OSWorld is a benchmark of computer-use tasks in which an AI agent is given a natural-language instruction and a running virtual machine, and must carry out the task by issuing mouse and keyboard actions. It was introduced in April 2024 by Tianbao Xie, Tao Yu and colleagues at the XLANG Lab of the University of Hong Kong, with co-authors at Salesforce Research, Carnegie Mellon University and the University of Waterloo OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). The benchmark has 369 tasks on Ubuntu, each scored by a custom script that checks whether the machine ended up in the intended state. The same team released a corrected edition, OSWorld-Verified, in July 2025 and a longer-horizon successor, OSWorld 2.0, in June 2026 (Source: xlang.ai; Source: OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026)). Results for models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Meta, Moonshot AI and others appear in developer reports or on the maintainers' leaderboard.
What it measures
The authors present OSWorld as a test of whether a multimodal agent can act as a general computer assistant: following a high-level instruction across arbitrary desktop and web applications, through the same interface a person uses. They contrast this with earlier benchmarks that either had no executable environment or were confined to a single application or to web pages OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). The paper identifies two abilities as the main obstacles for the models it tested: GUI grounding, meaning locating the right on-screen element and producing accurate click coordinates, and operational knowledge of how specific applications work.
Epoch AI, reviewing the task set in October 2025, summarised what a near-perfect score would show more narrowly: that a model "can execute simple, realistic tasks in Linux-based environments using popular open-source applications" (Source: epoch.ai).
Design
Tasks and provenance
The 369 tasks run on Ubuntu and cover Chrome, the VLC media player, the Thunderbird email client, VS Code, the LibreOffice suite (Calc, Writer, Impress), the GIMP image editor, and basic operating-system utilities such as the terminal and file manager. Of the total, 268 involve a single application and 101 are workflows spanning several; 84 were adapted from earlier benchmarks including NL2Bash, Mind2Web, SheetCopilot, PPTC and GAIA; and 30 are deliberately infeasible, built from deprecated or imagined features that real users had asked about, where the correct response is to report that the task cannot be done. A supplementary set of 43 Windows tasks exists for analysis OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024).
Task ideas were drawn from forums, tutorials, how-to sites, video courses and the authors' own use. Nine computer-science student authors wrote the tasks over about three months and roughly 1,800 person-hours. Each task consists of an instruction, a setup configuration that downloads files and opens applications so the agent starts from a work-in-progress state, and an evaluation script. Every task was cross-checked by two other authors, attempted by two authors who had not written it, and revisited over four rounds of checks amounting to more than 400 further hours OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024).
Epoch AI's review gives examples at both ends of the range. A task of median length, about six actions, opens an image in GIMP and asks the agent to fill the background layer with green while leaving the object layer unchanged. One of the longest, at about 104 actions, asks the agent to grade students' multiple-choice exam papers against an answer key and record the scores in an open spreadsheet (Source: epoch.ai).
Observation and action
At each step the agent receives a screenshot of the desktop, an accessibility tree (a structured text description of the on-screen interface elements, abbreviated "a11y tree"), or both. A fourth input mode, Set-of-Mark, overlays numbered boxes on the screenshot. The agent replies with executable actions, in the original setup as Python code for the pyautogui mouse-and-keyboard library, and the loop repeats until the agent declares the task done or failed or reaches a step limit. The paper's experiments used a limit of 15 steps and a 30-minute cap per task OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). Later reporting generally uses 50 or 100 steps.
Scoring
Scoring is execution-based: what is graded is the state the agent leaves the machine in or, for infeasible tasks, its declaration that the task cannot be done. After the episode a task-specific script retrieves evidence, such as a saved spreadsheet, the browser's cookies or the accessibility tree of the current window, and an evaluator function compares it with the expected result. The benchmark contains 134 distinct evaluator functions. The score is the share of tasks passed, with some evaluators awarding partial credit between 0 and 1 OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). Intermediate steps are not inspected, so an agent that reaches the target state by an unexpected route, including by running a script in the terminal, is marked correct (Source: epoch.ai).
Human baseline
The human figure of 72.36% comes from computer-science students with basic software skills who had not seen the tasks or, in the authors' description, the software before. Their median completion time was 111.94 seconds, against 35.38 seconds on a sample of 100 WebArena tasks measured under the same conditions, where the same group scored 88%. Human accuracy was consistent across application categories, between about 70% and 75% OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). Developers commonly round the figure to 72% or 72.4% when comparing models against it (Source: openai.com).
