AI Policy Wiki
Dashboard
⚲

MMMU

medium confidence · updated 2026-09-22

Tests whether a model can answer college-level exam questions that combine text with images such as diagrams, charts, tables and medical scans. Built in 2023 by a 22-author team led from Ohio State University and the University of Waterloo; 11,550 questions across 30 subjects. Its 2024 successor MMMU-Pro removes questions answerable without the image, widens the answer choices from four to ten and adds a screenshot-only input format, and is the version frontier developers report in 2026.

MMMU (Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning) is a benchmark of 11,550 college-level questions in which each item pairs text with one or more images, such as circuit diagrams, sheet music, chemical structures, pathology slides or financial tables. It was posted to arXiv on 27 November 2023 by a 22-author team led by Xiang Yue, with corresponding authors at Ohio State University and the University of Waterloo, and was presented as an oral paper at CVPR 2024 MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023). A harder derivative, MMMU-Pro, followed in September 2024 MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024). By 2026 most frontier developers report MMMU-Pro rather than the original, and one developer, Anthropic, stopped reporting it in April 2026 after finding much of its imagery in training data (Claude Mythos Preview System Card).

What it measures

The authors describe three skills the benchmark is meant to exercise together: perception of heterogeneous images, recall of subject knowledge, and reasoning that combines the two. They frame the benchmark around the "Expert AGI" level in the taxonomy of Morris et al., defined as performance at the 90th percentile of skilled adults, and argue that college examinations are a natural starting point because they are written to test skilled adults in each field. They also state the limit of that framing: MMMU "is not a sufficient test for Expert AGI," because no mapping exists between a score and the 90th-percentile threshold and because exams are not the only tasks such a system would face; they present strong performance as a necessary rather than sufficient condition MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023). See Artificial General Intelligence (AGI) for the wider debate over such definitions.

Design

Dataset construction

The team first went through common university majors and kept 30 subjects in which images routinely carry information, dropping subjects such as law and linguistics where suitable multimodal problems were hard to find. More than 50 university students, including co-authors, then collected questions from textbooks, online resources and lecture material, writing new questions where needed; the authors contributed about one third of the items. Annotators were told to respect copyright and licence terms and, as a contamination precaution, to prefer questions whose answers are not immediately adjacent to them, for example answers printed in a separate document or at the back of a textbook. This produced about 13,000 candidates. Cleaning removed suspected duplicates identified by lexical overlap and source URL, standardized formats, and sorted items into four difficulty levels; roughly 10% rated "very easy" were discarded MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023).

The released set has 11,550 questions across six disciplines (Art and Design, Business, Science, Health and Medicine, Humanities and Social Science, Tech and Engineering), 30 subjects and 183 subfields, with 30 image types. Of these, 94.03% are multiple choice and 5.97% open-ended; 7.39% include more than one image; and difficulty is split 28% easy, 45% medium and 27% hard. The project site lists diagrams (3,184 items) and tables (2,267) as the most frequent image types, followed by plots and charts, chemical structures, photographs, paintings, geometric shapes, sheet music and several kinds of medical imagery (Source: MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023); Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io).

Task format

Text and images are interleaved: an image may sit at the start, middle or end of the question, or inside the answer options. The paper's error analysis gives a sense of the items. One computer-science question shows a state diagram in which double circles mark the accept state of a deterministic finite automaton; GPT-4V saw the circles but did not know what they meant. A history question shows a political cartoon depicting the United States as a "Savior," which the model answered from its textual associations with "imperialism" rather than from the drawing MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023).

Scoring and splits

The metric is micro-averaged accuracy: the share of all questions answered correctly. Models are evaluated zero-shot, meaning without worked examples in the prompt. A rule-based pipeline with regular expressions pulls the final answer out of long responses; if no valid choice can be extracted from a multiple-choice response a random option is assigned, and an open-ended response with no valid answer is marked wrong. The data is divided into a 150-question development set (five per subject, for few-shot prompts), a 900-question validation set and a 10,500-question test set. Test answers were withheld and scored through an EvalAI server from December 2023; the maintainers released the test answers on 12 February 2026 so that the test set can be scored locally (Source: MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023); Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io). Most developer-reported figures are on the validation set.

