AI Policy Wiki
Dashboard
⚲

SWE-Lancer

medium confidence · updated 2026-09-22

Tests whether a model can complete real paid freelance software jobs from one company's codebase, and totals the dollars those jobs paid. Built by OpenAI (February 2025) from 1,488 Upwork tasks posted by Expensify and worth $1 million: 764 coding tasks graded by end-to-end browser tests and 724 manager tasks graded against the proposal the hiring manager actually chose. OpenAI reports the public Diamond coding subset in its system cards and launch posts.

SWE-Lancer is a software-engineering benchmark that OpenAI published on February 18, 2025. It consists of 1,488 freelance jobs that the expense-management company Expensify posted on the platform Upwork for work on its open-source application, together worth $1,000,000 in payments actually made to the freelancers who completed them (Source: openai.com; SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)). Some tasks ask the model to write the fix; others ask it to act as the engineering manager and pick the best of several competing proposals. Results are given as a pass rate and as dollars "earned." In the paper the best model, Claude 3.5 Sonnet, earned $403,000 of the $1 million; OpenAI reported 81.4% on the public coding subset for GPT-5.3-Codex in February 2026 (Source: openai.com).

What it measures

The authors present SWE-Lancer as a measure of real-world, full-stack software engineering whose difficulty is priced by a market: each task carries the amount Expensify paid, from $250 to $32,000, and harder or longer-unresolved issues paid more. They state two purposes, tracking the economic effect of automated coding and informing assessments of model autonomy, and contrast the design with benchmarks such as SWE-bench that draw on developer-facing open-source libraries and grade with unit tests SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Design

Task sources

All tasks come from one repository. The paper describes Expensify as a public company with about 12 million users whose open-source front end is maintained largely by freelancers paid through Upwork. One hundred professional software engineers reviewed candidate issues, proposals and the codebase for clarity and executability; each coding task was reviewed by three engineers and each manager task by two, and tasks paying more than $5,000 were validated by a team of ten. Most tasks are bug fixes (88% of coding tasks and 94% of manager tasks in the public subset). The average public task took 26 days to resolve on GitHub and drew 47 comments; coding tasks required changing on average 2 files and 69 lines SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Two task types

Individual contributor (IC SWE) tasks, 764 worth $414,775, give the model the issue text and the codebase as it stood before the fix. An example prompt reproduced in the paper begins "[$500] A new tab opens when downloading offline" and lists the steps a user takes, the expected result and the actual result. The model's patch is applied and graded by end-to-end tests written for the benchmark with the browser-automation library Playwright: scripts that log in, click through the application as a user would and check the outcome. Each test was verified three times by engineers, and the model cannot see the tests. The authors argue this makes grading harder to game than unit tests and give an example of a model defeating a unit test on SWE-bench Verified by renaming an attribute. A "user tool" lets the model run a scripted user session against its own build and read back a text log and screenshots, without being told whether it passed SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

SWE Manager tasks, 724 worth $585,225, give the model the issue, the codebase and the four or five proposals freelancers actually submitted, and ask which should be accepted. The answer is correct if it matches the proposal the original manager chose; a validation exercise with experienced engineers found 99% agreement with those choices SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Scoring

Each model gets one attempt per task (pass@1, the share solved on a single try) in a Docker container with no internet access and with the repository's later history removed. A coding task pays out only if every associated test passes. The two reported numbers are the pass rate and total dollars earned; "earn rate" is dollars earned divided by dollars available. Because pass@1 is a single sample, the paper warns of significant variance between runs SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Splits and contamination controls

SWE-Lancer Diamond is the public split: 502 tasks worth $500,800 (237 IC SWE tasks worth $236,300 and 265 manager tasks worth $264,500). The remainder is a private holdout, in which engineers re-introduced some bugs in a distinct but equivalent way so that memorized fixes would not apply. The Diamond issues are public GitHub issues from 2023 and 2024, so the paper says contamination is possible and that browsing must be disabled. Its own check found no clear advantage on tasks dated before model training cutoffs: Claude 3.5 Sonnet, for instance, passed 17.8% of Diamond coding tasks from before its cutoff and 34.5% from after SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Cost comparison

Using API prices, the paper estimated that running a model first and paying a freelancer only for the tasks it fails would have cut the $236,300 cost of the Diamond coding tasks by 8.84% with GPT-4o and 13.26% with o1 on one attempt, and by 18.6% and 33.5% with five attempts. The authors call the analysis preliminary and note that it assumes quick verification of correct solutions SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Versions and variants

