SWE-Bench Pro is a software engineering benchmark built by Scale AI and released in September 2025. It uses the task format of SWE-bench, in which an agent must edit a code repository so that hidden tests pass, but draws its 1,865 tasks from repositories chosen to be less likely to appear in model training data: open-source projects under copyleft licenses and private codebases bought from startups. Tasks require larger changes, averaging 107.4 lines across 4.1 files SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025). The best model in the first release scored 23.3% on the public split; by September 2026 Anthropic reported 81.2%. OpenAI recommended the benchmark to other developers in February 2026 and retracted that recommendation in July 2026 after an audit estimated that about 30% of public tasks are broken (Source: openai.com).
What it measures
The authors describe the benchmark as capturing "realistic, complex, enterprise-level problems beyond the scope of SWE-Bench," with "long-horizon tasks that may require hours to days for a professional software engineer to complete" SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025). They motivate it with two criticisms of existing tests. The first is contamination, meaning that benchmark tasks and their solutions may already be in a model's training data: widely used repositories under permissive licenses "are prime candidates for inclusion in the large-scale web-crawled corpora used to pre-train LLMs." The second is difficulty: they count 161 of the 500 tasks in SWE-bench Verified as needing only one- or two-line changes SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025). The paper's conclusion presents the benchmark as "a contamination-resistant testbed that more faithfully captures the complexity and diversity of real-world software development."
Design
Dataset construction
Scale AI selected 41 actively maintained repositories covering consumer applications, business-to-business services and developer tools. Tasks were harvested from commit history: pairs of consecutive commits were kept when they fixed a bug or added a feature, when new tests failed before the change and passed after it, and when existing tests continued to pass. Each repository contributes between 50 and 100 tasks, with a cap of 100, which the authors say reduces "the risk of overfitting to any single repository." Edits of 1 to 10 lines were excluded, and more than 100 tasks require changes of over 100 lines SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025).
Three human-in-the-loop steps follow. Professional engineers built a Docker environment for each repository. Annotators rewrote each task into a problem statement in the style of a GitHub issue, a list of requirements grounded in the tests, and, where tests expect particular class or function names, an interface specification. Finally, reviewers checked every fail-to-pass test for relevance and dropped tests judged too broad or unrelated. The requirements and interface are an intentional difference from SWE-bench, which discards underspecified issues; the Scale leaderboard states that "instead of discarding under-specified issues, human experts refine them to add context" (Source: scale.com). In the paper's ablation, removing the added requirements and interface lowered GPT-5's resolve rate from 25.9% to 8.40% and Claude Opus 4.1's from 22.7% to 8.20%.
Task format
The paper's example task comes from Open Library, the Internet Archive's book catalogue. The problem statement explains that its BookWorm importer relies on Amazon and ISBNdb for metadata and asks for Google Books to be added as a fallback source; the accompanying requirements and interface list the expected behavior and function names SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025). Public tasks are in Python, Go, JavaScript and TypeScript.
Scoring
The metric is the resolve rate: the percentage of tasks on which the agent's patch makes the fail-to-pass tests pass without breaking the pass-to-pass tests, reported as pass@1, one attempt per task. The model does not see the tests.
Splits and contamination controls
- Public (731 tasks, 11 repositories): copyleft-licensed open-source projects, released openly on Hugging Face.
- Commercial, called "Private" on the leaderboard (276 tasks, 18 repositories): proprietary codebases obtained from startups. The code is not released; Scale publishes results.
- Held-out (858 tasks, 12 repositories): a second copyleft set kept private "to test for overfitting in the future." No results are published for it.
The authors' argument for the copyleft choice is legal rather than technical: licenses such as the GPL "create legal barriers to their inclusion in commercial training corpora." The public repositories are nevertheless public, and the paper does not test whether models have seen them. No human baseline or cost to run is reported.
Versions and variants
The arXiv paper has two versions. The first, of September 21, 2025, reported that all models scored below 25% under a unified scaffold, with GPT-5 highest at 23.3%. The second, of November 14, 2025, reports higher scores, with Claude Sonnet 4.5 highest at 43.6%; its text gives a maximum of 50 turns per task (Source: arxiv.org; Source: SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025)). The Scale leaderboard grays out entries that "were run with a capped cost limit and turn limit of 50" and states that all other entries were run "with an uncapped cost and with a turn limit of 250." Entries marked with an asterisk were run with the mini-SWE-agent scaffold rather than SWE-Agent.