Human baseline

Ninety college seniors, three per subject, each answered the 30 validation questions in their own subject, with textbooks allowed and internet search prohibited. The worst, median and best expert groupings scored 76.2%, 82.6% and 88.6%. Random guessing scores 22.1% on validation, and always choosing the most frequent option scores 26.8% MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023).

Versions and variants

MMMU-Pro was built from MMMU in three steps. First, four text-only language models (Llama-3-70B-Instruct, Qwen2-72B-Instruct, Yi-1.5-34B-Chat and Mixtral-8×22B-Instruct) answered every question ten times with no image; a question was dropped if at least three of the four got it right in a majority of trials, and 1,800 of the survivors were sampled, 60 per subject. Second, the answer options were expanded from four to ten, drafted by GPT-4o, filtered by Claude 3.5 and checked in two rounds of human review, during which 70 questions with a weak link to their image were removed, leaving 1,730. Third, a Vision setting was added in which the whole question, options included, is embedded in a screenshot or photograph that annotators captured by hand against varied backgrounds and fonts, so that the model receives no separate text. The headline MMMU-Pro score is the average of the ten-option Standard setting and the Vision setting. The authors did not re-test humans; they approximated expert scores of 73.0%, 80.8% and 85.4% from the original MMMU human data and acknowledge that this "introduces potential biases" MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024).

Video-MMMU, from Nanyang Technological University's S-Lab with Yue as a co-author, applies the same multi-discipline idea to 300 lecture-style videos and 900 questions and is covered under Video-MME (Source: arxiv.org).

Development and maintainers

The MMMU paper lists authors from IN.AI Research, the University of Waterloo, Ohio State University, Carnegie Mellon University, the University of Victoria and Princeton University; Yue conceived the project with Wenhu Chen and led it, with Huan Sun and Yu Su as senior contributors. MMMU-Pro adds Graham Neubig among others and was published at ACL 2025 (Source: MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023); Source: MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)). The team maintains a public leaderboard, last updated 1 July 2026, which marks with an asterisk results "provided by the authors" of each model rather than run by the MMMU team; nearly all frontier-model entries carry that mark (Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io).

Results

At release the best model, GPT-4V, scored 56.8% on validation and 55.7% on test, and the best open-weight models about 34%, against 88.6% for the best human experts MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023). Developer-reported validation scores passed the median human figure of 82.6% with o3 in April 2025 and reached 85.4% for GPT-5.1 in November 2025 (Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io). On MMMU-Pro, the first published best was GPT-4o at 51.9% in September 2024 MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024); developer-reported scores reached 81.0% with Gemini 3 Pro in November 2025 and 83.6% with Gemini 3.5 Flash in May 2026, against an approximated best-expert figure of 85.4%.