Public availability and contamination
The code, environment, tasks and evaluators are all published openly OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). Epoch AI rates the contamination risk as medium (Source: epoch.ai).
Versions and variants
OSWorld-Verified, announced on July 28, 2025, is described by the XLANG Lab as an in-place upgrade. Over about two months a team of roughly ten people reviewed and fixed some 300 issues reported by groups including Moonshot AI, HUD, OpenAI, ByteDance, Anthropic and Simular. The problems fell into recurring classes: live websites that had changed layout or begun blocking automated visitors with CAPTCHAs; setup steps that raced against slow-loading applications; ambiguous instructions; and evaluators that rejected valid alternative solutions or accepted wrong ones. The team mostly changed evaluators in preference to instructions in order to keep scores continuous with the earlier version, moved the infrastructure from local VMware and Docker to Amazon Web Services so that 50 environments could run in parallel, and relocated task files to Hugging Face (Source: xlang.ai). Eight tasks that depend on Google Drive may be excluded, giving a 361-task evaluation that the maintainers accept for leaderboard purposes (Source: os-world.github.io). Anthropic states that its scores before Claude Sonnet 4.5 were measured on the original benchmark and later ones on OSWorld-Verified (Source: anthropic.com).
OSWorld 2.0, posted to arXiv on June 28, 2026 by the XLANG Lab with collaborators at UC San Diego, Columbia, UC Santa Barbara, Mila, Snorkel AI, the University of Wisconsin–Madison, Alibaba's Qwen team, Ohio State University and others, replaces short tasks with 108 end-to-end workflows across 31 self-hosted websites and professional desktop applications. The median task takes a skilled person about 1.6 hours, which the authors put at roughly 48 times the median for the original benchmark, and required an average of 318 tool calls from Claude Opus 4.7 against about 30 on OSWorld 1.0. The example the paper leads with is filing an expense claim: the agent follows a tutorial PDF, operates a legacy reimbursement portal, extracts amounts from receipts, traces orders across a mail client and a bank site, reacts to an email that arrives mid-task, and asks the user about an inconsistency. Each task is scored against weighted checkpoints, 27.25 on average, yielding two numbers: binary completion, the share of tasks with every checkpoint satisfied, which is the paper's primary metric, and a partial score, the mean credit earned. Some checkpoints are judged by a model, for which the authors selected Claude Sonnet 4.6 after it reached 98.5% checkpoint agreement with ground-truth labels on a 20-task sample. Results are tied to named releases, since task fixes change scores; the paper used release v2026.06.24, and the maintainers ask that results be compared only within a release OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026).
Epoch AI lists further derivatives built by other groups: OSWorld-Human, which adds annotations of how people solve the tasks; OSWorld-Grounding (OSWorld-G), which turns agent trajectories into single-step grounding tasks; and OSWorld-MCP, which adds tools exposed over the Model Context Protocol (Source: epoch.ai).
Development and maintainers
OSWorld is an academic project of the XLANG Lab at the University of Hong Kong; the original paper appeared at NeurIPS 2024 (Source: xlang.ai). The OSWorld 2.0 paper acknowledges Snorkel AI as research and data partner and support from a Google Research gift fund, and Snorkel hosts that version's leaderboard under its Open Benchmarks Grants programme (Source: OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026); Source: snorkel.ai).
The project site separates self-reported results from a verified leaderboard. To appear on the verified board a submitter arranges for the maintainers to run the agent's code on their own infrastructure and must allow the agent implementation to be published, although the model behind an API may stay private; trusted institutions may instead share monitoring data and trajectories. Verified trajectories are posted on Hugging Face. The board classifies entries as general models, specialised computer-use models, or agentic frameworks that orchestrate several models, and records the step limit and number of runs for each (Source: xlang.ai; Source: os-world.github.io).
