every model on the leaderboard. It upgraded the scoring judge, added retries for transient tool errors, and replaced a limit of 20 conversational turns with a budget of 100 tool calls per task, saying the new budget standardises the harness across reasoning models and across models that prefer parallel or sequential tool calls. Scale states that all current leaderboard scores use the updated methodology (Source: labs.scale.com). Anthropic's system cards record the transition: the Claude Opus 4.7 card warns that earlier Opus results "are not comparable", and the Claude Opus 4.8 card restates Opus 4.7's score under the 100-call configuration. The GitHub repository has since moved to a version 2.0.0 harness written in TypeScript (Source: github.com).
Related benchmarks
Toolathlon (the Tool Decathlon), published in October 2025 by Junlong Li, Junxian He and colleagues, with code released by the HKUST NLP group, is reported next to MCP Atlas in several launch tables. It has 108 tasks over 32 applications and 604 tools, most reached through MCP servers, and starts from realistic application state such as a course-management system populated with students. Tasks average about 20 turns and are graded by dedicated scripts that, in Anthropic's description, verify the resulting artefacts and their side effects, where MCP Atlas judges a text answer. The best model in the paper, Claude Sonnet 4.5, scored 38.6% (Source: arxiv.org). Developer-reported Pass@1 figures since then include 54.6% for GPT-5.4 and 51.9% for GPT-5.3-Codex (Source: openai.com); 55.6% for GPT-5.5 and 48.8% for Gemini 3.1 Pro (Source: openai.com); 59.9% for Claude Opus 4.8, 59.3% for Opus 4.7 and 56.8% for Opus 4.6 on Anthropic's internal harness, which the card compares with 56.5% for the published leaderboard's strongest model and 52.8% for Opus 4.7 on the upstream harness (System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026)); 61.7% for Claude Mythos 5 (System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026)); and 58% for GPT-5.6 Sol (Source: openai.com). Moonshot AI reports 73.2 for Kimi K3 on a variant it labels Toolathlon-Verified (Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026)).
OSWorld-MCP, a derivative of OSWorld, adds MCP tools to desktop tasks (Source: epoch.ai).
Development and maintainers
MCP Atlas was built by Scale AI's research team, with sixteen Scale-affiliated authors on the paper, and sits among the agentic leaderboards on the company's Scale Labs site. Scale runs the models itself: each is evaluated in its default configuration with no behaviour-shaping system prompt, given only the user prompt and the task's tool set, with some models served through Fireworks AI for inference. Entries carry a 95% confidence interval and a rank defined by how many models' intervals lie wholly above the entry's (Source: labs.scale.com). Developers also run the public subset themselves and publish those numbers. Anthropic and OpenAI quote Scale's own measurements in their launch materials, and the figures Google and Meta published for Gemini 3.5 Flash and Muse Spark 1.1 equal the leaderboard values. Scale is a data-labelling and evaluations firm; Meta invested in it in June 2025, when Scale's founder Alexandr Wang became Meta's Chief AI Officer (Scale AI). Meta's Muse Spark 1.1 holds the top position on the board as read in September 2026.
Results
At the September 2025 launch Scale evaluated eleven models on the full set. GPT-5 ranked first at 44.5%, the median model, Kimi K2, scored 23.9%, and half the models fell between 8% and 38.3% (Source: scale.com). Claude Opus 4.5 reached 62.3% in November 2025 (System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)). Under the revised April 2026 methodology the same model scores 69.8%, Claude Opus 4.7 79.1% and Meta's Muse Spark 82.2%; later entries include Claude Opus 4.8 at 82.2%, Gemini 3.5 Flash at 83.6%, Claude Opus 5 at 85.8%, Claude Fable 5.1 at 87.2% and Muse Spark 1.1 at 88.1% (Source: labs.scale.com).