MMMU-Pro

Average of the Standard (10 options) and Vision settings, no tools, unless the Setting cell says otherwise.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash-Base56.5%base model; 4-shot; EM; DeepSeek internal evaluation framework, same setting for all three models; developer-reported (card §4.3.2 Table 1)2026-09-09DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash Technical Report (DeepSeek, September 2026)
Gemma 4 31B76.9%instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 26B A4B73.8%instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026)
Gemma 4 12B Unified69.1%instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026)
Gemma 4 E4B52.6%instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 E2B44.2%instruction-tuned model; thinking mode not stated; developer-reported (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026); Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 3 27B IT49.7%Gemma 3 27B instruction-tuned, no thinking; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 4 model card (card §Benchmark Results)2026-07-30Gemma 4 Model Card (Google DeepMind, 2026)
Gemma 4 26B-A4B73.8%maximal supported resolution (1120 vision tokens); thinking; developer-reported (card §Table 6)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 12B69.1%maximal supported resolution (1120 vision tokens); thinking; developer-reported (card §Table 6)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 3 27B49.7%Gemma 3 27B non-thinking, Pan & Scan; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 4 technical report (card §Table 6)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 31B75.8%resolution N_max = 280 vision tokens; thinking; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 12)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 26B-A4B73.2%resolution N_max = 280 vision tokens; thinking; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 12)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 12B67.7%resolution N_max = 280 vision tokens; thinking; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 12)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 E4B51.4%resolution N_max = 280 vision tokens; thinking; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 12)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Gemma 4 E2B43.2%resolution N_max = 280 vision tokens; thinking; developer-reported (card §Appendix, Table 12)2026-07-24Gemma 4 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, July 2026)
Kimi K381.6%reasoning effort max; averaging of settings not stated; developer-reported2026-07-16Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
Claude Fable 581.2%max effort, with fallback to Opus 4.8 on refusals; reported by Moonshot AI, setup not stated2026-07-16Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
Claude Opus 4.878.9%max effort; reported by Moonshot AI, setup not stated2026-07-16Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
GPT-5.6 Sol83%no tools; developer-reported2026-07-09(Source: openai.com); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
GPT-5.6 Terra80.7%no tools; developer-reported2026-07-09(Source: openai.com)
GPT-5.6 Luna78.4%no tools; developer-reported2026-07-09(Source: openai.com)
Gemini 3.5 Flash83.6%no tools, pass@1; developer-reported2026-05-19(Source: deepmind.google)
Gemini 3 Flash81.2%no tools; developer-reported2026-05-19(Source: deepmind.google)
Claude Opus 4.775.2%no tools; measured by Google DeepMind2026-05-19(Source: deepmind.google)
GPT-5.581.2%no tools, reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-04-23(Source: openai.com); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
Muse Spark Thinking80.4%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2026-04-08(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io)
GPT-5.481.2%no tools, reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-03-05(Source: openai.com)
Gemini 3.1 Pro80.5%no tools, thinking high; developer-reported2026-02-19(Source: deepmind.google); Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026)
Claude Sonnet 4.674.5%no tools, adaptive thinking, max effort, mean of 5 runs, model-graded; developer-reported2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card; Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026)
Claude Opus 4.675.0%no tools, as stated in Section 2.17.2; developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.17.2)2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Sonnet 4.567.5%no tools, as stated in Section 2.17.2; developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.17.2)2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Opus 4.570.7%same setup, without tools (Section 2.19.2); summary table 2.3.A gives 70.6% (see Notes) (card §2.19.2 / 2.3)2026-02-15Claude Opus 4.6 System Card
Claude Sonnet 4.563.4%reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.6 System Card summary table, no tools (card §2.3)2026-02-15Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Opus 4.673.9%no tools, adaptive thinking, max effort, mean of 5 runs; developer-reported2026-02-05Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card; Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026)
Claude Opus 4.570.6%no tools; developer-reported (card text gives 70.7%)2026-02-05Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
GPT-5.2 Thinking79.5%no tools, maximum reasoning effort; developer-reported2025-12-11(Source: openai.com); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card; Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026)
Gemini 3 Pro81.0%pass@1; developer-reported2025-11-18(Source: deepmind.google); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card; Gemini 3.1 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, February 2026); Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025)
GPT-5.176.0%reported by Google DeepMind, sourced from Artificial Analysis2025-11-18(Source: deepmind.google); Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Pro68.0%measured by Google DeepMind2025-11-18(Source: deepmind.google); Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025)
Claude Sonnet 4.568.0%measured by Google DeepMind through the provider API2025-11-18(Source: deepmind.google); Gemini 3 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, November 2025)
GPT-578.4%reasoning effort high; developer-reported2025-08-07(Source: openai.com)
o376.4%reasoning effort high; developer-reported2025-08-07(Source: openai.com)
GPT-4.160.3%developer-reported2025-08-07(Source: openai.com)
GPT-4o (0513)51.9%best of direct and chain-of-thought prompting; measured by the MMMU team2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet51.5%best of direct and chain-of-thought prompting; measured by the MMMU team2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
Gemini 1.5 Pro (0801)46.9%best of direct and chain-of-thought prompting; measured by the MMMU team2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
Human expert (high)85.4%approximated from MMMU validation human data, not re-measured2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
Human expert (medium)80.8%approximated from MMMU validation human data, not re-measured2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
Random choice12.6%chance baseline2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)

MMMU-Pro (with tools)

