SimpleQA is a benchmark of 4,326 short questions that each have one verifiable answer, such as a name, a date or a number. It was released by OpenAI on October 30, 2024 to measure what its authors call short-form factuality: whether a language model, answering from its own memory, gives the right fact, gives a wrong one, or says it does not know (Source: openai.com; Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024)). The best model in the paper, o1-preview, answered 42.7% correctly. OpenAI reported 62.5% for GPT-4.5 in February 2025, and in 2025 Google DeepMind released SimpleQA Verified, a cleaned 1,000-question subset on which the leading models scored between 70% and 78% in September 2026 (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); openai.com; kaggle.com).
What it measures
The paper describes SimpleQA as "a simple, targeted evaluation for whether models 'know what they know.'" It measures two things at once: how much obscure factual knowledge a model holds in its parameters, and whether the model abstains on questions it cannot answer rather than producing a confident error, the behaviour usually called hallucination. "A model with ideal behavior would get as many questions correct as possible while not attempting the questions for which it is not confident it knows the correct answer." The authors state the limit of the construct: the benchmark "only measures factuality under the constrained setting of short, fact-seeking queries with a single, verifiable answer," and whether that "correlates with the ability to write lengthy responses filled with numerous facts remains an open research question" Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024).
Design
Dataset construction
OpenAI hired human annotators, whom it calls AI trainers, to browse the web and write question-and-answer pairs meeting five criteria Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024):
- A single answer. Questions had to fix the scope of the answer, asking "which city" or "what year" rather than "where" or "when."
- An answer that does not change. Questions about television, sport or games had to name a season or date, though tacking on "as of 2023" was disallowed.
- Evidence. The writer supplied a web page supporting the answer.
- Difficulty. The writer saw answers from four OpenAI models, for most of the process all versions of GPT-4, and could keep the question only if at least one of the four was wrong. This is the sense in which the paper calls the set "adversarially collected against GPT-4 responses."
- Answerable as of December 31, 2023, so that models with different training cutoffs can be compared.
A second trainer then answered each question independently without seeing the first answer, and the question was kept only if the two answers matched, both trainers judged it to have one timeless answer, and their sources came from at least two different website domains. ChatGPT-based classifiers flagged rule violations during writing and lightly edited the wording. Wikipedia is a source for about 3,500 of the questions. The most common topics are science and technology (858 questions), politics (709) and art (550); 32.8% of answers are dates, 24.1% people, 15.3% numbers and 9.9% places Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024).
Task format and an example
A question is a single sentence and the expected answer a few words. The paper's running example is "Which Dutch player scored an open-play goal in the 2022 Netherlands vs Argentina game in the men's FIFA World Cup?", with the answer Wout Weghorst Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024).
Grading and metrics
A prompted ChatGPT classifier compares the model's response with the reference answer and assigns one of three grades. Correct means the response contains the reference answer without contradicting it. Incorrect means it contradicts the reference in any way, "even if the contradiction is hedged," so that "Wout Weghorst and I think van Dijk scored, but I am not totally sure" is incorrect. Not attempted means the answer is not given and nothing contradicts it, as in "I don't know." The authors checked 300 graded responses by hand and found two disagreements with the grader Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024).
Two numbers summarize a model: overall correct, the share of all questions answered correctly, and correct given attempted, the share answered correctly among those the model attempted. Their harmonic mean is reported as an F-score. The paper notes a loophole in the F-score, which is that a model scoring below 50% gains by guessing whenever it is at least 50% sure of an answer, and suggests as an alternative a scoring rule that subtracts a penalty for each wrong answer. OpenAI's later model announcements report accuracy together with a "hallucination rate" on the benchmark (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); openai.com).
Calibration analyses
The paper uses the dataset to measure calibration, the match between a model's confidence and its accuracy, in two ways: asking the model to state a confidence percentage with its answer, and asking the same question 100 times and treating the frequency of the most common answer as its confidence. In both tests larger models were better calibrated than smaller ones, o1-preview was the best calibrated, and all models "consistently overstate their confidence" Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024). The stated-confidence setup was later reused by Humanity's Last Exam for its calibration metric Humanity's Last Exam (Phan et al., 2025; Nature, 2026).