MCP Atlas
Pass rate on all 1,000 tasks as measured by Scale AI under the April 2026 methodology (100-tool-call budget, upgraded judge, retries). Leaderboard rows do not carry dates: models that predate the change are dated to the re-scoring, and later models to the first developer document that cites the figure or, failing that, to the date the leaderboard was read.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 87.2% | ±2.05; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 85.8% | xhigh effort, ±2.10; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com); System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B | 84.5% | xhigh effort, ±2.25; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GLM-5.3 | 84.2% | ±2.15; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Kimi K3 | 82.3% | max effort, ±2.35; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 81.8% | ±2.40; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling-Small | 79.2% | ±2.50; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 76.0% | xhigh effort, ±2.60; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GLM-5.2 | 77.8% | ±2.60; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra | 63.1% | xhigh effort, ±3.00; measured by Scale AI; leaderboard as read on 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude 4.5 Haiku | 40.2% | all tasks; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | 76.8% | all tasks; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT 5.6 Luna | 75.0% | all tasks; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra | 44.7% | task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Kimi K2.5 | 64.0% | task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 | 68.1% | task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GLM 5.2 | 77.8% | task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Pro | 73.2% | task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 76.0% | effort=0.99; task set not stated in this card (the Inkling-Small card gives Inkling 78.8% public / 76.0% all); developer-reported; as printed on the live card page captured 2026-09-19, which carries no revision date (the 2026-07-16 capture of the same card read 74.1%, recorded under Public subset (developer-run)) (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Muse Spark 1.1 | 88.1% | developer-reported by Meta; equals Scale's leaderboard value (88.10 ±1.95) | 2026-07-09 | (Source: ai.meta.com) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 83.3% | pass rate as given in Anthropic's system card; matches Scale's leaderboard (±2.25) | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 82.2% | max effort; evaluated by Scale AI, 100-tool-call budget; mean claim coverage 86.2% | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 86.2% | mean claim coverage, same run (card §8.13.4) | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash | 83.6% | developer-reported by Google; equals Scale's leaderboard value (83.60 ±2.30, high thinking) | 2026-05-19 | (Source: blog.google); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 79.1% | max effort; measured by Scale AI, cited by OpenAI as "results from Scale AI after the latest 2026 April update" | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 78.2% | high thinking; measured by Scale AI, as cited by OpenAI | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 75.3% | xhigh effort; measured by Scale AI, as cited by OpenAI (79.4% on the public 500) | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 70.6% | xhigh effort; measured by Scale AI, as cited by OpenAI | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 77.3% | pass rate; adaptive thinking at max effort; evaluated by Scale AI on the April 2026 refreshed harness (upgraded judge, retry handling); leaderboard default of 20 turns / 10-25 tools; 2nd on the public leaderboard (card §8.1, 8.10.3) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 75.8% | refreshed harness; prior-harness results not comparable; developer-reported (card §8.1, 8.10.3) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| GPT-5.4 | 68.1% | from the leaderboard; setting not stated; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.7 system card (card §8.1) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 73.9% | from the leaderboard; setting not stated; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.7 system card (card §8.1) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Muse Spark | 82.2% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard (82.4% on the public 500) | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 76.8% | max effort; measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 | 75.6% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 70.3% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 69.8% | high effort; measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 69.5% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GPT-5.2 | 67.6% | xhigh effort; measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Kimi K2.5 | 64.4% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 59.5% | thinking enabled; measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GPT-5.1 | 50.1% | high effort; measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| o3-pro | 44.5% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | 40.2% | measured by Scale AI; re-scored leaderboard | 2026-04-08 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 61.3% | max effort settings; developer-reported (card §2.1 / 2.14) | 2026-02-17 | Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 59.5% | max effort settings; reported in summary table 2.3.A to avoid cherry-picking; developer-reported (card §2.16 / 2.3) | 2026-02-15 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 62.7% | high effort settings; developer-reported (card §2.16 / 2.3) | 2026-02-15 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 54.1% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.6 System Card summary table; setting not stated (card §2.3) | 2026-02-15 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| GPT-5.2 | 60.6% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.6 System Card summary table; setting not stated (card §2.3) | 2026-02-15 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 62.3% | no extended thinking, 200k context, default sampling; developer-reported (card §2.3 / 2.12) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 43.8% | developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.3 / 2.12) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.1 | 40.9% | developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.3) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