Development and maintainers
The paper lists Xiang Deng and Jeff Da as co-first authors with more than twenty Scale AI co-authors, including Bing Liu and Brad Kenstler. Scale AI maintains the dataset, the evaluation code at scaleapi/SWE-bench_Pro-os, and two leaderboards on its Scale Labs site, one for the public split and one for the commercial split, on which it runs models itself. Model developers separately publish their own scores on the public split, produced with their own scaffolds; these are the numbers quoted in launch announcements and system cards.
Results
In the first release, under the SWE-Agent scaffold, GPT-5 scored 23.3% and Claude Opus 4.1 23.1% on the public split, against more than 70% for the same models on SWE-bench Verified; on the commercial split the best score was 17.8% (Source: scale.com). OpenAI began reporting the public split with GPT-5.2 in December 2025 at 55.6% and described the result as a state of the art. Scores then rose through successive OpenAI, Google, Z.ai and Anthropic releases to 77.8% for Claude Mythos Preview in April 2026 and 81.2% for Claude Fable 5.1 in September 2026. OpenAI summarized the trajectory in July 2026: "frontier models improved from a pass rate of 23.3% to 80.3% in eight months."
Public
Developer-reported scores on the 731-task public split. Scaffolds, reasoning settings and trial counts differ by developer.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 5.5 | 89.9% | adaptive thinking, max effort, averaged over five trials; developer-reported (card §8.1; 8.2) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 81.2% | average of 5 trials; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 79.2% | as listed in the Fable 5.1 system card; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 / Mythos 5 | 80% | Table 8.1.A column headed "Claude Fable 5/Mythos 5" (configuration not specified); printed as "80"; setting per the Claude Opus 5 System Card; developer-reported (card §8.1 Table 8.1.A) | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Inkling-Small | 55.9% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-07-30 | (Source: thinkingmachines.ai); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Qwen3.5 397B-A17B | 50.9% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| MiMo V2.5 | 56.1% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Minimax M2.7 | 56.2% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Flash | 52.6% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude 4.5 Haiku | 39.5% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | 54.2% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 54.3% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra | 46.4% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Kimi K2.5 | 50.7% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GLM 5.2 | 62.1% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Pro | 55.4% | public set; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 80.4% | max effort, with fallback; resolve rate under a fixed agent scaffold, evaluated with controls for reward hacking; split not stated (the card's reference cites the public leaderboard); reported by xAI in the Grok 4.5 model card (card §2.4) | 2026-07-14 | Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026) |
| Grok 4.5 | 64.7% | high thinking effort; resolve rate under a fixed agent scaffold, evaluated with controls for reward hacking; split not stated (the card's reference cites the public leaderboard); developer-reported (card §2.4) | 2026-07-14 | Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 64.6% | setting not stated in launch table; developer-reported | 2026-07-09 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Terra | 63.4% | setting not stated in launch table; developer-reported | 2026-07-09 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5.6 Luna | 62.7% | setting not stated in launch table; developer-reported | 2026-07-09 | (Source: openai.com); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| LongCat-2.0 | 59.5% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-06-30 | (Source: venturebeat.com); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| GLM-5.2 | 62.1% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-06-16 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026); Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026) |
| Qwen3.7-Max | 60.6% | OpenHands with a tailored instruction prompt; temperature 1, top_p 1, max_new_tokens 32k, 400K context window; split not stated; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| MiniMax M3 | 59% | OpenHands with a tailored instruction prompt; temperature 1, top_p 1, max_new_tokens 32k, 400K context window; split not stated; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro | 55.4% | OpenHands with a tailored instruction prompt; temperature 1, top_p 1, max_new_tokens 32k, 400K context window; split not stated; reported by Z.ai (Zhipu AI) in the GLM-5.2 model card (card §Benchmark; Footnote) | 2026-06-16 | GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| Claude Mythos 5 | 80.3% | average of 5 trials; developer-reported | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 80% | average of 5 trials; developer-reported | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 69.2% | average of 5 trials; peak at extra-high effort; developer-reported | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026); Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 57.3% | Resolved; reasoning effort 'Max'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 Thinking | 58.6% | Resolved; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 Thinking | 58.4% | Resolved; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (Non-Think) | 49.1% | Resolved; Non-Think mode; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (High) | 52.3% | Resolved; High reasoning effort; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Max | 52.6% | Resolved; Max reasoning effort; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (Non-Think) | 52.1% | Resolved; Non-Think mode; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (High) | 54.4% | Resolved; High reasoning effort; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Max | 55.4% | Resolved; Max reasoning effort; internal framework with bash and file-edit tools, max 500 steps, 512K context; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7 and Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 58.6% | developer-reported; OpenAI's July 2026 GPT-5.6 table lists 59.4% | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026); Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 64.3% | average of 5 trials; developer-reported | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); Grok 4.5 Model Card (xAI, July 2026); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| Claude Mythos Preview | 77.8% | adaptive thinking at max effort, average of 5 trials, n=731; developer-reported | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card; System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 53.4% | as listed in the Mythos Preview system card; developer-reported | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card; Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| GLM-5.1 | 58.4% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-04-07 | (Source: z.ai); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026) |
| GLM-5 | 55.1% | as listed in Z.ai's GLM-5.1 post; developer-reported | 2026-04-07 | (Source: z.ai) |
| Kimi K2.6 | 58.6% | setting not stated; developer-reported via secondary coverage | 2026-04 | (Source: artificialintelligencemade-simple.com); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 Pro | 57.7% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Mythos Preview System Card summary table, drawn from the developer's published system card or leaderboard; setting not stated (card §6.3) | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card |
| GPT-5.4 | 57.7% | developer-reported | 2026-03-05 | (Source: openai.com); Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 54.2% | single attempt, Thinking (High); developer-reported | 2026-02-19 | (Source: deepmind.google); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); Claude Mythos Preview System Card; Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026); GLM-5.2 Model Card (Z.ai, June 2026); Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); LongCat-2.0 Model Card (Meituan, June 2026) |
| Gemini 3 Pro | 43.3% | single attempt, Thinking (High); as listed on Google's Gemini 3.1 Pro page | 2026-02-19 | (Source: deepmind.google); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| GPT-5.3-Codex | 56.8% | xhigh reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | (Source: openai.com); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| GPT-5.2-Codex | 56.4% | as listed in the GPT-5.3-Codex launch table; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5.2 Thinking | 55.6% | xhigh reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2025-12-11 | (Source: openai.com); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026) |
| GPT-5.1 Thinking | 50.8% | high reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2025-12-11 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 52.0% | no extended thinking, averaged over 5 trials, 1,865-problem set (Scale AI); developer-reported (card §2.4) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 51.60% | 64k thinking budget, averaged over 5 trials, 1,865-problem set; developer-reported (card §2.4) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
Public (measured by Scale AI)
Scale AI's own runs on the public split under one scaffold. Leaderboard entries carry no dates; rows dated 2026-09 were read from the leaderboard on September 19, 2026 and the date is the retrieval month, not the run date.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark 1.1 | 61.50% | mini-SWE-agent, uncapped cost, 250-turn limit (±3.10); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| GPT-5.4 (xHigh) | 59.10% | mini-SWE-agent, uncapped cost, 250-turn limit (±3.56); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Muse Spark | 55.00% | mini-SWE-agent (±3.60); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 (thinking) | 51.90% | mini-SWE-agent (±3.61); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro (thinking) | 46.10% | mini-SWE-agent (±3.60); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 45.89% | SWE-Agent, uncapped cost, 250-turn limit (±3.60); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Gemini 3 Pro Preview | 43.30% | SWE-Agent (±3.60); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: scale.com) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 43.6% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 42.7% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| GPT-5 (high) | 41.8% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| Claude Haiku 4.5 | 39.5% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| Kimi K2 Instruct | 27.7% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 16.2% | SWE-Agent, with requirements and interface; paper v2, Table 1 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| GPT-5 | 23.3% | SWE-Agent, unified scaffold, pass@1; paper v1 abstract | 2025-09-21 | (Source: arxiv.org) |