Results
In the original paper the best configuration, GPT-4 reading the accessibility tree, completed 12.24% of tasks, screenshot-only agents reached 5.26% to 5.80%, and multi-application workflows stayed below 7%, against 72.36% for people OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024). Anthropic's first computer-use model scored 14.9% in October 2024 and OpenAI's Computer-Using Agent 38.1% in January 2025 (Source: anthropic.com; Source: openai.com). On OSWorld-Verified, the maintainers' first rerun in July 2025 put the best system, the CoACT-1 agent framework, at 60.76%. OpenAI reported GPT-5.4 above the human baseline at 75.0% in March 2026, and the maintainers' own verified run of Claude Fable 5 reached 86.0% in July 2026 (Source: xlang.ai; Source: openai.com; Source: os-world.github.io). The 2026 AI Index reported agents improving from 12% to roughly 66% task success, with about one attempt in three still failing. On OSWorld 2.0 the best agent at release completed 20.6% of tasks, and the highest developer-reported strict pass rate as of September 2026 is 41.7% (Source: OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026)).
OSWorld-Verified
Success rate on the 361- or 369-task Ubuntu set after the July 2025 revision. Rows marked "run by XLANG Lab" come from the maintainers' verified leaderboard; others are developers' own runs.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Fable 5 | 86.0% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab (verified leaderboard) | 2026-07-31 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 83.4% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab (verified leaderboard) | 2026-07-31 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Kimi K3 | 84.8% | reasoning effort max, temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 83.0% | effort 'max'; source of comparison figure not stated in the report; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 79.0% | effort 'xhigh'; source of comparison figure not stated in the report; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Muse Spark 1.1 | 80.7% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab (verified leaderboard) | 2026-07-08 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | 81.2% | 361 tasks, 100 steps, max effort, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs, revised harness; developer-reported | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 78.5% | re-run under Anthropic's revised harness (zoom-tool fix, 128K tokens per turn); developer-reported | 2026-06-30 | System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Mythos 5 | 85.0% | 361 tasks, 100 steps, max effort, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 85.0% | as Mythos 5, with production safeguards including fallback to Opus 4.8; developer-reported | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Mythos Preview | 85.4% | re-run under Anthropic's revised harness; developer-reported | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Gemini 3.5 Flash | 78.4% | competitor figure from published system card or leaderboard; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 system card (card §8.1) | 2026-06-09 | System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 83.4% | 361 tasks, 100 steps, max effort, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs, revised harness; developer-reported | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 82.8% | re-run under Anthropic's revised harness; developer-reported | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026) |
| Gemini 3.1 Pro | 76.2% | setting not stated; Google figure as cited by Anthropic | 2026-05-28 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 78.7% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-04-23 | (Source: openai.com); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026) |
| Holo3-35B-A3B (H Company) | 80.4% | specialised computer-use model, 100 max steps, 2 runs (±2.2); run by XLANG Lab | 2026-04-19 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Kimi K2.6 | 73.1% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab | 2026-04-19 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 78.0% | 1080p, 100 steps, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 72.6% | re-run under the updated agent scaffolding; within run-to-run noise of the previously reported 72.7%; developer-reported (card §8.9.4) | 2026-04-16 | Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| Claude Mythos Preview | 79.6% | 1080p, 100 steps, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 72.1% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab | 2026-03-07 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| GPT-5.4 | 75.0% | screenshots with keyboard and mouse actions; developer-reported | 2026-03-05 | (Source: openai.com); Claude Opus 4.7 System Card |
| GPT-5.3-Codex | 74.0% | with an API parameter preserving original image resolution; developer-reported | 2026-03-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5.2 | 47.3% | setting not stated; developer-reported | 2026-03-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 72.5% | 1080p, 100 steps, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2026-02-17 | Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 72.7% | 1080p, 100 steps, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| GPT-5.3-Codex | 64.7% | xhigh reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| GPT-5.2 | 37.9% | xhigh reasoning effort; developer-reported | 2026-02-05 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 66.3% | 1080p, 100 steps, 64k thinking budget, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs; developer-reported | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 62.9% | 100 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab | 2025-10-30 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 61.4% | 100 max steps, averaged over 4 runs; developer-reported | 2025-09-29 | (Source: anthropic.com); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card |