On July 17, 2025 OpenAI released an updated dataset that removes the need for internet connectivity during execution, which it described as a primary source of variability in results, and resolved issues affecting the dollars-earned figures. The updated repository contains 198 of the original 237 Diamond coding tasks, adjusted and verified to run offline; the other 39 were dropped. The code moved from the original repository, archived on July 18, 2025, into OpenAI's shared evaluations repository (Source: openai.com; github.com; github.com). OpenAI's later posts report only "SWE-Lancer IC Diamond." The GPT-5.2 post says 40 of 237 problems that did not run on its infrastructure were omitted (Source: openai.com). Results from before and after the update are therefore on different task sets.

Development and maintainers

The authors are Samuel Miserendino, Michele Wang, Tejal Patwardhan and Johannes Heidecke of OpenAI; the paper credits OpenAI's Preparedness, Safety Systems and Research organizations as sponsors and states that a paid team of professional engineers wrote and verified the tests. Patwardhan is also first author of GDPval, which OpenAI describes as the next step after SWE-Lancer in a progression toward market-based evaluations (Source: SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025); openai.com). There is no public leaderboard. Published results come from OpenAI's paper, system cards and launch posts.

Results

In the paper, Claude 3.5 Sonnet passed 26.2% of Diamond coding tasks and 44.9% of Diamond manager tasks, earning $208,050 of $500,800, ahead of o1 (16.5% and 41.5%) and GPT-4o (8.0% and 37.0%); every model did better on manager tasks than on coding tasks SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025). The GPT-4.5 system card, nine days later, put OpenAI's deep research agent at approximately 46% and 51% (OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)). After the July 2025 update, the GPT-5 system card named ChatGPT agent as the highest scorer on the coding subset, and OpenAI's launch posts give 69.7% for GPT-5.1 Thinking, 74.6% for GPT-5.2 and 81.4% for GPT-5.3-Codex (Source: openai.com; openai.com). The benchmark does not appear in the comparison tables of OpenAI's GPT-5.4 and GPT-5.5 launch posts.

IC SWE Diamond

Pass@1 on the public coding tasks. Rows dated before July 17, 2025 use the original 237 tasks; later rows use the offline subset.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
GPT-5.3-Codex81.4%reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-02-05(Source: openai.com)
GPT-5.2-Codex76.0%reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-02-05(Source: openai.com)
GPT-5.2 Thinking74.6%40 of 237 problems omitted; developer-reported2025-12-11(Source: openai.com)
GPT-5.1 Thinking69.7%40 of 237 problems omitted; developer-reported2025-12-11(Source: openai.com)
OpenAI o3 (no browsing)54%pass@1 (chart axis: pass@1, avg of 3), high reasoning effort, no browsing, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.4, Figure 27)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
ChatGPT agent (no browsing)60%pass@1 (chart axis: pass@1, avg of 3), high reasoning effort, no browsing, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; comparison model; reported by OpenAI in the GPT-5 system card (card §6.1.3.4, Figure 27)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
gpt-5-thinking (no browsing, launch candidate)55%pass@1 (chart axis: pass@1, avg of 3), high reasoning effort, no browsing, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; developer-reported (card §6.1.3.4, Figure 27)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
gpt-5-thinking-mini (no browsing, launch candidate)51%pass@1 (chart axis: pass@1, avg of 3), high reasoning effort, no browsing, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; value read from the data label in the chart image published with the card (not in the card's text); maximum trained-in verbosity; developer-reported (card §6.1.3.4, Figure 27)2025-08-07GPT-5 System Card (OpenAI, August 2025)
o3 (browsing, helpful-only)55%average of three pass@1 runs, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset (card note dated July 28th); developer-reported (card §4.4.4 (text))2025-04-16OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)
OpenAI deep research46%approximate; original 237 tasks; developer-reported2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
GPT-4.520%post-mitigation model; original 237 tasks; developer-reported2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
GPT-4.5 (post-mitigation)20%SWE-Lancer Diamond; pass@1, high reasoning effort, one attempt per problem; developer-reported (card §4.6.6)2025-02-27OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet26.2%user tool enabled, no internet; run by OpenAI2025-02-18SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)
o116.5%high reasoning effort, user tool enabled2025-02-18SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)
GPT-4o8.0%user tool enabled2025-02-18SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)
Llama 3.3 70B4.6%preliminary; authors note possible under-elicitation2025-02-18SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)
DeepSeek-R13.8%preliminary; authors note possible under-elicitation2025-02-18SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025)

SWE Manager Diamond

Share of the 265 public manager tasks on which the model chose the same proposal as the original hiring manager.