MCP Atlas (original methodology)
Pass rate under the pre-April 2026 harness, which had a 20-turn limit. Scale-measured rows use all 1,000 tasks; developer-reported rows do not state the task set.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-5.4 | 67.2% | xhigh reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2026-03-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 69.2% | thinking high; developer-reported | 2026-02-19 | (Source: deepmind.google) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 61.3% | adaptive thinking, max effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-17 | Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 62.7% | high effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 59.5% | max effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 62.3% | no extended thinking, 200k context; mean coverage 78.5%; reported in Anthropic's card and in Scale's paper | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 54.1% | mean coverage 73.2%; measured by Scale AI (paper Table 3) | 2026-01-31 | MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 43.8% | mean coverage 62.1%; measured by Scale AI (paper Table 3) | 2026-01-31 | MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026) |
| o3 Pro | 43.6% | high effort; mean coverage 66.9%; measured by Scale AI (paper Table 3) | 2026-01-31 | MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 8.8% | mean coverage 30.7%; measured by Scale AI (paper Table 3) | 2026-01-31 | MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026) |
| GPT-4o | 7.2% | mean coverage 28.5%; measured by Scale AI (paper Table 3) | 2026-01-31 | MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026) |
| GPT-5.2 Thinking | 60.6% | maximum reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2025-12-11 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5.1 Thinking | 44.5% | high reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2025-12-11 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5 | 44.5% | 445 of 1,000 tasks; top of the launch leaderboard; measured by Scale AI | 2025-09-19 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Kimi K2 | 23.9% | median model at launch; measured by Scale AI | 2025-09-19 | (Source: scale.com) |
Public subset (developer-run)
Pass rate on the 500 public tasks, or on an unstated portion, as run by model developers in their own harnesses.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Inkling-Small | 79.6% | public task set; developer-reported (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Qwen3.5 397B-A17B | 74.2% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Minimax M2.7 | 49.4% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Flash | 69.0% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra | 47.4% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 78.8% | public task set; developer-reported (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude 4.5 Haiku | 41.2% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | 79.8% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT 5.6 Luna | 77.0% | public task set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 84.7% | effort 'max, w/ fallback'; 500-task public subset, 100-turn limit, Gemini 3.1 Pro judge; run by Moonshot; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 83.6% | effort 'max'; 500-task public subset, 100-turn limit, Gemini 3.1 Pro judge; run by Moonshot; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 83.6% | effort 'max'; 500-task public subset, 100-turn limit, Gemini 3.1 Pro judge; run by Moonshot; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 82.8% | effort 'xhigh'; 500-task public subset, 100-turn limit, Gemini 3.1 Pro judge; run by Moonshot; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GLM-5.2 | 82.6% | effort 'max'; 500-task public subset, 100-turn limit, Gemini 3.1 Pro judge; run by Moonshot; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Kimi K3 | 84.2% | max thinking; task set and judge not stated; developer-reported | 2026-07-16 | Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 74.1% | setting not stated; developer-reported; as given in the 2026-07-16 capture of the card (the live page captured 2026-09-19 reads 76.0%, recorded under MCP Atlas) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GLM-5.2 | 76.8% | public set; developer-reported | 2026-06-16 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 | 71.8% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; developer-reported (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| Qwen3.7-Max | 76.4% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| MiniMax M3 | 74.2% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro | 73.6% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 77.8% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 75.3% | think mode; 500-task public subset; 10-minute timeout per task; Gemini-3.0-Pro as judge; all models evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 