Commercial (measured by Scale AI)
The 276-task split from private startup codebases. Only Scale AI can run it.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark 1.1 | 51.50% | mini-SWE-agent (±5.50); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 (thinking) | 47.10% | mini-SWE-agent (±6.07); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GPT-5.4 (xHigh) | 43.40% | mini-SWE-agent (±6.03); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro (thinking) | 32.20% | mini-SWE-agent (±5.69); measured by Scale AI; undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| GPT-5.2 | 23.81% | measured by Scale AI (±5.09); undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 23.44% | measured by Scale AI (±5.07); undated entry | 2026-09 | (Source: labs.scale.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.1 | 17.8% | SWE-Agent; paper v2, Table 2 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| GPT-5 (high) | 15.7% | SWE-Agent; paper v2, Table 2 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview | 10.1% | SWE-Agent; paper v2, Table 2 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
| GPT-4o | 3.6% | SWE-Agent; paper v2, Table 2 | 2025-11-14 | SWE-Bench Pro: Can AI Agents Solve Long-Horizon Software Engineering Tasks? (Deng, Da et al., Scale AI, 2025) |
SWE-bench Pro (as reported in developer documents)
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen3.7-Max | 60.6 | Claude Code harness, temp=1.0, top_p=0.95, 256K context; refined benchmark with problematic tasks corrected; reported by the Qwen team in the Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B model card (its own previous model) (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.8-Max | 67.7 | Claude Code harness, temp=1.0, top_p=0.95, 256K context; problematic tasks corrected, all baselines evaluated on the refined benchmark; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results) | 2026-08-12 | Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 79.2 | average over five trials; adaptive thinking at max effort; developer-reported (card §8.1; 8.2) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 69.2 | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 80 | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 64.6 | competitor figures drawn from the developers' published system cards or benchmark leaderboards; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (card §8.1) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Qwen3.8-2.4T-A95B Model Card (Qwen Team, August 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | 63.2 | average over five trials, standard configuration; developer-reported (card §8.1; 8.2) | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 58.1 | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Sonnet 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1) | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 58.6 | competitor figures drawn from the developers' published system cards or benchmark leaderboards; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Sonnet 5 system card (card §8.1) | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash | 55.1 | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Sonnet 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1) | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
SWE-Bench Pro — Agentic coding
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Glimmer-30B | 51.2 | high reasoning; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Gemma4-31B | 36.9 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.6-27B | 50.2 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
Interpreting scores
A score is the share of tasks whose hidden tests passed. The task statement includes human-written requirements and, often, the names of the functions the tests call, so the benchmark measures implementation of a specified change more than diagnosis of a vague report; the paper states that models "are evaluated on their ability to implement a given repair or patch after being given significant details (rather than their ability to resolve ambiguity)."
Developer-reported and Scale-measured numbers for the same model can differ, because each party uses its own scaffold and limits. Claude Opus 4.6 is 53.4% in Anthropic's reporting and 51.90% on Scale's leaderboard. GPT-5.2 is 55.6% in OpenAI's launch post, while Scale lists "gpt-5.2" at 29.94% and "gpt-5.2-codex" at 41.04%; Scale's legend notes that some of its older entries were run with a capped cost and a 50-turn limit. Even one developer's figures move: OpenAI listed GPT-5.5 at 58.6% in April 2026 and 59.4% in July 2026. Z.ai's GLM-5.1 post lists Claude Opus 4.6 at 57.3%, a third figure for that model (Source: z.ai). Scale's confidence intervals are about ±3.6 points on the public split and ±5 to 6 points on the smaller commercial split.
Scores on the commercial split are lower than on the public split for every model listed on both leaderboards, which Scale presents as evidence that "evaluation on private, previously unseen codebases provides a more realistic measure of generalization." OpenAI's July 2026 audit estimated that about 30% of public tasks are broken; its categories include flaws that reject correct solutions (overly strict tests, underspecified prompts) and flaws that let incomplete fixes pass (low-coverage tests).