Dollars earned, full set

Total payouts of tasks passed, out of $1,000,000 across all 1,488 tasks; the paper rounds to the nearest thousand.

SWE-Lancer — Dollars earned, Diamond (IC SWE and SWE Manager)

Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
o3 (browsing, helpful-only)$76,250average of three pass@1 runs, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; developer-reported (card §4.4.4 (text))2025-04-16OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)
o3 (no browsing, launch candidate)$86,100average of three pass@1 runs, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; developer-reported (card §4.4.4 (text))2025-04-16OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)
Full payout possible on SWE-Lancer Diamond$453,800average of three pass@1 runs, July 17th 2025 update of the dataset; baseline stated in the o3 and o4-mini system card (card §4.4.4 (text))2025-04-16OpenAI o3 and o4-mini System Card (April 2025)

SWE-Lancer (as reported in developer documents)

Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Kimi-K2-Instruct39.1pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; developer-reported (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report
DeepSeek-V3-032430.5pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report
Qwen3-235B-A22B (non-thinking)24.1pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report
Claude Sonnet 440.8pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report
GPT-4.123.0pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report
Gemini 2.5 Flash Preview (2025-05-20)38.5pass@1; subset not stated; non-thinking mode, output capped at 8,192 tokens unless stated; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K2 technical report (run by Moonshot AI in the model's non-thinking mode via official API, unified temperature and top-p) (card §4.1.2, Table 3)2025-07-28Kimi K2 Technical Report

Interpreting scores

The dollar total mixes two kinds of task with different chance levels. A manager task is a choice among four or five proposals, so guessing earns a meaningful share, and manager tasks hold $585,225 of the $1 million: GPT-4o passed 8.6% of coding tasks on the full set yet "earned" $304,000, of which $275,000 came from manager tasks. The coding pass rate is the more demanding figure, and it is the one OpenAI has continued to report SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

The paper reports that more attempts and more reasoning both raise scores: o1's Diamond coding pass rate rose from 9.3% at low reasoning effort to 16.5% at high, allowing seven attempts nearly tripled the share of tasks o1 solved, and removing the user tool lowered o1 from 16.5% to 13.1%. Its qualitative finding was that agents locate the relevant code quickly but often fail to identify the root cause, producing partial fixes SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

A pass means the patch satisfied the benchmark's tests for that issue. It does not mean Expensify would have merged it, and the payout figure is what a human was paid, not revenue a model could collect.

Limitations and criticism

The authors list the limits themselves: all tasks come from one company's repository and one freelance platform, so infrastructure work is underrepresented; freelance tasks are more self-contained than salaried engineering and all build on an established codebase; the evaluation is text-only although most issues include a video of the bug; models cannot ask clarifying questions; and the public tasks may be in training data. They write that the benchmark may be a good leading indicator for freelance software work and that they "remain cautious about extrapolating impact beyond this" SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

The July 2025 revision is a further caveat that OpenAI documented: the original setup's dependence on internet connectivity made results variable, and the repaired subset drops about a sixth of the coding tasks, so pre- and post-update numbers are not directly comparable (Source: openai.com; github.com). The Remote Labor Index authors cite SWE-Lancer among domain-specific benchmarks that cover a small part of remote work, software being a minority of freelance activity (Remote Labor Index: Measuring AI Automation of Remote Work (Mazeika et al., 2025)). No independent replication or critique of the benchmark was located for this page.

Use in policy and safety frameworks

OpenAI uses SWE-Lancer in the model-autonomy (later "AI self-improvement") portion of its Preparedness evaluations. It appears in the GPT-4.5 system card's autonomy section, where that model was rated Low (OpenAI GPT-4.5 System Card (February 2025)), in the o3 and o4-mini system card (Source: cdn.openai.com), and in the GPT-5 system card, each of which reports pass@1 at high reasoning effort with one attempt per problem. The paper's impact statement names both uses: measuring labor-market effects on entry-level and freelance engineers, and tracking capabilities relevant to model autonomy and self-improvement SWE-Lancer: Can Frontier LLMs Earn $1 Million from Real-World Freelance Software Engineering? (Miserendino et al., 2025).

Relationships

See also