Same average, with the model allowed a code or image tool.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Claude Fable 586.5%effort 'max, w/ fallback'; with Python tool; official protocol; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2)2026-07-27Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
Claude Opus 4.882.7%effort 'max'; with Python tool; official protocol; reported by Moonshot AI in the Kimi K3 technical report (card §6.1.4 Table 2)2026-07-27Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
Kimi K383.4%with Python, reasoning effort max; developer-reported2026-07-16Kimi K3: Open Frontier Intelligence (Moonshot AI, July 2026); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
GPT-5.6 Sol84.6%with tools; developer-reported2026-07-09(Source: openai.com); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
GPT-5.6 Terra82%with tools; developer-reported2026-07-09(Source: openai.com)
GPT-5.583.2%with tools, reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-04-23(Source: openai.com); Kimi K3 Technical Report (Moonshot AI, July 2026)
GPT-5.482.1%with tools, reasoning effort xhigh; developer-reported2026-03-05(Source: openai.com)
Claude Sonnet 4.675.6%image-cropping tool, adaptive thinking, max effort; developer-reported2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Opus 4.676.6%with image cropping tool, as stated in Section 2.17.2; developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.17.2)2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Sonnet 4.568.0%with image cropping tool, as stated in Section 2.17.2; developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.17.2)2026-02-17Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Opus 4.573.9%same setup, with image cropping tool (card §2.19.2 / 2.3)2026-02-15Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Sonnet 4.568.9%reported by Anthropic in the Claude Opus 4.6 System Card summary table, with tools (card §2.3)2026-02-15Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
Claude Opus 4.677.3%image-cropping tool, adaptive thinking, max effort; developer-reported2026-02-05Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
GPT-5.2 Thinking80.4%with Python, maximum reasoning effort; developer-reported2025-12-11(Source: openai.com); Claude Opus 4.6 System Card; Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card
GPT-5.1 Thinking79.0%with Python; developer-reported2025-12-11(Source: openai.com)

MMMU-Pro Standard (10 options)

The ten-option text-plus-image setting alone, without the Vision half.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Inkling-Small74.0%developer-reported2026-07-30(Source: thinkingmachines.ai); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Qwen3.5 397B-A17B77.3%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-30Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
MiMo V2.575.4%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-30Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Claude 4.5 Haiku58.6%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-30Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Gemini 3.5 Flash-Lite79.0%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-30Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
GPT 5.6 Luna78.6%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling-Small model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-30Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Claude Fable 584.2%max effort; reported in the Inkling model card2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
GPT-5.6 Sol83.0%max/xhigh effort; reported in the Inkling model card2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Gemini 3.1 Pro82.0%thinking high; reported in the Inkling model card2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Kimi K2.679.0%reported in the Inkling model card2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Inkling73.5%effort 0.99; developer-reported2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026); Inkling-Small Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Kimi K2.575.0%standard 10-option setting; images with long edge under 2048 px upscaled to the smaller of 2048 px or 2x; reported by Thinking Machines Lab in the Inkling model card (card §5. Evaluations)2026-07-15Inkling Model Card (Thinking Machines Lab, July 2026)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet55.0%chain-of-thought prompt; measured by the MMMU team2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)
GPT-4o (0513)54.0%measured by the MMMU team2024-09-04MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024)

MMMU (validation)