73.8% | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Max'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 67.2% | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'xHigh'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 69.2% | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'High'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 Thinking | 66.6% | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 Thinking | 71.8% | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (Non-Think) | 64.0% | Pass@1; Non-Think mode; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (High) | 67.4% | Pass@1; High reasoning effort; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Max | 69.0% | Pass@1; Max reasoning effort; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (Non-Think) | 69.4% | Pass@1; Non-Think mode; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (High) | 74.2% | Pass@1; High reasoning effort; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Max | 73.6% | Pass@1; Max reasoning effort; public evaluation set of MCPAtlas; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7 and Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GLM-4.7 | 52.0% | think mode; 500-task public subset; timeout extended from 4 to 10 minutes per task; Gemini 3 Pro as judge; all models re-evaluated by Z.ai; developer-reported (card §6.1 (Table 7); B.2) | 2026-02-24 | GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V3.2 | 62.2% | think mode; 500-task public subset; timeout extended from 4 to 10 minutes per task; Gemini 3 Pro as judge; all models re-evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-5 technical report (card §6.1 (Table 7); B.2) | 2026-02-24 | GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| Kimi K2.5 | 63.8% | think mode; 500-task public subset; timeout extended from 4 to 10 minutes per task; Gemini 3 Pro as judge; all models re-evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-5 technical report (card §6.1 (Table 7); B.2) | 2026-02-24 | GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 66.6% | think mode; 500-task public subset; timeout extended from 4 to 10 minutes per task; Gemini 3 Pro as judge; all models re-evaluated by Z.ai; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-5 technical report (card §6.1 (Table 7); B.2) | 2026-02-24 | GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 54.1% | Thinking (High); public set; methodology page says results are 'sourced from Turing'; developer-reported (Google DeepMind, in the Gemini 3.1 Pro model card) (card §Evaluation – Results) | 2026-02-19 | Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 61.3% | Thinking (Max); public set; methodology page says results are 'sourced from Turing'; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 3.1 Pro model card; sourced from the provider's self-reported numbers unless the card's methodology page says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results) | 2026-02-19 | Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 59.5% | Thinking (Max); public set; methodology page says results are 'sourced from Turing'; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 3.1 Pro model card; sourced from the provider's self-reported numbers unless the card's methodology page says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results) | 2026-02-19 | Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| GPT-5.2 Thinking | 60.6% | Thinking (xhigh); public set; methodology page says results are 'sourced from Turing'; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 3.1 Pro model card; sourced from the provider's self-reported numbers unless the card's methodology page says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results) | 2026-02-19 | Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| GLM-5 | 67.8% | think mode, 500-task public subset, 10-minute timeout per task, Gemini 3 Pro as judge; developer-reported | 2026-02-11 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| GPT-5.2 | 68.0% | same Z.ai harness as GLM-5; as reported by Z.ai | 2026-02-11 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 65.2% | same Z.ai harness as GLM-5; as reported by Z.ai | 2026-02-11 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
MCP-Atlas — Extended config (256 turns / 100 tools)
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 79.5% | max effort; extended configuration run by Scale AI (card §8.10.3) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 79.7% | high effort; extended configuration run by Scale AI (card §8.10.3) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
MCP Atlas — Mean claim coverage
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 5 | 89.1% | indicates most remaining failures were partial; developer-reported (card §8.13.2) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
MCP Atlas (Public) — General agentic
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Glimmer-30B | 75.5 | high reasoning; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Gemma4-31B | 54.2 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.6-27B | 62.5 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
Interpreting scores
A pass means that a language-model judge found at least three-quarters of the reference facts, counting partial matches as half, in the model's final answer. It does not mean the answer was fully correct, and it says nothing about how efficiently the tools were used. The Claude Opus 4.8 card gives both numbers for one model, an 82.2% pass rate with 86.2% mean claim coverage, and reads the gap as showing that most remaining failures are partial (System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026)). The judge agreed with human raters on 78% of claims in Scale's validation sample MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026).