Human check, splits and contamination
As a quality check a third trainer answered a random 1,000 questions with web access and matched the answer key on 94.4%. After reviewing the mismatches by hand, the authors "estimate that the error rate of our benchmark is around 3%," citing ambiguous questions, reputable sources that contradict each other, and questions with more than one correct answer. The whole dataset is public in OpenAI's simple-evals repository; there is no held-out set (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); github.com).
Versions and variants
SimpleQA Verified (Lukas Haas, Gal Yona and colleagues at Google, arXiv 2509.07968, September 2025) reduces the original to 1,000 questions. Its authors argue that SimpleQA's usefulness "is compromised by significant limitations": questions drawn from "a narrow distribution of source documents due to substantial human rater biases," incorrect reference answers, a skew toward particular topics and question formats, and "a high degree of redundancy with semantically similar or lexically overlapping questions." Their pipeline removed near-duplicate questions, dropped questions whose reference pages belong to publishers that use robots.txt controls to opt out of AI training by Google, OpenAI or Anthropic, rebalanced topics and answer types, reconciled conflicting sources, and rewrote numeric answers as acceptable ranges; they also revised the grader prompt. The benchmark is "designed to be evaluated without any tools (i.e. search)," reports an F1 score as its headline metric, and has an official leaderboard on Kaggle maintained by Google DeepMind. Gemini 2.5 Pro led at release with an F1 of 55.6 (Source: SimpleQA Verified: A Reliable Factuality Benchmark to Measure Parametric Knowledge (Haas et al., 2025); kaggle.com).
Chinese SimpleQA (November 2024) follows the same design in Chinese, with six major topics and 99 subtopics (Source: arxiv.org).
Browsing-enabled runs are a different measurement. When a model can search the web the questions become lookups, and OpenAI wrote in April 2025 that benchmarks like SimpleQA "are already saturated by models with access to fast browsing tools, such as GPT-4o with browsing," which was its stated reason for building BrowseComp (Source: openai.com).
Development and maintainers
The eight authors were all at OpenAI. The dataset and a reference implementation are hosted in simple-evals; when OpenAI stopped updating that repository's results table in July 2025 it said the repository would continue to host the reference implementations of SimpleQA, HealthBench and BrowseComp (Source: github.com). There is no leaderboard for the original benchmark, and results come from developers' own reports. SimpleQA Verified has two sets of third-party results: Google DeepMind's Kaggle leaderboard, which showed 47 models when last updated on September 16, 2026, and Epoch AI's Benchmarking Hub, which runs the questions itself in order to feed its Capabilities Index (Source: kaggle.com; epoch.ai).
Results
In the paper GPT-4o answered 38.2% correctly and o1-preview 42.7%; the smaller GPT-4o-mini and o1-mini answered 8.6% and 8.1%. Claude models attempted far fewer questions, so that Claude 3.5 Sonnet's 28.9% correct came with a correct-given-attempted rate of 44.5%, higher than GPT-4o's 38.0% Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024). OpenAI reported 62.5% accuracy and a 37.1% hallucination rate for GPT-4.5 in February 2025, against 38.2% and 61.8% for GPT-4o (Source: openai.com). Its reasoning models did not improve on that: simple-evals lists o3 at 49.4% and o4-mini at 20.2% (Source: github.com). Since late 2025 most reporting has moved to SimpleQA Verified, where the leading score rose from Gemini 2.5 Pro's 55.6 in September 2025 to 77.5% for Gemini 3.1 Pro on the Kaggle leaderboard in September 2026 (Source: SimpleQA Verified: A Reliable Factuality Benchmark to Measure Parametric Knowledge (Haas et al., 2025); kaggle.com).