| CoACT-1 (agent framework) | 60.76% | multi-model agentic framework; XLANG Lab rerun at launch of OSWorld-Verified | 2025-07-28 | (Source: xlang.ai) |
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 43.9% | 50 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab | 2025-07-27 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| OpenAI computer-use-preview | 31.3% | specialised model, 50 max steps, 1 run; run by XLANG Lab | 2025-07-27 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| o3 | 23.0% | 100 max steps, 1 run (9.1% at 15 steps); run by XLANG Lab | 2025-07-27 | (Source: os-world.github.io) |
| Human (CS students, unfamiliar with tasks) | 72.36% | measured on the original 2024 task set | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
OSWorld (original)
Success rate on the 369-task set before the July 2025 revision.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Sonnet 4 | 42.2% | original OSWorld per Anthropic; cited in the Sonnet 4.5 launch as the leading score four months earlier; developer-reported | 2025-09-29 | (Source: anthropic.com) |
| OpenAI Computer-Using Agent (CUA) | 38.1% | pixel (screenshot) input with mouse and keyboard actions; score rose with the number of steps allowed; developer-reported | 2025-01-23 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (October 2024) | 22.0% | screenshot-only, more steps allowed; developer-reported | 2024-10-22 | (Source: anthropic.com) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (October 2024) | 14.9% | screenshot-only category; developer-reported | 2024-10-22 | (Source: anthropic.com) |
| GPT-4 | 12.24% | accessibility-tree input, 15 steps; original paper baseline | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4V | 12.17% | screenshot plus accessibility tree, 15 steps; original paper baseline | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4o | 11.36% | accessibility-tree input, 15 steps; original paper baseline | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
| GPT-4V | 5.26% | screenshot only, 15 steps; original paper baseline | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
| Claude 3 Opus | 4.41% | screenshot plus accessibility tree, 15 steps; original paper baseline | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
| Human (CS students, unfamiliar with tasks) | 72.36% | median 111.94 seconds per task | 2024-04 | OSWorld: Benchmarking Multimodal Agents for Open-Ended Tasks in Real Computer Environments (Xie et al., 2024) |
OSWorld 2.0
Binary completion, also reported as the strict pass rate: the share of the 108 tasks on which every checkpoint is satisfied. Results from different task releases are not comparable.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 5.5 | 48.7% | strict pass rate; September 10, 2026 task files; retained screenshots with server-side compaction above 100k tokens; 1080p, 500 steps, max effort; pass@1 over five runs; Claude Opus 4.8 grader; supersedes the Fable 5.1 card's figures; developer-reported (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 42.8% | strict pass rate; re-evaluated under the same updated configuration; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5.5 system card (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 37.2% | strict pass rate; re-evaluated under the same updated configuration; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5.5 system card (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 41.7% | August 2026 task release plus fixes, 500 steps, max effort, pass@1 averaged over 5 runs, production safeguards on; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 39.6% | August 2026 task release, re-run under the same conditions as Fable 5.1; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 36.1% | August 2026 task release, re-run under the same conditions as Fable 5.1; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 31.43% | 500 steps, max effort, batched tool calls; Snorkel-hosted leaderboard, task release not stated | 2026-09-19 | (Source: snorkel.ai) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 27.34% | 500 steps, max effort, batched tool calls; Snorkel-hosted leaderboard, task release not stated | 2026-09-19 | (Source: snorkel.ai) |
| Kimi K3 | 58.3% | reasoning effort max, temperature 1.0; developer-reported (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 49.5% | effort 'xhigh'; source of comparison figure not stated in the report; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2) | 2026-07-27 | Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 70.57% | first-attempt success rate averaged over five runs; default settings, 1080p, max 500 action steps; Opus 4.8 as model grader where needed; developer-reported (Table 8.1.A prints 70.6) (card §8.1; 8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 55.7% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1; 8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 66.1% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (Table 8.1.A) (card §8.1; 8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 62.6% | sourced by Anthropic from the model's release post; reported in the Claude Opus 5 system card (card §8.1; 8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | 51.4% | value read from Figure 8.12.3.A in label order (the same figure's Opus 4.8, Fable 5 and GPT-5.6 Sol values match Table 8.1.A); reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5 system card (card §8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Muse Spark 1.1 | 47.3% | sourced by Anthropic from the model's release post; value read from Figure 8.12.3.A in label order (card §8.12.3) | 2026-07-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 5 (Anthropic, July 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 20.6% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 18.5% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 18.2% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 13.0% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, xhigh effort, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 8.3% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Kimi K2.6 | 4.6% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, thinking on, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| MiniMax M3 | 4.6% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, thinking on, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Qwen 3.7-Plus | 2.8% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