The score for a given model has moved with the harness more than with anything else. Claude Opus 4.5 is 62.3% under the original configuration and 69.8% under the current one; Claude Opus 4.6 is 59.5% (or 62.7% at a lower effort setting) and 76.8%. During the transition Anthropic's Opus 4.7 card reported Scale figures of 77.3% for Opus 4.7, 75.8% for Opus 4.6, 68.1% for GPT-5.4 and 73.9% for Gemini 3.1 Pro under the refreshed judge with the leaderboard's 20-turn, 10-to-25-tool configuration, and 79.5% for Opus 4.7 in an extended configuration with 256 turns and 100 tools; a month later the settled leaderboard values for the same four models were 79.1%, 76.8%, 70.6% and 78.2% (Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); Source: openai.com). Anthropic chose to headline the lower max-effort figure for Opus 4.6 over its better high-effort one, saying it wished to avoid cherry-picking (Claude Opus 4.6 System Card).
Developer-run numbers on the public subset differ from Scale's in task set, judge and time limits. Z.ai used Gemini 3 Pro as the judge and a ten-minute limit per task (Source: z.ai). Moonshot AI's 84.2% for Kimi K3 compares with 82.3% on Scale's board, and its table gives Claude Fable 5 at 84.7% where Scale gives 83.3% (Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026)). On Scale's own board, public-subset pass rates are mostly higher than full-set rates for the same model, by up to 4.8 points.
Scale's failure analysis indicates what low scores have meant in practice. Across models, the most common failure was calling no tools at all (36.0% of failures on average), followed by stopping after part of a multi-part request (25.8%) and supplying wrong or missing parameters to the right tool (14.2%) (Source: labs.scale.com). OpenAI used 250 public tasks with all 36 servers enabled to show that loading tool definitions on demand cut token use by 47% at equal accuracy, an application of the benchmark to cost measurement (Source: openai.com).
Limitations and criticism
The paper lists five limitations. Tasks are single-turn, so clarification, replanning and recovery over a conversation are not scored. Claim matching on free text can still be affected by how terse or verbose an answer is. Efficiency is logged but not enforced, so an agent can succeed by trying many tools. The live services behind the servers can change or rate-limit despite version pinning, a trade-off between realism and reproducibility that the authors acknowledge. And the tasks are read-only, which leaves out the state-changing actions that many real agent workflows involve MCP-Atlas: A Large-Scale Benchmark for Tool-Use Competency with Real MCP Servers (Bandi et al., 2026). Toolathlon, by contrast, grades tasks with evaluation scripts run against realistic application state (Source: arxiv.org).
The judge model, Gemini 2.5 Pro, is made by Google, whose models are among those ranked. Scale's stated safeguard is that the judge verifies discrete facts with known values and does not rate overall quality. The leaderboard page says the scoring judge was upgraded in April 2026, while its judging-protocol section continues to name Gemini 2.5 Pro. Because every model was re-scored, figures on the current board are comparable with each other but not with those published before April 2026, including the paper's (Source: labs.scale.com).
Differences among the leading entries are small relative to the reported uncertainty. On the board as read in September 2026 the top five entries span 3.9 points with confidence intervals of about ±2, and Scale's rank statistic, which counts only models whose intervals lie wholly above an entry's, assigns rank 1 to two models and rank 2 to the next ten (Source: labs.scale.com).
Use in policy and safety frameworks
MCP Atlas is reported in the capability sections of Anthropic's system cards from Claude Opus 4.5 onward, in OpenAI's launch posts from GPT-5.2 onward, and in launch materials from Google, Meta, Z.ai, Moonshot AI and Thinking Machines Lab. The Claude Opus 4.6 card groups it with Vending-Bench 2 as a measure of agentic business-task performance (Claude Opus 4.6 System Card).
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- depends-on: Model Context Protocol (MCP) — the interface the benchmark exercises
- related: Scale AI — builder, evaluator and leaderboard host
- related: Agentic AI, Agentic harnesses and capability elicitation — turn limits and tool-call budgets changed scores by up to 17 points
- related: τ-bench — tool use within a policy-bound conversation; SWE-Bench Pro, Remote Labor Index — other Scale-hosted leaderboards
- related: BrowseComp — also scored on the final answer only