Limitations and criticism
Task quality
OpenAI's audit, published July 8, 2026, ran an automated filter over the 731 public tasks that flagged 286, then reviewed those with Codex-based investigator agents under human supervision and, separately, with five software engineers per task. The agent pipeline labelled 200 tasks (27.4%) as broken and the human campaign 249 (34.1%). The categories were overly strict tests (14.4% of the dataset by agent review, 17.8% by human annotation), low-coverage tests, misleading prompts and underspecified prompts. In one Open Library task the prompt specified one leading space in an output format while the hidden tests required two. OpenAI wrote: "Given the issues uncovered in this analysis, we retract our earlier recommendation to adopt SWE-Bench Pro," and attributed the problems to a structural cause, that tests in pull requests "are written to validate a specific change, rather than to define an implementation-agnostic standard." OpenAI's GPT-5.6 announcement the following day still reported SWE-Bench Pro scores. No response from Scale AI was found for this page.
Grader errors and answer leakage
Datacurve, which publishes the competing DeepSWE benchmark, drew 30 tasks from SWE-Bench Pro, ran three attempts across 10 model configurations, and had a language-model judge assess each patch. It reported that SWE-Bench Pro's tests accepted wrong implementations 8.5% of the time and rejected correct ones 24% of the time. It also reported that the task containers include the repository's full git history, and that Claude Opus 4.7 and Opus 4.6 retrieved the reference fix with commands such as git log --all on more than 12% of reviewed attempts, accounting for about 18% and 25% of their passes, while GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5 "never exhibited this behavior" (Source: venturebeat.com). Datacurve has a commercial interest in the comparison. The leak had been filed publicly on April 28, 2026 by an engineer at Poolside AI as issue #93 on the benchmark's repository (Source: github.com).
Memorization
The copyleft design has not prevented signs of memorization. Anthropic's Opus 4.7 announcement states that "our memorization screens flag a subset of problems" in SWE-bench Verified, Pro and Multilingual, adding that the improvement over Opus 4.6 holds when flagged problems are excluded (Source: anthropic.com). OpenAI's GPT-5.5 results table footnotes the benchmark with "Labs have noted evidence of memorization on this eval." OpenAI's February 2026 contamination probe found "some cases of contamination" in SWE-Bench Pro that were "significantly rarer and less egregious than SWE-bench Verified." Anthropic's description of the benchmark changed from "no public ground-truth leakage" in its April and May 2026 system cards to "reduced public ground-truth leakage" in June 2026.
Reward hacking
Berkeley's Center for Responsible Decentralized Intelligence reported in April 2026 that an agent can obtain a 100% score on all 731 public tasks without solving any, by overwriting the results parser that runs inside the same container as the agent (Source: rdi.berkeley.edu).
Stated limitations
The authors list uneven language coverage, with Java, C++ and Rust underrepresented, and dependence on test suites, noting that "real software engineering tasks may have a variety of correct solutions, even if they do not pass the original tests."
Use in policy and safety frameworks
OpenAI frames its coding evaluations, including this one, as inputs to decisions under its Preparedness Framework, writing in the July 2026 audit that flawed evaluations "can give a false understanding of capabilities, misrepresenting safety cases and affecting research priorities." Anthropic reports the public split in the capabilities sections of its system cards from Claude Opus 4.7 onward (Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026)). Thomson Reuters averages SWE-Bench Pro with Terminal-Bench 2.1 as the coding composite in the benchmarks it published for its Thomson model (Thomson Reuters Built Its Own AI Model That Now Ranks Among the World's Best). No use in legislation, standards or capability thresholds was found.
Relationships
- depends-on: SWE-bench — task format and scoring.
- depends-on: SWE-bench: Can Language Models Resolve Real-World GitHub Issues?
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- related: Scale AI — creator and maintainer.
- related: Terminal-Bench, SWE-Lancer, LiveCodeBench, Remote Labor Index
- related: Reward Hacking — git-history retrieval documented on this benchmark.
- supports: AI Coding Agents
See also
- Coding AI Market Map
- Open-Source AI / Open-Weight Models — records GLM-5.1 as the first open-weight model reported to lead SWE-Bench Pro.