OSWorld 2.0 partial score
Mean per-task credit across weighted checkpoints on the same 108 tasks.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Opus 5.5 | 81.8% | partial score; same configuration; developer-reported (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 80.7% | partial score; same configuration; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5.5 system card (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 74.0% | partial score; same configuration; reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 5.5 system card (card §8.1; 8.13.3) | 2026-09-22 | System Card: Claude Opus 5.5 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Gemini 3.8 Flash | 59.0% | partial score, batched tool call enabled; Gemini and Sonnet 5 self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; developer-reported (card §Evaluation > Results (as of September 2026)) | 2026-09-02 | Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| Gemini 3.7 Flash | 50.6% | partial score, batched tool call enabled; Gemini and Sonnet 5 self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; developer-reported (card §Evaluation > Results (as of September 2026)) | 2026-09-02 | Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 5 | 42.6% | partial score, batched tool call enabled; Gemini and Sonnet 5 self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; self-computed by Google DeepMind, reported in the Gemini 3.8 Flash model card (card §Evaluation > Results (as of September 2026)) | 2026-09-02 | Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5.1 | 77.9% | August 2026 task release plus fixes, 500 steps, max effort, averaged over 5 runs, production safeguards on; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Claude Opus 5 | 75.4% | August 2026 task release, re-run under the same conditions as Fable 5.1; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026); Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| Claude Fable 5 | 72.9% | August 2026 task release, re-run under the same conditions as Fable 5.1; developer-reported | 2026-09-01 | System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026) |
| Gemini 3.7 Flash | 47.9% | partial score; Gemini self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; developer-reported (card §Evaluation > Results (as of August 2026)) | 2026-08-13 | Gemini 3.7 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, August 2026) |
| Gemini 3.6 Flash | 33.8% | partial score; Gemini self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; developer-reported (card §Evaluation > Results (as of August 2026)) | 2026-08-13 | Gemini 3.7 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, August 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Terra | 50.2% | partial score; Gemini self-computed, max over 3 runs, single attempt per run, 1080p, max 500 steps, screenshot-only, runs before the 08.08 patch; taken from OpenAI's blog post, as reprinted in the Gemini 3.7 Flash model card (card §Evaluation > Results (as of August 2026)) | 2026-08-13 | Gemini 3.7 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, August 2026); Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | 62.6% | metric not labelled by OpenAI; its comparison figure for Opus 4.8 (54.8%) equals the paper's partial score; developer-reported | 2026-07-09 | (Source: openai.com); Gemini 3.8 Flash Model Card (Google DeepMind, September 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 47.5% | metric not labelled by OpenAI, as above; developer-reported | 2026-07-09 | (Source: openai.com) |
| Claude Opus 4.8 | 54.8% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| GPT-5.5 | 49.5% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, xhigh effort, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Claude Opus 4.7 | 48.91% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, batched tool calls; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.6 | 41.5% | release v2026.06.24, 500 steps, max thinking, one action per step; measured by the benchmark authors | 2026-06-28 | OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only — OS category
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 54.2% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [34.3, 74.1]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 41.7% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [22.0, 61.4]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 75.00% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only — Office category
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 7.7% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [2.9, 12.5]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 17.9% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [11.0, 24.8]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 71.79% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only — Daily category
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 16.7% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [8.4, 25.0]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 24.4% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [14.9, 33.9]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 70.51% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only — Professional category
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 24.5% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [12.5, 36.5]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 40.8% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [27.0, 54.6]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 73.47% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only — Workflow category