SimpleQA (no browsing)
Percentage of the 4,326 original questions answered correctly without tools. Where the source gives them, the shares not attempted and incorrect are in the Setting cell.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GLM-5 (base) | 36.0% | base model; EM; number of shots not stated; developer-reported (card §B.1 (Table 11)) | 2026-02-24 | GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| GLM-4.5 | 26.4% | 'Correct' metric; developer-reported (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| GLM-4.5-Air | 14.5% | 'Correct' metric; developer-reported (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| GPT-4.1 | 42.3% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025); Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 18.5% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Grok 4 | 51.9% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| Qwen3-235B | 45.8% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| DeepSeek-R1-0528 | 27.8% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| DeepSeek-V3-0324 | 27.7% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025); Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Kimi K2 | 31.0% | 'Correct' metric; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.2.4 (Table 6)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| DeepSeek-V3 (base) | 26.6% | base model (last pre-training checkpoint for GLM-4.5-Base, Z.ai's internal evaluation framework); EM; number of shots not stated; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.1 (Table 2)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| Kimi K2 (base) | 35.3% | base model (last pre-training checkpoint for GLM-4.5-Base, Z.ai's internal evaluation framework); EM; number of shots not stated; reported by Zhipu AI / Z.ai in the GLM-4.5 technical report (card §4.1 (Table 2)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| GLM-4.5 (base) | 30.0% | base model (last pre-training checkpoint for GLM-4.5-Base, Z.ai's internal evaluation framework); EM; number of shots not stated; developer-reported (card §4.1 (Table 2)) | 2025-08-08 | GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025); GLM-5: from Vibe Coding to Agentic Engineering (Zhipu AI, 2026) |
| gpt-5-thinking | 0.55% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| OpenAI o3 | 0.54% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking-mini | 0.22% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| OpenAI o4-mini | 0.24% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking-nano | 0.11% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-main | 0.46% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| GPT-4o | 0.44% | accuracy, no web access; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking | 0.40% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| OpenAI o3 | 0.46% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking-mini | 0.26% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| OpenAI o4-mini | 0.75% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-thinking-nano | 0.31% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-5-main | 0.47% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| GPT-4o | 0.52% | hallucination rate, no web access; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §3.7, Table 8) | 2025-08-07 | GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 0.168% | accuracy; no browsing; developer-reported (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-20b | 0.067% | accuracy; no browsing; developer-reported (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| o4-mini | 0.234% | accuracy; no browsing; reported by OpenAI in the gpt-oss model card (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-120b | 0.782% | hallucination rate (lower is better); no browsing; developer-reported (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| gpt-oss-20b | 0.914% | hallucination rate (lower is better); no browsing; developer-reported (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| o4-mini | 0.750% | hallucination rate (lower is better); no browsing; reported by OpenAI in the gpt-oss model card (card §4.5 (Table 9)) | 2025-08-05 | gpt-oss-120b & gpt-oss-20b Model Card (OpenAI, August 2025) |
| Kimi-K2-Instruct | 31.0% | correct; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; developer-reported (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen3-235B-A22B (non-thinking) | 13.2% | correct; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 15.9% | correct; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Claude Opus 4 | 22.8% | correct; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash Preview (2025-05-20) | 23.3% | correct; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Kimi-K2-Base | 35.25% | base model, 5-shots; base model; developer-reported (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-Base | 26.49% | base model, 5-shots; base model; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Llama 4 Maverick Base | 23.74% | base model, 5-shots; base model; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5-72B-Base | 10.31% | base model, 5-shots; base model; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Kimi K2 Instruct | 31.0% | developer-reported | 2025-07 | (Source: arxiv.org) |
| Gemini 1.5 Flash | 8.6% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-flash-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025); Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 1.5 Pro | 24.9% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-pro-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025); Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash-Lite | 16.5% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-lite-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.0 Flash | 29.9% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025); Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Flash | 26.9% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.5-flash, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 54.0% | F1 score, no search; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.5-pro, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025); GLM-4.5: Agentic, Reasoning, and Coding (ARC) Foundation Models (Zhipu AI, 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 0528 | 27.8% | F1 score, no search; reported by Google in the Gemini 2.5 technical report; from openai/simple-evals where available, otherwise run internally by Google (card §3.3 (Table 4)) | 2025-07-07 | Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro (GA) | 54.0% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-06-05, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview (05-06) | 50.8% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-05-06, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro Experimental (03-25) | 52.9% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-exp-03-25, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| OpenAI o3 (high) | 48.6% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| OpenAI o4-mini (high) | 19.3% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025) |