The original four-option benchmark, 900 validation questions.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Claude Opus 4.580.7%64k thinking budget, mean of 5 trials; developer-reported2025-11-24System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)
Claude Opus 4.580.72%average of 5 trials, 64k thinking budget, interleaved scratchpads, 200k context, default effort (high); developer-reported (card §2.20)2025-11-24System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)
Claude Opus 4.177.1%developer-reported (Anthropic) (card §2.3)2025-11-24System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)
GPT-5.185.4%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2025-11-13(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io); System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)
Claude Sonnet 4.577.8%developer-reported2025-09-29System Card: Claude Opus 4.5 (Anthropic, November 2025)
GLM-4.5V75.4%thinking mode; developer-reported2025-08-11(Source: arxiv.org)
GPT-584.2%reasoning effort high; developer-reported2025-08-07(Source: openai.com)
Gemini 2.5 Pro82.0%single attempt; developer-reported2025-07-07(Source: arxiv.org); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 1.5 Flash58.3%single attempt; split not stated in the report; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-flash-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 1.5 Pro67.7%single attempt; split not stated in the report; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-1.5-pro-002, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 2.0 Flash-Lite65.1%single attempt; split not stated in the report; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-lite-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 2.0 Flash69.3%single attempt; split not stated in the report; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.0-flash-001, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Flash79.7%single attempt; split not stated in the report; pass@1, AI Studio API model id gemini-2.5-flash, default sampling; developer-reported (card §3.2 (Table 3))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Claude Opus 476.5%single attempt; split not stated in the report; reported by Google in the Gemini 2.5 technical report; provider's self-reported number (card §3.3 (Table 4))2025-07-07Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Pro (GA)82.0%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-06-05, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Pro Preview (05-06)79.6%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-preview-05-06, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Pro Experimental (03-25)81.7%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; pass@1, AI Studio API model-id gemini-2.5-pro-exp-03-25, default sampling; developer-reported (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025)
OpenAI o3 (high)82.9%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
OpenAI o4-mini (high)81.6%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Claude Sonnet 474.4%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; 64k extended thinking; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Claude Opus 4 (32K thinking)76.5%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025)
Grok 3 Beta (Extended Thinking)76.0%single attempt (pass@1); split not stated; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemini 2.5 Pro model card; provider's self-reported number unless the card says otherwise (card §Evaluation – Results (June 2025 table))2025-06-27Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025); Gemini 2.5 Technical Report (Google, July 2025)
Gemini 2.5 Pro Deep Think84.0%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2025-05-20(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io)
o382.9%reasoning effort high; developer-reported2025-04-16(Source: openai.com)
o4-mini81.6%reasoning effort high; developer-reported2025-04-16(Source: openai.com)
GPT-4.174.8%developer-reported2025-04-14(Source: openai.com)
Llama 4 Maverick73.4%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2025-04-05(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io)
Gemini 2.0 Flash71.7%0-shot, validation split, Pan & Scan applied; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemini 2.0 Pro72.7%0-shot, validation split, Pan & Scan applied; reported by Google DeepMind in the Gemma 3 technical report, run in Google's own setting (card §4.2, Table 6)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 4B IT48.8%0-shot, validation split, Pan & Scan applied; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 12B IT59.6%0-shot, validation split, Pan & Scan applied; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 27B IT64.9%0-shot, validation split, Pan & Scan applied; developer-reported (instruction-tuned model, Google's own evaluation setting) (card §4.2, Table 6)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 4B PT39.2%validation split, without Pan & Scan; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported; 3-shot text-only per Table 20 (card §Appendix, Table 11)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 12B PT50.3%validation split, without Pan & Scan; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported; 3-shot text-only per Table 20 (card §Appendix, Table 11)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemma 3 27B PT56.1%validation split, without Pan & Scan; pre-trained checkpoint; developer-reported; 3-shot text-only per Table 20 (card §Appendix, Table 11)2025-03-25Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Amazon Nova Pro61.7%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.2; developer-reported (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Amazon Nova Lite56.2%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.2; developer-reported (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Oct 2024)70.4%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.0; taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Gemini 1.5 Flash (001)62.3%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.2; Gemini 1.5 Flash/Pro (002); taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025); Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