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 7.9% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [2.6, 13.2]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 10.9% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [4.9, 17.0]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 73.27% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld — Screenshot only
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 14.9% | screenshot-only inputs, standard 15-step limit, average success rate, 95% CI [11.3, 18.5]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024) | 22% | screenshot-only inputs, optimised prompt, up to 50 steps, average success rate, 95% CI [17.8, 26.2]%; developer-reported (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
| Human success rate | 72.36% | human baseline as reported by the OSWorld authors [3]; quoted by Anthropic (card §2.1, Table 1) | 2024-10-22 | Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024) |
OSWorld (as reported in developer documents)
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claude Mythos Preview | 79.6% | first-attempt success rate averaged over 5 runs; default settings, 1080p resolution, maximum 100 action steps per task; OSWorld version not stated; developer-reported (card §6.11.4 / 6.3) | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.6 | 72.7% | reported by Anthropic in the Claude Mythos Preview System Card summary table; setting not restated (card §6.3) | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card |
| GPT-5.4 Pro or Gemini 3.1 Pro (column not resolvable — see Notes) | 75.0% | third value in the OSWorld row of summary table 6.3.A; the extracted table text gives only three values for four model columns, so the model this figure belongs to cannot be determined from the raw file (card §6.3) | 2026-04-07 | Claude Mythos Preview System Card |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 66.26% | P@1, avg@5; default settings, 1080p resolution, 100 steps, 64k thinking budget, interleaved scratchpads, 200k context, default effort (high); variant (Verified vs original) not stated; developer-reported (card §2.9) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
| Claude Opus 4.5 | 66.3% | summary-table value for the same run; developer-reported (card §2.3) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
| Claude Sonnet 4.5 | 61.4% | developer-reported (Anthropic); variant not stated (card §2.3) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
| Claude Opus 4.1 | 44.4% | developer-reported (Anthropic); variant not stated (card §2.3) | 2025-11-24 | System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025) |
OSWorld-Verified — General agentic
Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.
| Model | Score | Setting | Date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Muse Glimmer-30B | 65.9 | high reasoning; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Gemma4-31B | 58.5 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
| Qwen3.6-27B | 75.6 | thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks) | 2026-08-10 | Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026) |
Interpreting scores
A score is the fraction of several hundred short desktop tasks that ended in the state a script was written to expect. Epoch AI's review found that most tasks need fewer than ten actions and represent a few minutes of human work, with about 12% needing more than 20 actions and 5% more than 50 (Source: epoch.ai).
The human baseline is not an expert ceiling. It was set by students new to the tasks, and Epoch AI reads the 28% of tasks they failed as an upper bound on how many tasks are affected by ambiguous instructions. OpenAI described GPT-5.4's 75.0% as surpassing human performance on this basis (Source: openai.com). A review by Andreessen Horowitz partners in August 2026, using a best score of 85%, observed that 15 of 100 tasks still fail and that agents take eight to ten minutes over tasks a person finishes in two to three (Source: a16z.com).
Scores depend heavily on the harness, the software wrapped around the model that feeds it observations and executes its actions:
- Step budget. On the maintainers' July 2025 rerun, o3 scored 9.1% with 15 steps and 23.0% with 100 (Source: xlang.ai). OpenAI reported the same effect for its Computer-Using Agent (Source: openai.com).
- Code execution. Epoch AI estimates that about 15% of tasks need only a terminal and a further 30% can replace most of the intended GUI work with terminal commands and Python scripts, and notes that leaderboard entries with code-execution tools score considerably higher than GUI-only agents. A gain may therefore reflect scripting ability as much as screen manipulation (Source: epoch.ai).
- Image handling and scaffolding. OpenAI raised GPT-5.3-Codex from 64.7% to 74.0% by adding an API parameter that preserves screenshot resolution (Source: openai.com). Anthropic raised its reported Claude Opus 4.7 result from 78.0% to 82.8% in its Opus 4.8 system card, and Claude Sonnet 4.6 from 72.5% to 78.5%, after fixing a bug in its zoom tool and raising the per-turn token limit from 16K to 128K, stating that it had been under-reporting its models (System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026)). The Opus 4.8 launch post gives the revised Opus 4.7 figure as 82.3% (Source: anthropic.com). OpenAI's two 2026 launch posts give GPT-5.2 as 37.9% and as 47.3% without explaining the difference (Source: openai.com; Source: openai.com).
- Safeguards. Anthropic reports that Claude Fable 5 and Fable 5.1 scored zero on OSWorld 2.0 tasks where their production safeguards intervened, which it says likely lowers the reported figures (System Card: Claude Fable 5.1 & Claude Mythos 5.1 (Anthropic, September 2026)).
Developer-reported and maintainer-run figures for the same model differ by small amounts in both directions: 61.4% and 62.9% for Claude Sonnet 4.5, and 72.5% and 72.1% for Claude Sonnet 4.6.