| Grok 3 Beta (Extended Thinking) | 43.6% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); based on xAI reports; without extended reasoning; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025); Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 05-28 | 27.8% | metric not stated in the card (the technical report says F1); reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table)) | 2025-06-27 | Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025) |
| Seed1.5-Thinking | 12.9% | single response; thinking model; developer-reported (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| DeepSeek R1 | 30.1% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| OpenAI o3-mini | 13.8% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 52.9% | single response; thinking model; reported by ByteDance Seed in the Seed1.5-Thinking report; source of the comparison figure not stated (card §6.1, Table 2) | 2025-04-29 | Seed1.5-Thinking: Advancing Superb Reasoning Models with Reinforcement Learning (ByteDance Seed, April 2025) |
| o3 | 0.49% | accuracy; tool access not stated; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o4-mini | 0.20% | accuracy; tool access not stated; higher is better; developer-reported (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o1 | 0.47% | accuracy; tool access not stated; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o3 and o4-mini system card (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025); OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o3 | 0.51% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o4-mini | 0.79% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; developer-reported (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025) |
| o1 | 0.44% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o3 and o4-mini system card (card §3.3, Table 4) | 2025-04-16 | OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025); OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| GPT-4.1 | 41.6% | simple-evals | 2025-04-14 | (Source: github.com) |
| o3 | 49.4% | simple-evals; default reasoning effort | 2025-04 | (Source: github.com) |
| o4-mini | 20.2% | simple-evals; default reasoning effort | 2025-04 | (Source: github.com) |
| Gemini 2.0 Pro | 44.3% | 0-shot; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 2B IT | 2.8% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 9B IT | 5.3% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 2 27B IT | 9.2% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 1B IT | 2.2% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 4B IT | 4.0% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 12B IT | 6.3% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| Gemma 3 27B IT | 10.0% | 0-shot; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6) | 2025-03-25 | Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025) |
| GPT-4.5 | 62.5% | hallucination rate 37.1%; developer-reported | 2025-02-27 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude-3.5-Sonnet-1022 | 28.4% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| GPT-4o-0513 | 38.2% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| OpenAI o1-mini | 7.0% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| OpenAI o1-1217 | 47.0% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-R1 paper, taken from OpenAI's official reports (card §3.1 Table 4) | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| o3-mini | 13.4% | simple-evals; medium reasoning effort | 2025-01 | (Source: github.com) |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 30.1% | percent correct; simple-evals prompt; sampling at temperature 0.6, top-p 0.95; developer-reported | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 24.9% | percent correct; developer-reported in the DeepSeek-R1 paper | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning; DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| o1 (2024-12-17) | 47.0% | percent correct; figure from OpenAI's official reports, as listed in DeepSeek's R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| o1-mini | 7.0% | percent correct; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (1022) | 28.4% | percent correct; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek-V2-0506 | 9.0% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V2.5-0905 | 10.2% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5 72B Instruct | 9.1% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| LLaMA-3.1 405B Instruct | 17.1% | Correct; simple-evals prompts; chat model, output limited to 8K tokens; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V3 technical report, evaluated by DeepSeek (card §5.3 Table 6) | 2024-12-27 | DeepSeek-V3 Technical Report |
| o1 | 42.6% | simple-evals | 2024-12 | (Source: github.com) |
| GPT-4o | 0.38% | accuracy on four thousand fact-seeking questions; tool access not stated; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o1-preview | 0.42% | accuracy on four thousand fact-seeking questions; tool access not stated; higher is better; developer-reported (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| GPT-4o-mini | 0.09% | accuracy on four thousand fact-seeking questions; tool access not stated; higher is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o1-mini | 0.07% | accuracy on four thousand fact-seeking questions; tool access not stated; higher is better; developer-reported (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| GPT-4o | 0.61% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o1-preview | 0.44% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; developer-reported (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| GPT-4o-mini | 0.90% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the o1 system card (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o1-mini | 0.60% | hallucination rate; tool access not stated; lower is better; developer-reported (card §4.1.4, Table 3) | 2024-12-05 | OpenAI o1 System Card (December 2024) |