Gemini 1.5 Flash 8B (001)53.7%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.3; reported in ref. 33; taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
GPT-4o mini (Jul 2024)59.4%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.2; taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Llama 3.2 90B60.3%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.2; taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Llama 3.2 11B50.7%chain-of-thought, validation split, accuracy; 95% CI ±3.3; taken from the developer's own technical report or website, as reprinted in the Amazon Nova technical report (card §2.1.2, Table 3)2025-03-17The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Grok 3 Beta78.0%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2025-02-19(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io); Gemini 2.5 Pro Model Card (Google DeepMind, updated June 2025)
Qwen2.5-VL-72B70.2%developer-reported2025-02-19(Source: arxiv.org)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet (New) (upgraded, October 2024)70.4%0-shot, chain-of-thought; developer-reported (card §2.3, Table 5)2024-10-22Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024)
Gemini 1.5 Pro (September 2024 release)65.9%0-shot, chain-of-thought; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3.5 model-card addendum, quoted from Google, September 2024 Gemini release [13] (card §2.3, Table 5)2024-10-22Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024); The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025); Gemma 3 Technical Report (Google DeepMind, March 2025)
o178.2%developer-reported2024-09-12(Source: openai.com)
Claude 3.5 Sonnet68.3%measured by the MMMU team2024-06-20MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024); Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024)
GPT-4o (0513)69.1%developer-provided result listed in the MMMU paper2024-05-13MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023); Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024); The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Claude 3 Opus59.4%0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (also listed in the MMMU paper as a developer-provided result, dated 2024-03-05)2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024); Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet53.1%0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024); Model Card Addendum: Claude 3.5 Haiku and Upgraded Claude 3.5 Sonnet (Anthropic, October 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku50.2%0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024); The Amazon Nova Family of Models: Technical Report and Model Card (Amazon, 2024–2025)
Gemini 1.5 Pro58.5%Google figure as given in Anthropic's Claude 3 model card2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Pro47.9%Google figure as given in Anthropic's Claude 3 model card2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus67.5%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet61.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku60.8%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V65.8%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra70.0%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus67.2%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet58.2%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku52.5%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V59.3%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra56.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus48.9%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet37.1%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku37.1%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V54.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra48.0%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus61.1%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet57.1%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku52.3%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V64.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra67.3%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus70.0%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet68.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku66.0%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V72.5%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra78.3%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Opus50.6%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Sonnet45.0%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Claude 3 Haiku41.5%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; developer-reported (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V36.7%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the GPT-4V(ision) system card) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra47.1%validation set, per-discipline score; 0-shot, T = 0; reported by Anthropic in the Claude 3 model card (from the Gemini or Gemini 1.5 technical report) (card §5.3 (Table 3))2024-03-04The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
Human expert (best)88.6%college seniors, textbooks allowed, no internet2024-01-31MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023)
Human expert (median)82.6%college seniors, textbooks allowed, no internet2024-01-31MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023)
Human expert (worst)76.2%college seniors, textbooks allowed, no internet2024-01-31MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023)
Gemini 1.0 Ultra59.4%developer-provided result listed on the MMMU leaderboard2023-12-06(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io); The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
GPT-4V56.8%zero-shot, Playground; measured by the MMMU team2023-11-27MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023); The Claude 3 Model Family: Opus, Sonnet, Haiku (Anthropic model card, March 2024)
LLaVA-1.5-13B36.4%zero-shot; measured by the MMMU team2023-11-27(Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io)
Random choice22.1%chance baseline2023-11-27MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023)