Anthropic's own description is that OSWorld is among the best available measures but not a complete picture, because real-world computer use is messier and more ambiguous than a controlled task set and carries higher stakes for errors (Source: anthropic.com).
Limitations and criticism
Epoch AI's October 2025 review, by Florian Brand and Greg Burnham, is the most detailed independent assessment. Beyond the points above, it found that about 10% of tasks have serious errors, a rate it called on par with many benchmarks, including evaluators that are too strict (checking a pickup time the instruction never specified) or too lax (accepting any reduction in zoom level). About 10% depend on live websites and can become harder or impossible as those sites change. Many instructions are borderline ambiguous, so that working out what is wanted is often the hardest part. And because the maintainers keep revising tasks, with roughly a further 10% of instructions changed after the July 2025 release, comparisons across time are of uncertain value; the reviewers described continual correction as commendable but atypical for a static benchmark. They concluded that the rise from under 10% to almost 70% reflects real improvement in computer use but that differences between reported scores are hard to interpret, and noted that building a computer-use benchmark that is both realistic and rigorous is hard (Source: epoch.ai).
A July 2025 audit of agentic benchmarks led by Daniel Kang's group at the University of Illinois found 13 of the 46 Chrome tasks broken by changes to websites' layout and URLs, because evaluators relied on HTML selectors, and estimated that this understated the UI-TARS agent's score in that section by 28 percentage points (Source: arxiv.org).
The maintainers' account of OSWorld-Verified concedes much of this. It says that supplying reliable reward signals consumed more human effort than expected, and that decentralised evaluation left groups with little incentive to report bugs, with some modifying tasks privately so that scores became opaque and incomparable, which motivated the central verification service. The same post lists what the first version left out: tasks requiring long completion times, deep professional software expertise, video understanding or real-time interaction (Source: xlang.ai). OSWorld 2.0 is the response to the first two. Its authors write that frontier agents are "saturated at 79–83% binary accuracy" on OSWorld 1.0 while scoring an order of magnitude lower on the new tasks, where failures come less from GUI control than from losing track of constraints, missing information that arrives mid-task, guessing in place of asking the user, and skipping verification OSWorld 2.0: Benchmarking Computer Use Agents on Long-Horizon Real-World Tasks (Yuan et al., 2026).
All tasks run on Linux with open-source applications, whereas most office work uses Windows and Microsoft Office. Epoch AI judged this unlikely to be a major problem, reasoning that if developers train mainly on more common platforms, OSWorld scores would lag real ability, not overstate it.
Use in policy and safety frameworks
OSWorld appears in the capabilities sections of Anthropic's system cards from Claude Opus 4.5 onward and in OpenAI's launch materials from the Computer-Using Agent onward (System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025); Source: openai.com). In Anthropic's cards it sits in the general capabilities section, separate from the dangerous-capability evaluations the company conducts under its Responsible Scaling Policy (Claude Opus 4.6 System Card).
The benchmark is used as a reference point in forecasting and in labour-market analysis. The AI 2027 scenario forecast agents scoring around 65% on OSWorld by mid-2025. The 2026 AI Index from Stanford HAI cites the rise from 12% to roughly 66% in its account of uneven AI capability. The August 2026 Andreessen Horowitz analysis sets the OSWorld-Verified trajectory, from 42% to 85% in a year by its count, beside an estimated $6–8 per hour cost of running a desktop agent to argue that such agents are approaching deployability; the firm invests in the category (Source: a16z.com). See Agentic AI and AI Labor Disruption.
Relationships
- instance-of: AI Benchmarks and Evaluation
- supports: Agentic AI — the most widely reported measure of computer-use capability
- related: Agentic harnesses and capability elicitation — step budgets, code tools and scaffolding fixes move scores by ten points or more
- related: AI Agentic Browsers, AI Labor Disruption
- related: WebArena — browser-only predecessor from an overlapping group of authors; GAIA — source of some integrated tasks
- related: ScreenSpot-Pro — isolates the GUI-grounding skill that the OSWorld paper identified as a bottleneck
- related: Epoch AI — author of the principal independent review
See also
- BrowseComp, τ-bench, MCP Atlas — other agent benchmarks reported alongside OSWorld
- Terminal-Bench — command-line counterpart
- Remote Labor Index, GDPval — measures of economically valuable work