| o1-preview | 42.7% | 9.2% not attempted, 48.1% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4o | 38.2% | 1.0% not attempted, 60.8% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (2024-06-20) | 28.9% | 35.0% not attempted, 36.1% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
| Claude 3 Opus | 23.5% | 39.6% not attempted, 36.9% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4o mini | 8.6% | 0.9% not attempted, 90.5% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
| o1-mini | 8.1% | 28.5% not attempted, 63.4% incorrect; from the original paper | 2024-10-30 | Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024) |
SimpleQA Verified (Kaggle leaderboard)
Score on the 1,000-question SimpleQA Verified set as listed on Google DeepMind's official Kaggle leaderboard, last updated September 16, 2026, with the leaderboard's uncertainty interval. The benchmark's paper defines the headline score as F1. Rows carry the leaderboard's update date because entries are not individually dated.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | 77.5% | no tools; ±2.6; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| GPT-6 Astra | 75.8% | no tools; ±2.6; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash | 74.6% | no tools; ±2.7; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Gemini 3 Pro Preview | 72.1% | no tools; ±2.9; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com); Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 69.2% | no tools; ±2.9; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 63.3% | no tools; ±3.2; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| o3 | 52.3% | no tools; ±3.1; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 45.2% | no tools; ±3.1; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 44.5% | no tools; ±3.1; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 39.0% | no tools; ±3.3; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| GPT-5.4 | 30.5% | no tools; ±3.0; official leaderboard | 2026-09-16 | (Source: kaggle.com) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 54.5% | parametric knowledge; reported from the official Kaggle leaderboard; developer-reported (Google DeepMind, in the Gemini 3 Pro model card) (card §Evaluation – Results (table, PDF p. 5)) | 2025-11-18 | Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 29.3% | parametric knowledge; reported from the official Kaggle leaderboard; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 3 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number (high reasoning) unless stated otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (table, PDF p. 5)) | 2025-11-18 | Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025) |
| GPT-5.1 | 34.9% | parametric knowledge; reported from the official Kaggle leaderboard; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 3 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number (high reasoning) unless stated otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (table, PDF p. 5)) | 2025-11-18 | Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025) |
| Gemini 2.5 Pro | 55.6% | F1; baseline from the SimpleQA Verified paper | 2025-09-09 | SimpleQA Verified: A Reliable Factuality Benchmark to Measure Parametric Knowledge (Haas et al., 2025) |
SimpleQA Verified (Epoch AI runs)
Percentage of the 1,000 SimpleQA Verified questions answered correctly in Epoch AI's own runs. Epoch reports the simple share correct rather than F1 and, since August 27, 2026, appends an instruction telling the model to give its best guess instead of abstaining, so these figures are not comparable with the Kaggle track. The Date is the start of Epoch's run.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | 75.6% | measured by Epoch AI on a pre-release version; max reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-09-03 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 70.8% | measured by Epoch AI; max effort; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-09-01 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| GLM-5.3 | 41.0% | measured by Epoch AI; max reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-28 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| GPT-5.5 | 63.0% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 53.0% | measured by Epoch AI; max effort; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813 | 52.9% | measured by Epoch AI; max reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 51.7% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh effort; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Kimi K3 | 50.6% | measured by Epoch AI; max reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| GPT-5 | 50.1% | measured by Epoch AI; high reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Qwen3.8-Max | 45.8% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| GPT-5.4 | 45.1% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh reasoning; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Inkling | 40.3% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh effort; anti-abstention prompt | 2026-08-27 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview | 73.5% | measured by Epoch AI; high reasoning | 2026-08-10 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 70.7% | measured by Epoch AI; xhigh effort | 2026-08-10 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 69.7% | measured by Epoch AI; max reasoning | 2026-08-10 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 59.9% | measured by Epoch AI; max effort | 2026-08-10 | (Source: epoch.ai) |
Chinese SimpleQA
Percentage answered correctly on Chinese SimpleQA, the Chinese-language counterpart described under Versions and variants. Not comparable with the English tracks.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kimi-K2-Base | 77.57% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; developer-reported (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-V3-Base | 72.13% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Llama 4 Maverick Base | 53.47% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| Qwen2.5-72B-Base | 50.53% | base model, 5-shots; generation-based; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI under identical configurations, internal LM-Harness-derived framework) (card §4.2.2, Table 4) | 2025-07-28 | Kimi K2 Technical Report |
| DeepSeek-R1 | 63.7% | percent correct; after safety RL, which DeepSeek says led the model to refuse some queries and puts accuracy without it above 70%; developer-reported | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| DeepSeek-V3 | 68.0% | percent correct; developer-reported in the DeepSeek-R1 paper | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| o1-mini | 40.3% | percent correct; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (1022) | 55.4% | percent correct; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