MMMU — Instruction tuned

Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Llama 4 Scout69.40-shot, accuracy, bf16; Llama 3 columns marked "No multimodal support"; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models)2025-04-05Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025)
Llama 4 Maverick73.40-shot, accuracy, bf16; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models)2025-04-05Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025)
Llama 4 Scout52.20-shot, accuracy, bf16; average of the Standard and Vision tasks (card's ^ note); developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models)2025-04-05Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025)
Llama 4 Maverick59.60-shot, accuracy, bf16; average of Standard and Vision tasks; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks — Instruction tuned models)2025-04-05Llama 4 Model Card (Meta, April 2025)

MMMU Pro — Multimodal

Results as printed in developer system cards, model cards and technical reports; each row's Setting records the developer's stated conditions and the document section.

ModelScoreSettingDateSource
Muse Glimmer-30B74high reasoning; developer-reported (card §Benchmarks)2026-08-10Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026)
Gemma4-31B73thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks)2026-08-10Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026)
Qwen3.6-27B75thinking mode; reported by Meta in the Muse Glimmer model card (card §Benchmarks)2026-08-10Muse Glimmer Model Card (Meta, August 2026)

Interpreting scores

Chance is 22.1% on MMMU validation and about 12.6% on MMMU-Pro, so the two scales are not interchangeable: the MMMU-Pro authors measured drops of 16.8 to 26.9 percentage points when the same models moved from MMMU to MMMU-Pro. Within MMMU-Pro, going from four to ten options cost GPT-4o 10.7 points and the screenshot-only format a further 4.3, and chain-of-thought prompting (asking the model to reason step by step before answering) raised Claude 3.5 Sonnet's Standard score from 42.7% to 55.0% while lowering some weaker models' scores MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024). A reported MMMU-Pro figure therefore depends on whether it is the two-setting average, the Standard half only, or a tool-assisted run; OpenAI, Google DeepMind and Anthropic each state that they average the two settings (Source: openai.com; Source: deepmind.google; Claude Opus 4.6 System Card).

The human figures are for college seniors answering 30 questions in their own subject with textbooks open, and for MMMU-Pro they are estimates rather than measurements. The 2026 Stanford AI Index lists MMMU among benchmarks on which models "reached or approached the human benchmark" during 2025 (Stanford HAI AI Index Report 2026).

Scores are also sensitive to the grading pipeline. Anthropic reported that when it removed a "Let's think step by step" prefix and switched from reading answer-token probabilities to a model grader, Claude Opus 4.6's no-tools MMMU-Pro score was 75.0% under the new pipeline against 73.9% in that model's own system card (Claude Sonnet 4.6 System Card; Claude Opus 4.6 System Card).

Limitations and criticism

The MMMU authors name two limits in the paper: manual curation "may carry biases," and college-level subject coverage may not be sufficient for the construct they invoke. In the GPT-4V error sample they examined, 2% of errors traced to annotation mistakes in the benchmark itself MMMU: A Massive Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding and Reasoning Benchmark for Expert AGI (Yue et al., 2023).

MMMU-Pro exists because the same team found that text-only models could answer some MMMU questions with no image, either because the image was incidental or because the answer options gave the answer away; OpenAI's GPT-4.1 results carried the same caveat, noting that "even when the image is not included, many answers can still be inferred or guessed from context" (Source: MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024); Source: openai.com). The MMMU-Pro authors state that their version "may still contain subtle statistical shortcuts" MMMU-Pro: A More Robust Multi-discipline Multimodal Understanding Benchmark (Yue et al., 2024). The authors of CharXiv, a chart benchmark, distinguish their work from MMMU on the ground that MMMU questions often need expert knowledge beyond what is visible, so that a wrong answer does not separate a perception failure from a knowledge gap CharXiv: Charting Gaps in Realistic Chart Understanding in Multimodal LLMs (Wang et al., Princeton, 2024); see CharXiv.

Contamination, meaning test items appearing in a model's training data, is the most consequential criticism to date. In the Claude Mythos Preview system card of April 2026, Anthropic wrote that it had "identified a large fraction of MMMU-Pro images that appear in the training data, primarily via textbooks, homework-help sites, and document crawls," that the benchmark offers few questions for which equivalent variants can be written to measure the effect, and that it therefore chose "to omit results for MMMU-Pro" (Claude Mythos Preview System Card). The Opus 4.7, Opus 4.8, Fable 5 and Mythos 5, and Sonnet 5 system cards that followed do not report it (Claude Opus 4.7 System Card; System Card: Claude Opus 4.8 (Anthropic, May 2026); System Card: Claude Fable 5 & Claude Mythos 5 (Anthropic, June 2026); System Card: Claude Sonnet 5 (Anthropic, June 2026)); the Claude scores dated after April 2026 in the tables above come from other developers' comparison tables. The maintainers' release of the MMMU test answers in February 2026 removes the held-out status of the original test set (Source: mmmu-benchmark.github.io).

Use in policy and safety frameworks

MMMU and MMMU-Pro appear in the capability sections of system cards and model cards from OpenAI, Google DeepMind, Anthropic, Meta, Moonshot AI and Thinking Machines Lab, as the sources in the tables show. In those documents they are reported as general capability measures; none ties them to a capability threshold in a frontier-safety framework. Anthropic's treatment of MMMU-Pro in the Mythos Preview card is an instance of a developer running a contamination audit on a capability benchmark and withdrawing the number on the strength of it (Claude Mythos Preview System Card).

Relationships

See also