| GPT-4o (0513) | 58.7% | percent correct; reported by DeepSeek in its R1 comparison table | 2025-01-22 | DeepSeek-R1: Incentivizing Reasoning Capability in LLMs via Reinforcement Learning |
SimpleQA Verified
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Base | 30.1 | base model; 25-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Base | 55.2 | base model; 25-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026); DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-Base | 42.3 | base model; 25-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; developer-reported (card §4.3.2 Table 1) | 2026-09-09 | DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026) |
| Inkling-Small | 20.6 | setting not stated; developer-reported (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Qwen3.5 397B-A17B | 26.0 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| MiMo V2.5 | 16.1 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Minimax M2.7 | 13.5 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Flash | 34.1 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude 4.5 Haiku | 5.9 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite | 44.1 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT 5.6 Luna | 41.7 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-30 | Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Inkling | 43.9 | effort=0.99; developer-reported (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Nemotron 3 Ultra | 32.4 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Kimi K2.5 | 36.9 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 | 38.7 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GLM 5.2 | 38.1 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek V4 Pro | 57.0 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro (high) | 77.3 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 (max) | 68.3 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| GPT 5.6 Sol (max/xhigh) | 71.6 | setting not stated; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations) | 2026-07-15 | Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V3.2-Base | 28.3 | base model; 25-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report (DeepSeek's own earlier base model, same internal framework) (card §4.3 Table 1) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 46.2 | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Max'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 45.3 | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'xHigh'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 75.6 | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'High'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 Thinking | 36.9 | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| GLM-5.1 Thinking | 38.1 | Pass@1; reasoning effort 'Thinking'; reported by DeepSeek in the DeepSeek-V4 technical report; source of comparison figure not stated (card §5.3.2 Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (Non-Think) | 23.1 | Pass@1; Non-think mode (8K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash (High) | 28.9 | Pass@1; High reasoning effort (128K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Flash-Max | 34.1 | Pass@1; Max reasoning effort (384K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (Non-Think) | 45.0 | Pass@1; Non-think mode (8K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro (High) | 46.2 | Pass@1; High reasoning effort (128K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
| DeepSeek-V4-Pro-Max | 57.9 | Pass@1; Max reasoning effort (384K context window), temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §5.3.2 Table 7 and Table 6) | 2026-04-26 | DeepSeek-V4 Technical Report (DeepSeek, April 2026) |
SimpleQA Verified — Correct
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark | 67.6% | +2.8/−2.9; developer-reported (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 45.8% | +3.1/−3.2; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 46.6% | +3.2/−3.0; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 76.2% | +2.7/−2.7; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
SimpleQA Verified — Correct given attempted
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark | 74.3% | +2.8/−2.9; developer-reported (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 49.9% | +3.3/−3.4; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 56.4% | +3.4/−3.4; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 79.9% | +2.5/−2.6; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
SimpleQA Verified — F1
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark | 70.8% | +2.7/−2.9; developer-reported (card §Table 21 / Table 2 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 47.8% | +3.1/−3.3; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 51.0% | +3.2/−3.2; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 78.0% | +2.5/−2.6; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
SimpleQA Verified — Abstention benefit ∆
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Spark | 6.7% | +1.4/−1.3; developer-reported (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| GPT-5.4 | 4.1% | +0.9/−0.9; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 9.8% | +1.5/−1.4; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 3.7% | +1.1/−1.0; reported by Meta in the Muse Spark report (card §Table 21 (§4.1.4)) | 2026-05-26 | Muse Spark Safety & Preparedness Report (Meta, May 2026) |
Interpreting scores
Accuracy alone rewards guessing
Because only correct answers score, a model that always answers looks better on the headline number than one that abstains when unsure, even if it produces many more falsehoods. OpenAI made this point with SimpleQA figures from its GPT-5 system card: gpt-5-thinking-mini was correct on 22% of questions and o4-mini on 24%, but the first abstained on 52% and was wrong on 26%, while the second abstained on 1% and was wrong on 75%. "Most scoreboards prioritize and rank models based on accuracy, but errors are worse than abstentions" (Source: openai.com). A reader who wants a hallucination measure should look at the incorrect share or correct-given-attempted, not the headline score. The reverse choice is also made: Epoch AI tells models that "an uncertain guess is far more useful to me than 'I don't know'," in order to measure knowledge alone, which is why its figures differ from Kaggle's for the same model, for example 45.1% against 30.5% for GPT-5.4 (Source: epoch.ai; kaggle.com).
The score tracks stored knowledge more than reasoning
In the paper larger models scored far above their smaller siblings, and OpenAI's o4-mini scored 20.2% where the larger o3 scored 49.4% (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); github.com). Thinking Machines Lab describes the gap between its two models on SimpleQA Verified, 43.9% against 20.6%, as the larger model's "advantage on knowledge coverage and factuality," although the smaller one matched it on reasoning benchmarks (Inkling-Small).
Ceiling and noise
The authors' estimate of a roughly 3% error rate in the reference answers bounds achievable accuracy on the original set. The Kaggle leaderboard's intervals of about ±3 points mean that adjacent models are often not distinguishable (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); kaggle.com).
Tools change the task
With web search the benchmark measures retrieval, and OpenAI has described it as saturated in that setting (Source: openai.com).
Limitations and criticism
The SimpleQA Verified authors set out the main published critique of the original: annotator bias toward a narrow set of source documents, incorrect ground truths, topical skew and redundant questions, which together "create a noisy evaluation signal, making it difficult to discern whether performance gains stem from genuine improvements in factual recall or from models overfitting to the benchmark's specific quirks." Their filtering removed three quarters of the dataset SimpleQA Verified: A Reliable Factuality Benchmark to Measure Parametric Knowledge (Haas et al., 2025).
Contamination is a standing concern because both versions are fully public with answers. Epoch AI states that it suspects Qwen3-Max-Instruct "is contaminated on this dataset" (Source: epoch.ai).
The benchmark's dependence on an automated grader is a further source of variation. The original authors "did not do a formal study of the performance of the grader," and the Verified authors rewrote the grading prompt after finding recurring disagreements on long or hedged responses (Source: Measuring Short-Form Factuality in Large Language Models (SimpleQA; Wei et al., 2024); SimpleQA Verified: A Reliable Factuality Benchmark to Measure Parametric Knowledge (Haas et al., 2025)).
OpenAI's own later position is that the metric can mislead. Its September 2025 essay on hallucination argues that accuracy-only scoreboards give developers an incentive to build models that guess, and says of benchmarks of this kind that "on simplistic evals like SimpleQA, some models achieve near 100% accuracy and thereby eliminate hallucinations," whereas in real use some questions cannot be answered at all (Source: openai.com).
Use in policy and safety frameworks
SimpleQA is the most common quantitative hallucination measure in developer documentation. OpenAI reported SimpleQA accuracy and hallucination rate when presenting GPT-4.5's claim of reduced hallucination (GPT-4 Family (OpenAI)), and its GPT-5 system card reports accuracy, error and abstention rates on it (Source: openai.com). Thinking Machines Lab's Inkling model card reports SimpleQA Verified as its factuality measure. It is a reliability indicator rather than a dangerous-capability evaluation and does not set thresholds in frontier safety frameworks. On hallucination as a policy concern see Sycophancy and Hallucination.
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- depends-on: OpenAI — creator of the original benchmark.
- related: BrowseComp — OpenAI's browsing benchmark, built on the same question-writing guidelines after SimpleQA saturated with search.
- related: Humanity's Last Exam — reuses SimpleQA's confidence-elicitation setup for calibration.
- related: Epoch Capabilities Index (ECI) — uses Epoch AI's SimpleQA Verified runs as an input.
- related: HealthBench — hosted alongside SimpleQA in OpenAI's
simple-evalsrepository.
See also
- MMLU, GPQA — multiple-choice knowledge benchmarks, which cannot register abstention.
- Sycophancy and Hallucination